16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Out of sheer desperation to make "thanksgiving leftover" food despite my complete lack of thanksgiving leftovers, I bought a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store to make this. It came out SO good--I doubled the recipe to make 8 enchiladas and used stir-fried peppers and onions as the vegetables. I topped it with enchilada sauce, cheese and freshly diced tomatoes. It was exactly what I was looking for--thanks so much for posting, Anme!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edana December 01, 2009

I made this as a casserole rather than individual enchiladas and used green enchilada sauce and about 1/4 cup mild salsa layering in a casserole dish. I sauteed green bell peppers and onions as the veggies. It turned out great and my kids ate it up because it didn't taste like the same old turkey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loricrenshaw November 29, 2010

I've been instructed to make these every year after Thanksgiving. Thanks for a great turkey leftover dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm January 04, 2010

Amne a real winner here. I needed something swift for lunch and I could jack up the heat the bit ~ and this was it! I had some leftover chicken from the previous day, so this made it super simple to throw together. For the cooked vegetables I used sliced onion, jalanpeno's, and garlic. I didn't have a Mexican cheese so I used my regular mild cheddar cheese. I also had tomato and fresh cilantro that I added to the top. I also browned the tortilla's on top of the burner for 3 seconds each side, filled them and served them. That easy and done! Thank you so much, Anme!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 06, 2008

I will definitely be keeping this recipe for leftover chicken or turkey. Hubby and I really enjoyed these and they were very filling. Thanks Anme!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husky Brigade November 26, 2010

Wow! These were so good! I wanted to use up some more of my leftover turkey and corn and this worked out so well. For the veggies, I used leftover fresh cut corn and some chopped jalapeno slices I had in my fridge. I used Paul Newman's Cilantro & Lime mild salsa. A great recipe, delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather December 01, 2009

DEEEEElisious. Made it with leftover chicken and green beens. Didn't have any cummin so I loaded it up with extra chili powder and about 4 dashes of hot sauce for a little extra zip. Had my own homemade tortilla shells Flour Tortillas (Sun-Dried Tomato, Red Bell Pepper, Garlic &. I used a mixture of medium cheddar and mozerella. This one is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zzzdreamerzzz November 29, 2009

We made this with left over Thanksgiving turkey and it was a nice change from more turkey, turkey, turkey. In the end, though, it was still turkey so only 4 stars from us but thanks for a new way to use our leftovers before they went into the freezer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith November 28, 2009
Leftover Turkey or Chicken Enchiladas