Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / leftover rice muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    leftover rice muffins

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2002

      My friend has a recipe that is a bit similar, she calls it "Breakfast In a Cup". I couldn't find her recipe, but I recalled seeing this one, so I used it, and was happy that I did. I more than quadrupled the quantities because we had a huge breakfast retirement party for someone at work today, so I just stopped measuring, and just put it all together as Country Mouse says to do. I added diced green chilis, diced roasted peppers and pimentos, green and black sliced olives, some frozen baby corn kernals, and lots of shredded cheese and about 14 eggs. I did have to bake them at a lower temp for a longer time [350 for @35-45 minutes].This made 72 regular rice muffins and a dozen mini-muffins. I brought the 72 regular sized ones to work where they disappeared in record time [none left at the buffet table]and I froze the mini muffins to serve as appetizers for another time. Thanks Country Mouse!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      Yummi idea! done with wild rice mix (black and white) and chicken leftovers. Additional herbs: rosemary and sage. Topped with red peppers.
      My family found this great and filling!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      DH and I felt like having a lite dinner last night and I remembered seeing your recipe. It was fun looking through the fridge and using up little bits of this and that. I was skeptical that these would turn out very good, but they were delicious. We used ham, red bell pepper, chopped dill pickle, cheddar and provolone. Next time I'll be sure to add a little onion. I know I'll be making these again. Such a perfect way to use up odds and ends. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This is one of those recipes that you come across and once you try you know you will be using it over and over again, it's simply an ingenious idea not just a recipe. Yep, that's how much I love it and so does my family. I used some cooked basmati rice that has been in the fridge for a couple of days, added shredded zucchini, some left over steak that I diced and a diced green chili. Not a lot of leftover gaoing to waste anymore. Thank you for such a versatile recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      This is a brilliant way to use leftovers. I have made these several times now so my boyfriend has something healthy and filling to eat for breakfast (I just put a few in a tupperware into the freezer, and he thaws them in the microwave). No olives, because I think those are icky and I won't have anything to do with them; I added salt and used a bit more egg, but I used the egg whites in a carton from the grocery store, and just poured and stirred until it looked right. I've also used leftover barley instead of rice, and I think that most any grain would work well in this recipe. Thanks for sharing, I will be using this regularly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      I made these last night ,after me & the hubby got home @ 5:00 pm from a weekend in Austin, I didn't have anything thawed, but had this recipe saved on my favorites list. I threw in yellow rice & black beans, white rice & okra, leftover garlic chicken, a half of a Southwestern pork chop w/ veggies shredded pepper jack cheese 2 beaten eggs, mixed it all up, with an ice cream scoop I scooped it into a 12 standard size muffin pan, sprinkled the tops with shredded parm cheese, baked @ 350 for about 40 mins, let it rest for 10 mins and vaalah dinner! I even tasted a hint of anchovie absolutley delish, hubby ate 4 he loved them, having " Leftover " rice muffins and a salad for dinner tonight! I too will not let leftovers go waste anymore thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      You are a ROCK STAR! I am a v. picky cook, and I always have leftover rice. These muffins are super-delish! And the many variations of cheese, meat, veggies, whatever, are so wonderful!
      I do a dish that one of my fans called "Heaven n' Hell"--beaten eggs, cheese and jalapenos. I won't make it again w/o the rice OMG, this is so incredibly delish! THX so much, Denise

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Like all the others who have tried this, I am over the moon delighted with this delicious way to use up odds and ends in the fridge and wherever. Thanks so, so much for posting it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I'd give this a hundred stars if I could. What a find! I used crabmeat and chopped onions, chopped roasted red peppers, and garlic. They taste just like a crabcake, only better! I will use this recipe often. Very versatile & economical, hot and filling. I couldn't wait until they cooled to eat the first two!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I put jalepeno peppers, tiny shrimp, artichoke, swiss & parm. cheese, a squirt of brown mustard & a squirt of Tabasco in mine. They are very tasty. They hold together much better the smaller you make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Fabulous! I did green onions, parmesan and bacon... this time. What a versatile snack. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Easy as could be, and delicious. Made two batches, one with chives and green olives and one with less rice, more egg and bacon. Both were awesome. Great way to use up that leftover rice...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      After Chinese take-out, we often have rice leftover, and I never knew what to do with it until now! Made these last night while I was on the phone-super simple. I kept them easy to accompany chili. I found the ratio of 1 cup rice to 1 egg and 1/2 cup cheese to be excellent. Added a little onion, parm. cheese and seasoned salt to the mix. Everyone loved these. Can't wait to try making regular size muffins instead of mini muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Wonderful use of leftover rice! I doubled the recipe basics (rice and eggs) and left the cheese at about 3/4 C. Then added leftovers from my fridge to the mix - tomatoes, artichoke dip, olives. It was delicious! Will be making this over and over again - each time different! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for leftover rice muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (41 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.8
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    20%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 27.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 108.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites