51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe for new braces! I shredded some onion and sauteed the onion and garlic in butter. I added all the ingredients to my plain smashed potatoes (left over from another recipe). I did have to add some milk because I did not have any in my taters. The kids absolutely loved it and it was easy enough for my son, the kids with new braces, to eat. He was delighted!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctwombly July 19, 2012

I used to make these all the time for my family and everyone loved them. It's been a lot of years since I made them and could remember the recipe. But here you have it and I'm so glad I found it again. I couldn't remember if I was supposed to add an egg and onions or not. But after seeing your recipe, that jogged my memory...lol Thank you so much for sharing this. I always have lots of left over mashed potaoes. I sometimes will eat them with a meal or just snack on them, but I don't add the applesauce or yogart. I like them just plain and simple and they are so easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pabynum777 May 31, 2012

I grew up on left over mashed potatoes made into potato pancakes. Most people do away with the simplicity and make them quite complicated. Congrats on your delicious simple potato pancakes. This reicpe is much like mine. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelswatching April 04, 2012

Very good!! We had this with steamed broccoli tonight and it was a full meal! Perfect comfort food for a cold night! (the computer won't let me give it a star rating...sorry...It would be a five star).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boise Cook! November 01, 2011

These were fantastic!! I used about 2 and a half cups of store bought garlic mashed potatoes, two eggs, the quarter cup flour and half of a sauteed sweet onion. Great batter consistency, easy to cook and flip. Absolutely delicious topped with a little sour cream and a dash of salt. Will definitely be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilmama023 August 20, 2011

My wife and son loved these. She said her grandmother used to make these for all the time as a child except her grandmother would buy them all ready made and frozen. When she asked if I could make them for I gave it a try....... and they turned out great!!!!!! Very easy to make and tasted awesome. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k9 handler November 22, 2010

Thank you for sharing this recipe! My bf and I enjoyed it very much. I added some herb goat cheese, shredded carrots, chives, onions, and a little bit of baking powder. For the topping, I opted for some home made fruit compote.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaki's Experiments October 11, 2010

This was really good. The hot sauce added a really nice layer of flavor while not being overpowering. They did stick but were still pretty nice and crispy and it wasn't a deal breaker at all. I'll be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade-Angel March 13, 2010

I used leftover mashed potatoes and added onion your recipe, and loved the tast of the crisp crunchiness that the onion brought. Reminded me of way back, when my Mom made these. I really enjoyed. Thank you, Thomas Danler, for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker March 10, 2010
Leftover Mashed Potato Pancakes