Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Mashed Potato Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Mashed Potato Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2001

      My mother used to make these, and this recipe is very like hers (she never added cheese, though--don't know why, because adding cheese sounds yummy). These are great slathered with butter. Thanks for submitting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      I was disappointed with the results, unfortunately. Although the taste was good (how could it be not with our own recipe of mashed potatoes) the consistency was off. In the first batch fried, the outside skin was crisp but there wasn't enough structure to hold them together so they fell apart with the inside just uh.. mashed potatoes w/onion. The next batch, I incorporated more flour and a bit of baking powder and they turned out much better. The smaller they are made, the better! Use a tablespoon to plop the batter into the pan and you'll be much better off!

      BUT... what a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      Awesome and easy. I used left over garlic mashed potatoes, sea salt, fresh ground pepper, approx 1 tbsp grated romano cheese and about a tsp of fresh chopped tarragon. Cooked in skillet with olive oil. Serving with italian sausage cooked in same skillet (after finishing cooking potato pancakes). Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I do a similar thing with our left-over mashed potatoes except that I throw in either a can of tuna or a cup of sweet corn kernels. They are delicious eaten cold as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I usually add lightly browned bread crumbs instead of the flour,it gives it a totally different flavour and texture...Vic

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Oh yummy! These were just like the ones I had growing up. The turned out crispy on the outside & soft on the inside- just perfect. I used about 4 c mashed taters, 3 eggs & 1/2 c flour with a few dashes of garlic & onion powder and some cheese. Simple comfort food at it's best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Great way to use left over mashed potatoes. I used both eggs but after looking at a few other recipes -- including my Grandma's, I noticed most stated to seperate the eggs. So I did that. Mix ingrediets with the yolks, then when you are ready to cook, whip room temperature egg whites to a peak and fold into the batter. This makes the pancakes light and fluffy. Otherwise great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      Add chopped hardwood-smoked bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      These were REALLY GOOD & easy to make!!! Normally, I use shredded raw potatoes for Potato Pancakes, but this is definite keeper!!! They were nice & crispy on the outside & just melt-in-your-mouth creamy inside. THANKS for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      Easy fast and good. Fabulous way to use left overs!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      Total loved it. With alittle bit of butter an egg on top with a dollip of ketchup. I enjoyed every bite.:0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      I love it. I cut the recipe in half I used onion parsley and mashed potatoes from a roast i made the other night :)! I used a little bit more flour though i used a 3 tbsp. I added a pinch of salt and pepper while they were cooking and they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      The serving size was far off for our house. 1/4 cup of the mixture was enough for each person. We added cooked sausage and cheddar cheese before frying the pancake and topped it with a egg-over medium.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Great recipe! I love potato skins, though I never know what to do with the leftover potato...
      I added garlic powder, snipped green onions and leftover bacon bits-YUMMY!! I cooked these in a nonstick pan that was sprayed with butter flavored cooking spray. I chilled the mixture prior to cooking and I noticed the second batch I made didn't hold up as well since the mixture was more room temperature rather than from the 'fridge

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      These were SO good! I stuck to the recipe and they came out great. I used a small ice cream scoop to put them in the pan, then I flattened them a little with the spatula (I used olive oil) . I added cheese but left out the onions because my son doesn't like them but next time i will definately add them. I love all of the variations and think next time, I will do onions, bacon and cheese in them with a little dallop of sour cream on top~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      These were just okay to me. I've really wanted to try these for a long time and I guess maybe I was just expecting a little more. It just tasted like fried mashed potatoes which seems ridiculous to say because that's all it is. Just kind of mediocre to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Great recipe for new braces! I shredded some onion and sauteed the onion and garlic in butter. I added all the ingredients to my plain smashed potatoes (left over from another recipe). I did have to add some milk because I did not have any in my taters. The kids absolutely loved it and it was easy enough for my son, the kids with new braces, to eat. He was delighted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      I used to make these all the time for my family and everyone loved them. It's been a lot of years since I made them and could remember the recipe. But here you have it and I'm so glad I found it again. I couldn't remember if I was supposed to add an egg and onions or not. But after seeing your recipe, that jogged my memory...lol Thank you so much for sharing this. I always have lots of left over mashed potaoes. I sometimes will eat them with a meal or just snack on them, but I don't add the applesauce or yogart. I like them just plain and simple and they are so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      I grew up on left over mashed potatoes made into potato pancakes. Most people do away with the simplicity and make them quite complicated. Congrats on your delicious simple potato pancakes. This reicpe is much like mine. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Very good!! We had this with steamed broccoli tonight and it was a full meal! Perfect comfort food for a cold night! (the computer won't let me give it a star rating...sorry...It would be a five star).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Mashed Potato Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.9
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    12%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 97.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 670.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites