Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Bar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Bar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2010

      I wanted to make a dessert for the hubby when he got home, and this was perfect, because it's easy & uses ingredients I always have on hand. That being said, the bars were pretty good.. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan. I also sprinkled some powder sugar on top. My only complaint is that they were almost TOO sweet for me (even without the powder sugar on top). And I think I would like even more of a lemon taste.. so perhaps I'd add more lemon juice next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      A yummy treat we all loved! I included one teaspoon lemon rind, covered the filling with foil for part of the bake time, and sprinkled the finished lemon bars with sifted powdered sugar. I like that it's easy to halve this recipe for baking in a 8x8" pan. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I kept asking my mom's recipe for lemon squares but to no avail thus my quest for a recipe close to hers. I've tried lots of lemon bar recipes here but none came close UNTIL I found this! Moist, decadent, sweet lemony..mmmm so yummy I'd miss a main meal just for this~! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      After reading the past feedbacks, I changed the recipe a bit. I used less sugar, 6 tbs of lemon juice instead of 4 and it still didnt have enough stong lemon flavor. But, it came out pretty good I have to admit. The main problem, the filling. When done, it did not look like the picture. The filling was about 1/2 an inch think along with the 1/2 inch think crust. Not good. It needs way more filling and less crust. But again, the taste was not bad at all, after modifying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      Halved the recipe to bake in a 8x8 pan. Used 3/4 cups sugar instead of 1 cup. Baked topping for 20 minutes, but I think it probably should have been 17 min like another reviewer said. It's delicious and easy to make, but I am having some trouble getting it out of the pan. Maybe overcooked it a little. Otherwise, I'm enjoying it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      My husband loves lemon bars and I knew we had some lemon juice but no rind, so I looked for a recipe that only needed the juice. This was definitely a winner! I love that it makes a 9x13 pan. They are so good I can't stop eating them!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

    • on April 14, 2008

      Easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Crust and flavor wonderful. Lemon layer too soft to cut into squares. Might use crust recipe with a different topping like sliced apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      These are great! I made these as my contribution to the desserts at a charity event this weekend ( we had to sample a few to see if they were OK to serve! :) ) and everyone loved them. Thanks for posting this, it's a keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      yumm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      I thought this was pretty good. It was very sweet and not very lemony, so I'll probably put more lemon juice and less sugar (I used honey instead, which I had already cut back to 1 1/2 cups). But very yummy and very easy to make! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      The recipe was easy to put together and it request all the things that are normally around the kitchen. The flavor was great(i added some lemon extract to the bunch), but i overbeated the topping. The topping came out with a lot of air bubbles with a sponge like appearance. It was also really sweet! (i would decrease it next time.) The crust was flaky and fell apart when i sliced them into bars :( I dont think i'll be making this again. Sorry. It taste great though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      My family and I loved them. I will be making them a lot. They were also very easy to make and I like easy!!! Thanks Helen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      These are so easy to make and so very hard to put down when done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      I catered this to a private function and everyone loves it. In fact they ordered this again for the next party. Thanks a million for a wonderful and simple recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      Love the crust, but reduce cooking times to 17 minutes or top gets too dark and crust too crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      I'm sorry but I was not very happy with this recipe. I made these for Thanksgiving, and I wished I had tried them out before that day. They were hardly touched and when I tried them I could see why. Too much crust, and not enough topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      Wow, these are soooo good! I get a craving for lemon every now and then, and these definitely hit the spot! I added a bit of lemon extract to the topping and it was amazing. The crust was incredible as well and I halved it perfectly for an 8x8 pan. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      I made a half recipe and cooked it in an aluminum foil container- I sprayed the base lightly with oil before filling. The base was incredibly crisp and buttery and stayed that way for a few days in the refridgerator. Absolutely delicious but simple. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Bar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.2
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    39%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 94.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 19.2 g
    76%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes