15 Reviews

I just made this for Easter Dinner for my guys who love lamb. It came out perfect. I did tweek it a little. About 1/2 hour before the roast was done, I put the potatoes and veggies (green beans, asparagas and pearl onions) in with the roast with 1/2 cup of a cabernet sauvignon for some extra liquid. Then I followed the directions, but I thickened the gravy with some corn starch. The boys loved it...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srweezy April 12, 2009

This was excellent!!I added more garlic and used red wine - the sauce was to die for!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerrbear April 02, 2008

I think I died and went to heaven tonight. This was so good. It's not unlike the way we normally cook lamb, but the thyme adds a bit of interest, and the sauce really makes it. You would never know there was 20 cloves of garlic in it, it's just wonderful. I'm going to do all this (minus the rosemary) for a piece of beef really soon. I only used about 1 tablespoon of oil to rub the lamb with, and I cooked it on a bed of rosemary and thyme sprigs as well as rubbing them over it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS January 20, 2005

Wow, this is really yummy!! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cover it, so I did for the first hour. Then I uncovered it for the next half hour~~Added potatoes, carrots and onions for the last half hour and covered again. The gravy is a MUST if you are making this!! Thanks so much for sharing. :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins April 24, 2011

The sauce turned out a little disastrous for me. I should have done a rough chop of the cloves before cooking them. The prescribed amount of time was not sufficient to soften them, and the liquid ended up evaporating. I added more, but by then I think the whole thing was just off. I used the listed directions for seasoning the meat, but I put it in the oven on 250 for 4 hours while we went to church. When we came home, I bumped up the temp and cooked a little longer until done. The flavor turned out great and was exactly what I'd hoped for when I bought the meat. I'm just bummed about the sauce being a flop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamere94 April 04, 2010

OMG! This recipe is SOOO good! I am one of only a few in my family that eats lamb so I only get it at Easter. I made it last year for the first time and forgot to review it. If you don't like lamb or are on the wall, TRY this recipe! Surprisingly, the garlic is not overpowering either. YUM! Making it again this Easter. Thanks Kelly!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Soup Nazi April 09, 2009

Loved it! The guests loved it! The dogs loved the little bits left over! Thanks for sharing this great recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ February 10, 2008

The cook time wasn't spot on, but I had reviewed from others that more time be allowed in the cooking time... this turned out superb.....I didnt' use the wine or beef broth though, I let my lamb marinate sealed with a smidge of lemon and a greek rub from recipe "sticky chicken" ... this was good ... thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iluv2cook59 December 24, 2006

This tasted really good. We love lamb at our house and this is a definite winner recipe. Had to cook it a bit longer but apart from that followed recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycuteboys April 19, 2006

A truly fine recipe! The combination of spices enhaces the flavor of the lamb. Very tasty sauce as well. Recommended for lamb lovers or not alike! One small adaptation: I have covered the leg with aluminum foil and cooked it a little longer in order to get it done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michail October 08, 2005
Leg of Lamb with Garlic Sauce