Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon Angel Food Cake - Barefoot Contessa - Ina Garten Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Angel Food Cake - Barefoot Contessa - Ina Garten

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2010

      Once you make this cake there is no going back to the store bought fluffy thing they called Angel Food Cake. This is what angel food is supposed to taste like. This cake is awesome frosted too. I've made this cake many, many times. I have even sliced it horizontally and filled it with lemon curd and then frosted the whole thing in a meriengue-type frosting with a chunky blueberry sauce on the side.I've also separated the batter into thirds and colored it for a cute birthday cake. To make it easy on myself, I purchase pasturized egg whites in a carton from Trader Joes. They whip up perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      Just made this and it smells divine! I whipped up some raspberry puree (strained) and added a little left over lemon zest to it with 2T of Chambord liqueur to drizzle over the top as I am serving it. Hint with the left over yolks and lemons you should have you can make a nice batch of Hollandaise sauce for eggs benedict in the morning. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Delicious cake! I made a simple glaze of powdered sugar and lemon juice to drizzle on top. This is also great with berries and whipped cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This has become my standard Angel Food Cake I serve and one of the most requested by friends and family. You don’t need to be concerned that the lemon is over powering, it is just right. However, I have tried making the cake without the lemon and adjusted the vanilla to 1 tsp., it was still wonderful and flavorful. Try it- you will love this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      I really wanted lemon so was looking for lemon cakes. Didn't have any lemons for zest, though, so ended up using clementines for zest. Make orange juice/powdered sugar glaze. Also used 2 goose eggs and 6 chicken eggs and they didn't whip up quite as well. Stick to chicken eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      Reserving stars until it's done but I followed recipe to a "T" and it ran out the bottom of my tube pan, burning on the bottom of the oven. I left it in the oven to finish cooking what was left in the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      This was very good. It was lemony but not overpowering. The cake was moist but maybe just a bit too dense for me. I made a lemon and toasted coconut glaze that I drizzled over the top. I served this with Easter dinner. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Made for "And the Secret Ingredient is..... Tag game" Wonderful angel food cake. I will be making this over and over again. Thank you for posting this Tiger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Angel Food Cake - Barefoot Contessa - Ina Garten

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 302.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    32%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 240.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 50.3 g
    201%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites