Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Mashed Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Mashed Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2008

      Had shallots that needed using & added with onions. Had no mushrooms & didn't miss them. Recommend "blooming" paprika in butter before adding broth. If using canned broth, needs no salt. Had a lot of potatoes & added extra broth. Very forgiving of proportions. Good combination of flavors. Doesn't need the creams. Quick, easy & tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      I love making soup - there's just something comforting about it. This was a very easy and yummy soup. Don't be tempted to add more salt - I did and it really doesn't need it at all. I used the bacon grease (not butter) and left out the scallions because I didn't have any. Very enjoyable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Super yummy! Very hearty - great for a cold evening. We made this with Thanksgiving leftovers. We always boil down the turkey carcass with some onions, celery and carrots, and used the resulting stock. Also, we had lots of extra gravy, so we used about 1/2 cup of gravy in place of about 1/4 cup of potatoes and 1/2 cup of broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was sooo good!! I used butter and real bacon bits instead of frying bacon and omitted the mushrooms, salt, and cream. From now on, I will always make leftover mashed potatoes so that I can make this soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      Tasty way to use up my leftover mashed potatoes from thanksgiving. I used leftover ham instead of bacon and omitted the mushrooms. I kept it warm in a crock pot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      I made this for lunch today but changed it a little. I didn't use mushrooms or scallions as I didn't have any. I did use green some green onion though, and I threw in some smoked salmon I had. I added salt but wish I hadn't! It definitely doesn't need salt with prepared broth! It was really fulfilling and a great way to use up mashed potatoes! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Fantastic soup! It also came together in a half-hour, which was exactly what I needed tonight. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I agree that this was a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I left out the mushrooms (son's preference) and reduced the amount of kosher salt (as the potatoes had already been salted). Ingredients were on hand; perfect for a "before grocery shopping" meal. Thanks for the posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I used this recipe as a base to make leftover steak and potato soup. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      This soup is delicious! Great for a warming lunch on a cool day. I did use canned mushrooms because I didnt have fresh but know it would be much better with fresh. Also, I used onion chives leftover from my garden because I didn't have scallions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Was going to make some potato bread with leftover mashed potatoes and came across this recipe and made this instead. Four stars because I changed it a bit - omitted mushrooms and added a pinch of saffron and some dill. Delicious. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Made this with Thanksgiving leftovers. I did leave out the mushrooms as we don't like them and the cream because I didn't have any. This was a delicious easy soup for a cold night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      Wonderful and a great way to get rid of some leftover mashed potatoes. I omitted the mushrooms and used bacon drippings to saute the onions. Butter would probably be more to my tastes. Seasoning is just right. Used about 3 cups of leftover garlic mashed potatoes and had a great bowl of soup for lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      Delicious! I had 3 cups of leftover mashed potatoes so I threw in the extra cup so as not to waste any. I didn't use the cream because I didn't have any but subbed 1% milk and it worked great. I didn't have scallions or mushrooms on hand either but even without them it was awesome. As another reviewer stated this is a very forgiving recipe. Try it with what you have,you wont regret it.It is cold here today so this was a bowl of warm velvety heaven, thanks Sue Lau:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      It's pretty good, very simple. I had trouble getting the potatoes to un-lump, I think an immersion blender or heating up the potatoes first would have helped. Agree the extra sour cream/half & half aren't necessary. Neither is extra salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      i make this soup all the time! when i don't leftover mashed potatoes, which is not to often. i use instant my fave!nt,they have different kinds. the garlic is my fave!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      Made this today. Yummy. Really good but do not add salt until you taste it. Great way to use lots of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Excellent base recipe and a great way to use leftovers. I added some small diced leftover Christmas turkey along with some corn. Used leftover gravy and some water for the stock. Great idea for using up the holiday bounty with a different flavor palette. Next time I might make some stuffing dumplings to with it. Thanks or a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      This soup was a real hit! I made this with mashed potatoes and Honey Baked Ham left over from Christmas dinner and omitted the mushrooms. I also added extra potatoes cut up b/c I like a little chunkiness to my potato soup. I cooked the chunks in a separate sauce pan to soften them up a bit before adding them to the soup. I doubled the recipe to feed a large crowd and we were scraping the pot clean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      This is a wonderful, warming, creamy delicious comfort soup. The leftovers the next day were just as good. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Mashed Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 385.4
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    56%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 63.6 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1526.5 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes