Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Pie Dough Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Pie Dough Cookies

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2007

      In my family these are called "snails" because once the dough is buttered and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, it is rolled up into a log, and is cut into about 1 inch pieces and baked. Someone is my ancestory much have thought these little spirals resembles snails. These little treats are almost as well appreciated as the pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I had an unused sheet of Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Dough and no plans to make pie so I thought I'd try these. Dh loves them. Great way to use up dough. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      I always used my mom's left over pie dough to make these when I was a kid, but I used brown sugar. The best!! My mom always salted the dough strips and made "crackers", which are good, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      I just hack up the leftover dough into free form triangle shapes and put the cinnamon sugar directly on it, no butter. Tastes like childhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      my mom used the same..butter, cinnamon, sugar but rolls her up like a cinnamon bun...dad has always called them rollerbungers. The 3 of us "kids" still get into them when she makes them...and now get our fingers tapped with the wooden spoon...they are for the grandkids!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Love, love, love these! Grandma used to make these with us. Making these brings back great memories and creates new ones with my kids. Thanks Darlene Summers :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      OMG!!! i do this with my family a lot! Its one of my favorites!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      These are the best. We made them into "snails" too and even called them snails like one of the other reviewers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      My Mom used to make these when I was a kid sprinkling them with a mixture of cinnamon, sugar and fine ground nuts. Delicious for a hot little cookie-snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      These are a holiday tradition in my family! My mom always makes her own pie crusts for Thanksgiving and Christmas and uses the leftover dough to make these. She just cuts them in strips with a pizza slicer. We don't have a name for them, probably because we eat them so fast we don't have time to name them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      OOO, my mom makes these too! She doesn't form them into cookie shapes or anything, and I think I kind of like them that way!...just pie scraps. delic...thanks for reminding me about these! I'm in college, and I'm going to be cooking and baking on my own, so I'll definitely remember this now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      My mom made these also. We called them doggie biscuits. Don't know how they got that name unles something to do with leftover scraps being for the dog. I wasn't sure what she put on top or how she did it so I appreciate you posting this. I'll continue the tradition with my own children

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      I finally got a chance to try these. They're great little snacks! I tried putting a slice of the fruit I was making the pie of in the centre of the cookie. I thought it added a nice flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      my mom used to do it this way too :) she never used a cookie cutter though .. sometimes she just rolled it all out into one big piece ... baked it , then we broke off chunks ;) kids love this!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      I remember my Mom making "cookies" from pie dough! She did them this way: Roll out the pie dough, spread with butter and sprinkle the sugar and cinnamon on the butter and roll up like a jelly roll, slice in 1" pieces and bake in oven. I don't remember how long she baked them. This is the first time I have came across anything similar to them. Thanks for the memory!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Pie Dough Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes