19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So glad to finally figure out what I was doing wrong! Made these with chopped onion (no green onion) and they turned out great! Hubby was very happy as he hadn't had "the" potato cakes like his grandma made for many years. He said these were perfect!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slvrsnoozi January 23, 2014

Way too much flour

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
milobob1 May 14, 2015

These were delicious, but perhaps just a tiny bit too salty (and I love salt, don't get me wrong! but I seem to prefer less in the batter so that you can salt the tops when they're cooked!). *delicious with plain greek yogurt (or sour cream)*! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen (OrrucNej) May 14, 2015

I used leftover stuffed potato filling with mashed potatoes, ham, spinach and pesto. Delicious. I have also added parmesan cheese which was also very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Halls January 25, 2015

5 stars plus!! These were so quick to make, so delicious, light texture and just the right amount of flavor. I used leftover spinach mashed potatoes and followed the recipe exactly. Serived with poached eggs and sausage. Thanks for sharing this great keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 02, 2014

I made them just as directed by your recipe, they were excellent. This is a definite keeper. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonnieK February 28, 2014

I have been making potato cakes for 54 years, and did pretty good, if I must say so.. but these are the best! Thanks for posting this recipe.. its going in my special file for use many many times..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou December 16, 2013

These were great! I had lots of leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving so I used some to make these potato cakes and we really liked them. Thanks for sharing, daisygrl64!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin mimi December 05, 2013

These were so good!!! I didn't have green onions or baking powder so I made them without but it didn't matter, they were still yummy!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coastiehoney November 03, 2013

Oh Yum...I wanted to make these to go with my catfish. I used instant mashed potatoes and they were perfect. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julkoz September 01, 2013
Leftover Mashed Potato Cakes