Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leg of Lamb with Garlic Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leg of Lamb with Garlic Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2009

      I just made this for Easter Dinner for my guys who love lamb. It came out perfect. I did tweek it a little. About 1/2 hour before the roast was done, I put the potatoes and veggies (green beans, asparagas and pearl onions) in with the roast with 1/2 cup of a cabernet sauvignon for some extra liquid. Then I followed the directions, but I thickened the gravy with some corn starch. The boys loved it...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This was excellent!!I added more garlic and used red wine - the sauce was to die for!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      I think I died and went to heaven tonight. This was so good. It's not unlike the way we normally cook lamb, but the thyme adds a bit of interest, and the sauce really makes it. You would never know there was 20 cloves of garlic in it, it's just wonderful. I'm going to do all this (minus the rosemary) for a piece of beef really soon. I only used about 1 tablespoon of oil to rub the lamb with, and I cooked it on a bed of rosemary and thyme sprigs as well as rubbing them over it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Wow, this is really yummy!! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cover it, so I did for the first hour. Then I uncovered it for the next half hour~~Added potatoes, carrots and onions for the last half hour and covered again. The gravy is a MUST if you are making this!! Thanks so much for sharing. :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      The sauce turned out a little disastrous for me. I should have done a rough chop of the cloves before cooking them. The prescribed amount of time was not sufficient to soften them, and the liquid ended up evaporating. I added more, but by then I think the whole thing was just off. I used the listed directions for seasoning the meat, but I put it in the oven on 250 for 4 hours while we went to church. When we came home, I bumped up the temp and cooked a little longer until done. The flavor turned out great and was exactly what I'd hoped for when I bought the meat. I'm just bummed about the sauce being a flop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      OMG! This recipe is SOOO good! I am one of only a few in my family that eats lamb so I only get it at Easter. I made it last year for the first time and forgot to review it. If you don't like lamb or are on the wall, TRY this recipe! Surprisingly, the garlic is not overpowering either. YUM! Making it again this Easter. Thanks Kelly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Loved it! The guests loved it! The dogs loved the little bits left over! Thanks for sharing this great recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      The cook time wasn't spot on, but I had reviewed from others that more time be allowed in the cooking time... this turned out superb.....I didnt' use the wine or beef broth though, I let my lamb marinate sealed with a smidge of lemon and a greek rub from recipe "sticky chicken" ... this was good ... thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      This tasted really good. We love lamb at our house and this is a definite winner recipe. Had to cook it a bit longer but apart from that followed recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      A truly fine recipe! The combination of spices enhaces the flavor of the lamb. Very tasty sauce as well. Recommended for lamb lovers or not alike! One small adaptation: I have covered the leg with aluminum foil and cooked it a little longer in order to get it done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      We butterflied the boneless leg of lamb, rubbed it with the oil and herbs and cooked it on the grill. The garlic sauce -- oh my heavens! Bliss! It is all gone after one meal -- just gobbled down by the garlic lovers around here with both the meat and the rice we served with it. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      What a wonderful roast lamb, we loved the garlic. My leg was 1.5 kg so cooked a litte longer..we are a family of lamb lovers and this will be a regular in our house. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2005

      This recipe was excellent. Our house smelled like garlic for days. ( Not that we minded, though. ) I added red skinned potatoes to the roasting pan and in the last 20 minutes I added asparagas too. They came out all carmalized with the garlic. It was awesome. I highly recommend added these 2 things and you have your whole dinner in one roaster. Everything turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      O.K. This was excellent. The Garlic sauce was perfect. It was not a over powering sauce , but it had just the right flavor to complement the lamb. This is a keeper for use. Thanks for a excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      The ammount of garlic didn't daunt me, I love garlic, and lamb... the only thing I changed was the broth, I used chicken broth, which lets the lamb flavor continue. I am going to try his with a pork roast, i hink it will be very good with the thyme. To raise it from the bottom of the pan I used some lamb bones I had in the freezer... its what I keep them for... beef & chicken bones too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leg of Lamb with Garlic Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.2
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    74%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 76.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    leg of lamb

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites