Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lemon and Garlic Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon and Garlic Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2002

      This is the best roast chicken I've ever had. I made two changes - I stuffed the chicken cavity with a sliced whole onion and lemons and I stuffed sliced lemon under the skin of the breast meat. I've never had chicken this moist and so flavorful! This is a new family favorite, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2002

      Very tasty, although I had a hard time finding the specific kinds of paprika in the recipe and had to use the plain old stuff. I roasted some potatoes with it, and it made a wonderful zesty gravy also!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2002

      Well Dave Caster you certainly have yourself one delicious bird here! I hadn't roast a chicken in sometime, but I knew there was a lemon / garlic recipe out there that I had previously used and enjoyed... this was it! This oh-so-simple way of roasting a chicken is nothing short of a classic recipe in our kitchen from now on. The bird had a wonderful enhancing not overpowering flavor, the skin was crisp and the meat was especially moist. I also, couldn't find the difference in paprika so I used Spanish, and it was bang on. I'm submitting a photo of this "Chick" in appreciation of your sharing such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      Great recipe, very easy to make, the smell alone already attracted my children. The flavor was great. We served it with Basmati rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

      Excellent. I did not have the sweet or hot paprika, so I also just used the plain paprika I had on hand, and it still came out great. My whole family really liked this chicken. I will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2002

      Absolutely wonderful, can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2001

    • on February 02, 2012

      This was amazing! I just had normal paprika but everything else was as the recipe called for. I will definitely make this again...and again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      I used this to make my first roasted chicken. Soooo good!! Everyone loved it, Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      I made it with drumsticks. They came out very flavorful and moist. Even DH who doesn't like drumsticks enjoyed them. A nice recipe for turning the US dullest meat into something yummy. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Absolutely Delicious!!!!!! The whole family Loves it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2003

      This was so good. It was the first time I had ever made a roast chicken, and the results were so fabulous! I followed the recipe pretty much word for word, except that I only had regular paprika. I stuck a meat thermometer in and just left it. So easy! My husband was amazed. Thanks Dave!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      I made this for a potluck dinner, and I'm no cook, so I followed this recipe exactly. 1 problem was that the recipe calls for cumin in the ingredients list, but doesn't mention where to add it in the step-by-step instructions. So I inadvertently omitted it. Second very important thing I missed as a poultry-cooking novice: the weight of the bird. I overlooked that detail and got a 5-lb bird, which caused it to be undercooked. Even so, my friends complimented the wonderful aroma, savored the cooked parts, and one lady even asked for the recipe. I based my review on their positive esteem-boosting reactions, rather than my own disappointment in my culinary ineptitude. I will definitely try this one out again. This time it'll be perfect: I just know it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      Well, I didn't have rosemary so I used herbes de provence as a substitute and used an onion in the cavity instead of lemon--and most of us loved the chicken! (I did leave out half the paprika on personal preference). My DH didn't like it that much, but I am starting to doubt that he even likes roast chicken... Also, a great method that would work with other seasonings! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      What a moist and succulent chicken. Considering all the spices used, I was surprised the chicken wasn't more flavourful. I will use more salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      This is the most awesome roast chicken ever! I use it again and again and again. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      This is a really good recipe, I put lemon slices, onion slices and a garlic clove inside the cavity and under the breast and leg skin. The breast meat was actually juicy (it is usually dry in roasts), I cooked for longer than specified and it still came out juicy (1 hour and 15 minutes). I really liked the lemon taste and the tenderness, the spices were good but not the tastiest spices I have ever had on chicken, next time I might try different spices, maybe some type of chicken seasoning spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      I made this chicken tonight using my Beer Can Roasting Stand in the oven. Super fabulous chicken! The skin was crispy and the breast meat was moist. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      Very lemony. Very moist. Husband and mother in law loved.Daughter and I didnt care for

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Fabulous! Takes boring roasted chicken and gives it incredible flavour. No need for cranberry or stuffing or anything more. The directions were a little vague. I didn't see where to put in the cumin or hot papriko so I left those out. I used maybe 1 or 2 T of olive oil and thought that was plenty for the mixture, especially with the butter. Very simple, but incredibly delicious. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon and Garlic Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 912.2
     
    Calories from Fat 636
    69%
    Total Fat 70.7 g
    108%
    Saturated Fat 20.2 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 270.4 mg
    90%
    Sodium 241.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 63.7 g
    127%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes