28 Reviews

I wanted to make a dessert for the hubby when he got home, and this was perfect, because it's easy & uses ingredients I always have on hand. That being said, the bars were pretty good.. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan. I also sprinkled some powder sugar on top. My only complaint is that they were almost TOO sweet for me (even without the powder sugar on top). And I think I would like even more of a lemon taste.. so perhaps I'd add more lemon juice next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. October 09, 2010

I kept asking my mom's recipe for lemon squares but to no avail thus my quest for a recipe close to hers. I've tried lots of lemon bar recipes here but none came close UNTIL I found this! Moist, decadent, sweet lemony..mmmm so yummy I'd miss a main meal just for this~! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma March 08, 2008

After reading the past feedbacks, I changed the recipe a bit. I used less sugar, 6 tbs of lemon juice instead of 4 and it still didnt have enough stong lemon flavor. But, it came out pretty good I have to admit. The main problem, the filling. When done, it did not look like the picture. The filling was about 1/2 an inch think along with the 1/2 inch think crust. Not good. It needs way more filling and less crust. But again, the taste was not bad at all, after modifying.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hackerglory October 11, 2007

A yummy treat we all loved! I included one teaspoon lemon rind, covered the filling with foil for part of the bake time, and sprinkled the finished lemon bars with sifted powdered sugar. I like that it's easy to halve this recipe for baking in a 8x8" pan. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes February 25, 2010

Halved the recipe to bake in a 8x8 pan. Used 3/4 cups sugar instead of 1 cup. Baked topping for 20 minutes, but I think it probably should have been 17 min like another reviewer said. It's delicious and easy to make, but I am having some trouble getting it out of the pan. Maybe overcooked it a little. Otherwise, I'm enjoying it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stars_Rainbows_HappyFaces December 09, 2013

My husband loves lemon bars and I knew we had some lemon juice but no rind, so I looked for a recipe that only needed the juice. This was definitely a winner! I love that it makes a 9x13 pan. They are so good I can't stop eating them!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckaBoo May 25, 2011

Easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in The Pass April 14, 2008

Crust and flavor wonderful. Lemon layer too soft to cut into squares. Might use crust recipe with a different topping like sliced apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindel72 March 27, 2008

These are great! I made these as my contribution to the desserts at a charity event this weekend ( we had to sample a few to see if they were OK to serve! :) ) and everyone loved them. Thanks for posting this, it's a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas March 11, 2008
Lemon Bar Cookies