38 Reviews

I have to write this review by first telling you a story. I have always loved lamb. Anykind, anyway it is prepared. My husband hates it and always has. He told me never to fix it for him. Never. Well, I told him we were having a "crockpot" supper tonight, I didn't tell him what it was. I placed the plate in front of him, all sliced w/ gravy, it looked beautiful! He closed his eyes and took one bite. "This is the best roast I've ever tasted!" were his exact words!! It wasn't until he said it was so good, that I told him he was eating lamb. ;) Thanks to your recipe, Geema, I now will be able to serve my husband lamb roast and be able to enjoy it myself! I prepared your simple recipe as directed, making no changes. Delicious! Thank you so much, Geema for teaching my husband that indeed, he does like lamb!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 20, 2003

I used a small bone in leg roast for this delicious crockpot dish. Flavour was great, and the meat was very tender. A definite keeper and already printed and added to my collection.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* April 13, 2003

My wife also hates lamb, and her mother hates anything. They both ate it and loved it. Made again three days later for my mothers birthday and once again it was a hit. I ate it with my new wilted cabbage recipe and it was a perfect match!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rennug October 23, 2003

Another winner Geema- My lamb roast was quite small so the cooking time was a bit less -I removed all the fat from the roast. I made the whole recipe of the stock so had about 4 cups left over today I made soup from it - I added a bay leaf, a couple of leeks, two sliced carrots a stalk of celery and a diced potatoe great lunch.With the roast I served derf's Squash & Green bean recipe, fresh beets and roasted potatoes - there were no complaints and the lamb leg disappeared. Thanks Geema for another excellent recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy October 15, 2003

Geema, I'm a lamb lover and had to try this! I was not dissapointed! I used a 5 lb bone in cut, which was all my market had. I removed most of the fell (fatty white layer) before cooking, as I've heard that's what gives lamb that "gamey taste." The meat was meltingly tender, and the soy sauce and onion soup mix combo was a wonderful bonus taste wise! I used a large yellow onion, and after ten hours of slow cooking the onion slices simmering in the broth were awesome! Great recipe, one I will repeat often!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper September 04, 2003

geema, once aagin your recipes have not failed to please us! lamb was in abundance before easter and as usual i bought too much. when i realized i still had a leg of semi-boneless to use and no time to cook it i found this recipe, awesome! when i got home from work the bones literally fell out as i removed it from the crock. the meat was tender and delicious and i couldn't have asked for such a tasy surprise-- a keeper, thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia April 17, 2004

I've made this dish about 4 times now, each time meaning to post a review to say it is FANSTASTIC. My husband and I never liked lamb (a cardinal sin, being Australians, but there you go!) but this we can eat and truly enjoy. The variations I made to the recipe were to bone, skin and remove all the fat from the leg of lamb and tie it into a roll, then brown the joint all over in a very hot non-stick pan to seal the meat before placing in the crock-pot, used Teriyaki sauce instead of Soy sauce, 1 clove of garlic instead of 2, and used a reduced-salt onion soup mix. The gravy makes a brilliant "sort-of-French-Onion-Soup" the next day, mopped up with crusty bread - yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Perth July 07, 2003

Wow this was easy to put together and just leave. It was a warm day and my kitchen stayed cool but had wonderful aroma from the garlic and onions. The meat was so tender didn't even need a knife. This is one for my scrap book of recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craftywitch June 08, 2003

Delicious recipe! My husband loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie January 04, 2012

This was a Great Recipe! Very easy to cook the only thing I changed was I used the Lipton Beefy Onion Soup Mix. Also after the lamb was done cooking the juices made a great stock for French Onion Soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twiggy1979 January 03, 2011
Leg of Lamb in the Crock Pot