8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Once you make this cake there is no going back to the store bought fluffy thing they called Angel Food Cake. This is what angel food is supposed to taste like. This cake is awesome frosted too. I've made this cake many, many times. I have even sliced it horizontally and filled it with lemon curd and then frosted the whole thing in a meriengue-type frosting with a chunky blueberry sauce on the side.I've also separated the batter into thirds and colored it for a cute birthday cake. To make it easy on myself, I purchase pasturized egg whites in a carton from Trader Joes. They whip up perfectly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaCucina May 13, 2010

Just made this and it smells divine! I whipped up some raspberry puree (strained) and added a little left over lemon zest to it with 2T of Chambord liqueur to drizzle over the top as I am serving it. Hint with the left over yolks and lemons you should have you can make a nice batch of Hollandaise sauce for eggs benedict in the morning. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeathersArk April 23, 2011

Delicious cake! I made a simple glaze of powdered sugar and lemon juice to drizzle on top. This is also great with berries and whipped cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj May 19, 2010

This has become my standard Angel Food Cake I serve and one of the most requested by friends and family. You don’t need to be concerned that the lemon is over powering, it is just right. However, I have tried making the cake without the lemon and adjusted the vanilla to 1 tsp., it was still wonderful and flavorful. Try it- you will love this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antifreesz December 30, 2007

I really wanted lemon so was looking for lemon cakes. Didn't have any lemons for zest, though, so ended up using clementines for zest. Make orange juice/powdered sugar glaze. Also used 2 goose eggs and 6 chicken eggs and they didn't whip up quite as well. Stick to chicken eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc April 08, 2012

Reserving stars until it's done but I followed recipe to a "T" and it ran out the bottom of my tube pan, burning on the bottom of the oven. I left it in the oven to finish cooking what was left in the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie March 25, 2012

This was very good. It was lemony but not overpowering. The cake was moist but maybe just a bit too dense for me. I made a lemon and toasted coconut glaze that I drizzled over the top. I served this with Easter dinner. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 April 26, 2011

Made for "And the Secret Ingredient is..... Tag game" Wonderful angel food cake. I will be making this over and over again. Thank you for posting this Tiger!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft February 16, 2009
Lemon Angel Food Cake - Barefoot Contessa - Ina Garten