191 Reviews

This is definitely an excellent recipe for when you want to have fish, but are pressed on time and want to get things done while the fish is baking. I had the same goopiness issue as others did, but remedied that by eating the fish with rice- the rice soaks up that sauce and butter nicely. I also used Hungarian hot paprika to give a little spiciness to the dish since it holds up well with baking. A great recipe, and makes for a healthy meal with some steamed veggies and brown rice- nothing fancy, but big on taste and nutrients.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rätsel Feinschmecker August 31, 2011

Just made the lemon baked cod and it's keeper! Used the Panko and had no gumminess. I will try this with other fish.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjdim March 14, 2011

I made the original version, but topped the fish with mushrooms, parsely and dry sherry as another reviewer suggested. I knew my husband would like it. I wasn't sure about the kids given the comment below, but 10 and 12-year old kids said it was the best fish they had ever tasted! Nice, easy dish to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaBeth707 April 15, 2011

I loved this dish. I took another reviewer's suggestion and placed the coated fish in the fridge to set up. It worked really well. I didn't use as much lemon as called for because I was running low. I just guesstimated the butter but didn't need to much. I served this with bacon wrapped asparagus bundles and baked sweet potatoes. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tkelleytj_11130026 April 07, 2011

Excellent.. For those that want a lil more flavor add 3/4 tbl of Original Essence from Emeril and and sprinkle of Dill weed as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kepakid May 24, 2010

I took someone's review of subbing flour with Ritz crackers and even added some to the bottom(crushed) as a bed for the cod to sit on. Nothing soggy about this dish. The leftover lemon and butter I poured over the fish before baking. Perfectly done at 30 minutes. Will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe June 16, 2013

The sauce was really nice. However, the flour coating just ended up like paste while baking in the oven in the lemon butter sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb March 02, 2013

Really easy to put together and it tasted great! I did have to broil the top the last 3-4 minutes to get it to crisp a bit. Next time I'll follow the other suggestions to only coat the top with flour, it was a bit mushy on the bottom. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u October 22, 2011

This was but I may have put to much butter it came out a little mushy, also I will season it more next time. But I will try it again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MY HUNNY April 18, 2011

This was pretty good. I think my husband liked it more than I did. I think the problem might be that I just don't love cod. Maybe I'll try this recipe with a different fish. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life October 11, 2010
Lemon Baked Cod