Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Baked Cod Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Baked Cod

    Average Rating:

    177 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 177

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2011

      Just a cooking tip to those who are saying that their fish came out soggy. Try putting the fish or anything that you have dredged in flour/breadcrumbs in the refrigerator for at least an hour before you go ahead and cook it. This allows time for the coating to stick to the item to help create more crispiness in the oven while cooking!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      I thought this was a delicious, easy recipe. However my three children thought differently. My oldest child sat at the table with tears streamung down his face, my middle son was throwing up at the trash can, and my daughtersat with her arms drawn inside of her shirt saying she will not try anything on her plate. So I think I'll be making this recipe again next Friday. Thanks for a new way to torment my kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Ritz crackers !!!!! Use that instead of flour or bread crumbs. Delicious !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      This is not a recommendation, since I haven't made it yet... it is what I'm going to do after reading the reviews. It almost seems it will be good even if I get it wrong! I will: pat fresh fish dry with paper towel. Coat only top of fillets. Use breadcrumbs instead of flour. Use chilli flakes instead of paprika. Not too thickly coated. Fridge for one hour after coated. Use real lemons. Use less butter. Spread out to bake, don't crowd. Grill (broil) for last five minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      I thought this was pretty good. Instead of dredging the fish, I put it in the pan, brushed it with the lemon mixture and sprinkled breadcrumbs over the top. The top got crispy and solved the soggy bottom dilemma. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      After reading "broda's" review and finishing laughing, I made the recipe using "vbkarb's" recommendation of substituting panko for flour. I also brushed the bottom of the dish with the butter before putting the fish in. It still was a bit soggy but overall, excellent. My daughter, who wasn't hungry, still ate half a portion without complaining at all! I call that a real winner! Maybe I'll put it on a rack next time to avoid the soggy bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      I read the reviews before I tried the recipe. I decided to use bread crumbs instead of flour. I also used parchment paper. Worked great. Delicious and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This recipe is easy with any fish. I dredged the fish in Panko after coating with the lemon-butter mixture, and I omitted the flour. It came out with a little bit of a panko-crust, and my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      This is really a amazing dish. The fish is so tender and flaky and the flavor is wonderful. I used 2 pounds of cod, but kept the butter and other ingredients the same. The cod was perfectly done at 30 minutes. Cod is a favorite fish at our house, but not like it was tonight. With four people, there wasn't a lick of cod left after dinner. I couldn't believe it. I even checked the bag to make sure I didn't miss another filet! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      This is definitely an excellent recipe for when you want to have fish, but are pressed on time and want to get things done while the fish is baking. I had the same goopiness issue as others did, but remedied that by eating the fish with rice- the rice soaks up that sauce and butter nicely. I also used Hungarian hot paprika to give a little spiciness to the dish since it holds up well with baking. A great recipe, and makes for a healthy meal with some steamed veggies and brown rice- nothing fancy, but big on taste and nutrients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Just made the lemon baked cod and it's keeper! Used the Panko and had no gumminess. I will try this with other fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Used North Atlantic Cod Loins defrosted, dried and replaced the flour with breadcrumbs, the left over butter and lemon juice seasoning mix was added to a tomato, caper, scallion and white wine dressing for the cod which I served on penne pasta, nothing was left! the fish was baked perfectly and came out dry, crispy and succulent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      I made the original version, but topped the fish with mushrooms, parsely and dry sherry as another reviewer suggested. I knew my husband would like it. I wasn't sure about the kids given the comment below, but 10 and 12-year old kids said it was the best fish they had ever tasted! Nice, easy dish to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I loved this dish. I took another reviewer's suggestion and placed the coated fish in the fridge to set up. It worked really well. I didn't use as much lemon as called for because I was running low. I just guesstimated the butter but didn't need to much. I served this with bacon wrapped asparagus bundles and baked sweet potatoes. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Excellent.. For those that want a lil more flavor add 3/4 tbl of Original Essence from Emeril and and sprinkle of Dill weed as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      I took someone's review of subbing flour with Ritz crackers and even added some to the bottom(crushed) as a bed for the cod to sit on. Nothing soggy about this dish. The leftover lemon and butter I poured over the fish before baking. Perfectly done at 30 minutes. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      The sauce was really nice. However, the flour coating just ended up like paste while baking in the oven in the lemon butter sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Really easy to put together and it tasted great! I did have to broil the top the last 3-4 minutes to get it to crisp a bit. Next time I'll follow the other suggestions to only coat the top with flour, it was a bit mushy on the bottom. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      This was but I may have put to much butter it came out a little mushy, also I will season it more next time. But I will try it again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      This was pretty good. I think my husband liked it more than I did. I think the problem might be that I just don't love cod. Maybe I'll try this recipe with a different fish. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Baked Cod

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.2
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    49%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 79.3 mg
    26%
    Sodium 453.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 21.2 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites