Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Steak Sandwich With Onions and Mushrooms Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Steak Sandwich With Onions and Mushrooms

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2013

      I love this recipe. I've made it twice and both times I've cooked the green pepper, but otherwise made as written. I thought there might be too much broth, but it's not. I like to put some in a bowl for dipping (au jus). I have used both mozzarella and provolone cheese. Everytime I make steak, I hope there is some leftover just to make this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      Made for a late dinner with leftover rib eye steaks. Gave the meat a great flavor and didn't make it taste overcooked when reheated. I left out the bell pepper and used a combo of shredded cheddar and mozz cheese. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Fixed these for dinner last night and I cut the recipe in half for just DH and I and I sauteed red and green pepper with the onions, then added the mushrooms and garlic and followed the rest of the recipe. EXCELLENT!! Made for a wonderful meal with a side green salad. I never worry about a recipe when it's one of Kittencal's because they are always good. Thank you!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      So good, has to be one of the best ever meals I'v ever had. I served it with home made chips and salad.
      I'm off to look at your other recipe's now. Thanks heaps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      Nice sandwich. I made the whole amount of sauce which was a LOT. I used beef stir-fried strips. I used milk and a powder beef soup base which is what I had on hand. I thicken the sauce so it was quite thick and not runny. I ate it on flatbread. The only thing I did not like about it was the ketchup and mustard taste, it made it too sweet. Next time I will eliminate those two things but otherwise this was a great tasting sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      great sandwich! The only thing i did differently was to reduce the liquid ingredients by half, it would have been too liquid for my tastes if i has used the full amounts. This is a terrific used of left over steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      Wow. This was really good. My DH and 15 year old son mopped up the sauce in the pan with bread! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      Yummy sandwich! I used a leftover rib eye steak on a hoagie roll. I didn't have any green pepper and was too hungry to go to the store, lol. This was really simple and the sauce was great. Next time I'll add the bell pepper and maybe a little bit of horseradish on the bun too. Thanks Kitten for another keeper. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      Yum! Yum! Yum! We loved this. Served it open face & my only regret was that I didn't double the sauce. I could have licked my plate. As always, Kit- your recipes are the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Very tasty and my DH couldn't get enough of it. He wants to use the sauce when he next makes smoked brisket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      This recipe is delicious. I used sliced Monteray Jack cheese with jalapenos I love the raw green pepper slices, it added a nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Oh, YUM! My leftover steak has never tasted soooo gooodd! I did stick the bread in the broiler for a minute to brown, DH did not. My bread held up to the wonderful sauce, his turned quite soggy. Toast the bread! I topped mine with chipotle cheddar and just about died! I have just a little leftover that I think will be fantastic with some rice or on top of a baked potato. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I used french sandwich rolls, 2% milk and provolone cheese. I didn't feel like waiting for it to thicken, so I added a cornstarch slurry. I cooked the peppers with the onions too. It was excellent. My family loved it, especially my 10 year old daughter. She wants me to make extra steak so will will have leftovers for this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Delicious! I usually have to pry a comment out of my husband whenever I try something new, but he didn't hesitate this time! He thought it was delicious, too! He went back for more steak/mushroom mixture (as it didn't all fit on the sandwiches!) and gravy, and he got a piece of sandwich bread to sop it up, that's how much he loved it. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Excellent. Varied by using canned mushrooms and 1% milk but still turned out with great flavor. Already had request to make it again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      mmm this was delicious. We loved the sauce. We used ciabatta bread and american cheese slices. I didn't have whipping cream but I used some 2% milk. I didn't quite have a pound of steak so I had to simmer it quite a bit to thicken and reduce it enough. We will make this again next time we have left over steak. thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      OK...these are great! I didn't use leftover steak...but used a tenderloin and it was delicious! Out of the 4 of I think the kids actually liked it best...which surprised me. Nice job Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      FANTASTIC!! I had two leftover T-bone steaks which is very unusual. I had remembered having this recipe in my cookbook. It was a hugh hit with DH and DS. I am so glad we got to try this recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      I have made this many times! EXCELLENT! Now my husband makes an effort not to finish his steak :')

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      we LOVED THIS SO MUCH, fantastic Kit, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Steak Sandwich With Onions and Mushrooms

    Serving Size: 1 (530 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 699.1
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    35%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 120.2 mg
    40%
    Sodium 1063.5 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 47.0 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes