186 Reviews

Just a cooking tip to those who are saying that their fish came out soggy. Try putting the fish or anything that you have dredged in flour/breadcrumbs in the refrigerator for at least an hour before you go ahead and cook it. This allows time for the coating to stick to the item to help create more crispiness in the oven while cooking!!!!

64 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asmooch22 February 09, 2011

I thought this was a delicious, easy recipe. However my three children thought differently. My oldest child sat at the table with tears streamung down his face, my middle son was throwing up at the trash can, and my daughtersat with her arms drawn inside of her shirt saying she will not try anything on her plate. So I think I'll be making this recipe again next Friday. Thanks for a new way to torment my kids.

55 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
broda June 11, 2010

Ritz crackers !!!!! Use that instead of flour or bread crumbs. Delicious !!!!!

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msl2u January 29, 2011

This is not a recommendation, since I haven't made it yet... it is what I'm going to do after reading the reviews. It almost seems it will be good even if I get it wrong! I will: pat fresh fish dry with paper towel. Coat only top of fillets. Use breadcrumbs instead of flour. Use chilli flakes instead of paprika. Not too thickly coated. Fridge for one hour after coated. Use real lemons. Use less butter. Spread out to bake, don't crowd. Grill (broil) for last five minutes.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ayari September 26, 2011

I thought this was pretty good. Instead of dredging the fish, I put it in the pan, brushed it with the lemon mixture and sprinkled breadcrumbs over the top. The top got crispy and solved the soggy bottom dilemma. I'll be making this again.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness January 21, 2011

After reading "broda's" review and finishing laughing, I made the recipe using "vbkarb's" recommendation of substituting panko for flour. I also brushed the bottom of the dish with the butter before putting the fish in. It still was a bit soggy but overall, excellent. My daughter, who wasn't hungry, still ate half a portion without complaining at all! I call that a real winner! Maybe I'll put it on a rack next time to avoid the soggy bottom.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nebs January 09, 2011

I read the reviews before I tried the recipe. I decided to use bread crumbs instead of flour. I also used parchment paper. Worked great. Delicious and easy recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane McKinney January 16, 2011

This recipe is easy with any fish. I dredged the fish in Panko after coating with the lemon-butter mixture, and I omitted the flour. It came out with a little bit of a panko-crust, and my family loved it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbkarb_2219434 July 11, 2010

This is really a amazing dish. The fish is so tender and flaky and the flavor is wonderful. I used 2 pounds of cod, but kept the butter and other ingredients the same. The cod was perfectly done at 30 minutes. Cod is a favorite fish at our house, but not like it was tonight. With four people, there wasn't a lick of cod left after dinner. I couldn't believe it. I even checked the bag to make sure I didn't miss another filet! Thanks for posting this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay January 09, 2006

Used North Atlantic Cod Loins defrosted, dried and replaced the flour with breadcrumbs, the left over butter and lemon juice seasoning mix was added to a tomato, caper, scallion and white wine dressing for the cod which I served on penne pasta, nothing was left! the fish was baked perfectly and came out dry, crispy and succulent.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harrisonembrey February 04, 2013
Lemon Baked Cod