10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great idea! I made this a littlw while back & froze it and had it last week for a quick & easy dinner. Hubby positively inhaled it, totally unaware that 1. It was leftovers or 2. It was frozen beforehand. Little Miss 6 and Master 2 also ate it with no complaints. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** March 25, 2012

This was not pretty to look at, but tasted great! Everyone seemed to enjoy it. It was served over mashed potatoes. We always have leftover roast, so I think this will be my round two recipe! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaBelle30 May 12, 2011

Easy to put together and it seemed to taste pretty good. I messed it up by using leftover Crock Pot Tangy Italian Beef Sandwiches which was just a horrible texture for this unfortunately.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 02, 2010

What a great way to use leftover roast beef. I usually just make sandwiches and then a pot pie but wanted something a little different tonight. Made it as the recipe said except I had to use canned mushrooms. I didn't think it was overly salty using the ingredients as stated. We are a family of 3 and not big eaters so this will be enough for another meal. Served this with peas and a spinach salad. Thanks for a great new recipe in my collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janiceherd May 10, 2010

I could not resist buying some roast beef "ends" at the deli, as they were really a good value and still pink. But then what to do with them? I found this recipe, which ended up working out quite well. It's still a bit too salty for me. I omitted the beef broth powder. I soaked a handful of dried sliced shiitake mushrooms and used the soaking liquid to add some depth. I also added about 1/4 cup of red wine. Dried thyme worked well with this, as did some fresh chopped parsley at the end. I'll still play with this to reduce the sodium further. Also, I think 4 servings is really all you'll get, unless feeding children. A good recipe on a weeknight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte October 07, 2009

I was delighted when i had this. its not terribly fattening and you are able to change things like using low sodium cream of mushroom, ive done lean ground beef, low fat milk and it was amazing!! I made a different fancy recipe for stroganoff and it was terrible!! the pic is strange, but it turns out to taste great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lotusflower January 23, 2009

Quick and easy. The taste was wonderful, but our beef was tough. Cut into very small pieces helped this problem. I also added a little more paprika. My husband thought it was great. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rug Lady March 06, 2014

Very good, quick, and easy! Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
park26 January 23, 2014

Very delish and easy. I added a tsp of mustard to add some extra flavor. Will definately make this one again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy4FabFood January 30, 2013

Quick and easy recipe with lots of flavour. I only adjusted it by cutting down the milk and adding sour cream in place of it. Thick, creamy and delicious over broad egg noodles! Comfort food and a great way to use up left over roast. Usually I shred the beef and make burritos, so this is now added to my repertoire. Thanks for posting this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_mead September 24, 2012
Leftover Roast Beef Stroganoff