10 Reviews

OUTSTANDING!! This will go straight into my permanent recipe box. The cake itself is worthy of 5 stars on its own, but the dessert this divine tasting cake turns into once the lemon curd, raspberries, and thick gooey icing are added is spectacular. The flavor is excellent and the instructions clear & accurate (although I added more lemon juice to my glaze as I prefer it thinner). Note: I was unable to use an angel food cake pan this time, so after some research I found out that I could use two 9x5" loaf pans (ungreased) instead and lowered the temp to 350F, placing them in the center of the oven - these changes were to accomodate the different size pans. I had just a small amount of batter left over as a result. This worked out just fine. Thanks for this 10 star recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather May 27, 2003

I made this recipe for Passover yesterday by replacing the cake flour with matzoh cake meal, and the butter in the lemon curd with parve margarine. It was a beautiful, high angel cake with a bright fresh taste. My family gave it raves, which is saying something, since they usually go for the chocolate. This was not only delicious, but it was beautiful as well. Thank you for a wonderfull dessert recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Siegel April 06, 2004

I don't know. Perhaps I missed something? I followed the directions carefully using all of the ingredients listed. I just didn't' like the taste. Maybe it's just me, but this resulting cake falls way short of 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bettyboopin15 October 12, 2014

Wonderful receipe....easy, beautiful, and tasty. I will be using the lemon curd for other items as well :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissa_s70 September 29, 2012

I made this a couple of weeks ago for DH's birthday. He really enjoyed it. I used mostly Chambord instead of lemon juice in the glaze which is why it's pink in the picture... DH liked the boozy taste of the glaze enough to overlook the fact that his b-day cake was pink! Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana May 21, 2010

Rita, This is the 3rd time I am making it and I cannot keep it in the house, my husband eats the whole thing at one sitting. lol He has brought it to work and the boys say that it is the BEST cake they have ever had. I have nade it exactly as per your directions EXCEPT - that I did not use a tube pan I used extra large muffin tins. I also lined them with muffin cups. Remove them after cooling and proceded as usual. The reason for this is, that I cater and people take these cakes themselves instead of me standing there serving. Also I like the presentation as individual cakes less messy.. If I do not used the Angel Cakes right away I just wrap in cello and they do stay fresh quite a few days. In conclusion, THESE WERE FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!! A fan from Canada

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonne Ambiance March 15, 2010

Well, I tried to cut the cake in half but managed to mangle it beyond repair. No amount of spackle or masking tape worked in gluing it back together. I take full blame. Good directions and delicious though. Reviewed for Afternoon Tea and Light Suppers February 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 26, 2010

This cake is awesome! I made it just with the icing (no raspberries or lemon curd) and I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Holmes August 22, 2009

Oh, yummy. I was in heaven. I've always loved the raspberry lemon combo's and this one is definately a keeper. So delicate and pretty. Zaar World Tour 05

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis September 16, 2005

I admit it: I cheated! I hope this review counts for somebody despite that fact. I used a store-bought angel food cake and lemon pie filling instead of making everything from scratch. I can tell you without a doubt though that this is a beautiful dessert both in presentation and taste. The lemon-raspberry combo was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratwoman June 01, 2004
Lemon Angel Food Cake Filled With Lemon Curd and Fresh Raspberry