15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Glad to have found this recipe, I didn't know what to do with the leftover pot roast as it just wasn't enough for another family meal. With this recipe I was able to stretch it for all of us. I did as another reviewer and added some carrots and potatoes to the pot to further stretch this meal. Between this recipe and the review that I read....I became inspired and my family became full. Thanks...This sure beats the standard leftovers sandwich. ~Doozie~

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doozie January 20, 2007

Thanks! I did a veg bin clean out at the same time and have red cabbage, celery and carrots in the stew.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChandraSoleil December 29, 2009

This is a fantastic way to use up leftover beef. I added leftover corn, some carrots & barley. GREAT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good November 30, 2009

Easy and delicious! I added rosemary and sage to the recipe, and like many others, incorporated the potatoes, carrots, and onions I had originally cooked with the roast. I think bonus flavoring was added by the roast recipe I had used - the dijon mustard and beer I used to cook the roast were noticeable in the stew.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdj1979 September 09, 2012

Why are carrots and potatoes in the recipe photos but not in the ingredients?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean M. October 26, 2014

This is a great and easy recipe. I first made a rare rump roast with the intention of making other things out of it. First, I served it kind of l like a prime rib with roasted onion potatoes and a salad. Then I thin shaved it for a Japanese dish like the ones served at Yoshinoya Beef Bowl. After that, made a few sandwiches. I froze some individual servings of shaved beef for future use. Then I still had 1/2 pound left to make this sumptuous stew. I added potatoes and carrots - to me, beef stew is not 'stew' without potatoes and carrots!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
commercesd May 16, 2014

I made this recipe on 2/21/12 for the " Cooking From The Pantry Challenge " and most importantly mine and my SO's dinner.I had some leftovers from Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast and thought that this would be a good recipe to use those leftovers with, and I was right.:) Since my SO doesn't care for peppers,the amount of onions were doubled,and since I don't care for mushrooms, potatoes were used instead. I also added some carrots that needed to be used up. I doubled the seasonings and added some S & P. It was a pretty good stew and we enjoyed it very much. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � February 22, 2012

Delicious! I used leftover pot roast, and subbed carrots for the mushrooms and added about a cup of cooked/cubed potatoes. It made about 5 servings for us. What a fantastic stew! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 February 06, 2011

This was a really nice stew. I used leftover pot roast. Added some potatoes, carrots and celery that were made in the crockpot with the roast. Made a really quick and delicious meal. Thanks Sandylee for a nice keeper. Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 19, 2010

Sandylee .. this is incredilbe!!! I had two left over steaks (and two steak bones) and just hate throwing out food, but a dry tough steak sandwhich just doesn't sound appetizing. I too added the vegtable drawer - celery, carrotts, onions. I also saved the bones from the steaks and threw them in, it's amazing how much meat fell off of them!! I doubled your recipe and served with elbow noodles, left over white rice and left over mashed potatoes ... the kids had their choice of a starch!!! Mine came out more like a soup (which we loved) than a stew. I was so excited about how good this turned out that I have called three of my sisters to brag. Simple and delicious -- the only way that I like to cook!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZ Wildcat January 09, 2010
Leftover Roast Beef Stew