Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Lamb Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Lamb Curry

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2006

      This recipe is a good base, but I needed to spice it up a tad. To do so I substituted: butter with ghee; thyme for the chopped stems and roots of three coriander (cilantro) plants; 2 tablespoons of Madras curry paste for the curry powder. I then cooked one diced onion and four finely-chopped cloves of garlic in ghee on medium heat for about 10 mins. Add curry paste and simmer gently for about 5 mins. Add apple, celery, raisins, half a cup of chicken stock and 1 can of chopped tomatoes and simmer for 10 mins. Blend in food processor and return to pan and heat. Add diced lamb and simmer for 10 mins. Serve over Basmati rice garnished with chopped coriander leaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Fast and easy AND delicious. Great way to use leftover lamb. I did substitute lamb broth for the chicken. I just took the lamb bone and boiled it and added that broth to the sauce. This will be a dish I will make again and again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      What a great recipe for leftovers! I had leftover lamb roast and whipped this up for a quick, tasty dinner. Ready in no time and tastes good too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I used leftovers from Butterflied Leg of Lamb Masala for this curry. Enjoyed this very much, and I thought the seasonings were fine. We did not serve over rice, since we've had a lot of rice recently, but had flat bread on the side. Will probably make this again when I have lots of leftover lamb. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      Great recipe, easy quick and tasty. Also used it to make a beef curry. Perfect<br/>My forever curry recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2014

      Even with the suggestions of additions by previous posters, this was way to soupy for our tastes. I didn't use whole canned tomatoes but simply chopped fresh and still very liquid. <br/>I will try again but would use Garam Masala next time and would cut liquid by at least 1/3. Likely will puree some of the veg mix after cooking. I'd like to see a texture like butter chicken as a result. That said, Flavor overall was quite good.<br/>Served with Basmati rice and Pappadams (which I love!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      It is a good recipe to start with. Chopping the veggies up fine works well (I would NOT encourage putting them in a food processor - but you could if you didn't have the time to let them simmer and savor for an hour or so as this time of gentle cooking releases the flavor). If you have some fat and pan juices from the cooked lamb, do work with them. I added 1 tbsp. of fat to the butter when the veggies were sautéed and some pan juices to the chicken broth. Cilantro helps broaden the flavor profile (I added a few tsps. of dried Cilantro, but chopped fresh would be more attractive). One full 14 oz can of chopped tomatoes worked well, too. Keep your temperature down when you add the lamb (as it is already cooked and will get tough if you cook too aggressively). Worked up quickly and a nice meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      We had some leftover lamb that I wanted to use and found this recipe. My husband loved it. My teenage daughter thought the Curry was too strong. I love Curry, but also felt 2 tablespoons was too much. I added a can of chick peas which added another level of texture and flavor. I will definitely make this again, but will probably cut the amount of Curry and maybe add a little Sherry. A good recipe for using leftover lamb roast. Extends the roast for another meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      Good flavor, and much healthier than using a roux-based curry sauce. I like the addition of the apple in it, used an unpeeled Granny Smith;even after pureeing it had texture. Good with brown basmati rice and condiments of chutney, yogurt, chopped cucumber, and sliced banana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Splurged last winter and fixed roast leg of lamb for dinner with friends. Froze the leftovers, then wondered what to do with some nice slices and the leg bone, which still had some nice meat on it. Found this recipe and just finished having it for Sunday dinner. Wow, it was just perfect. Can't wait for another meal with the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      This recipe is very good and it has everything in place. love this one and my daughter enjoyed it also.

      thanks and keep up with the good work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      I made this today with yesterdays left over braised Lamb. It was absolutely delicious, it was so easy and only required ingredients that I always have in the cupboard anyway. So a really great, easy and quick curry to knock together. I did put it into the blender once the sauce was cooked BEFORE adding the meat, as we like a smoother sauce. My 11 year old son LOVED it to. A great one for the kids if you lessen the curry powder. I used 1 heaped tablespoon of medium curry powder. I also added 2 tablespoons of creme fresh when blending and I actually used more chopped tomatoes than stated. I will definitely be making this again and again.

      A BRILLIANT FAMILY RECIPE.

      Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I found this recipe when surfing for "low carb" meals and something to do with my leftover lamb chops. I made it exactly as posted and it is a keeper! Very different than the type of curry I would normally be attracted to (I do like a creamier type) but this was tasty, dimensional and very satisfying. I used lamb that was already seasoned with garlic and other spices and it didn't play well with the other curry flavors, so I suggest using meat or fish that has no other seasoning on it (except salt or pepper). I will be making this at least once a month. Thanks so much for posting such a delicious and versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Fabulous...used less curry (just incase my boys didn't like it) and served it over quinoa. This is a keeper! I will make it again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I've just cooked this with my leftover roast lamb. I was a little dubious if my children would like it, but they loved it!!!! Thanks alot, quick, easy and a brilliant way to use with leftovers, will be trying with chicken next i think!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      My new "go-to" recipe for leftover lamb! This was fantastic. The flavors and textures accented eash other nicely. I chose to leave the sauce chunky this time. Thanx for sharing this recipe! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Brilliant, easy recipe. I modifed adding corn & cumin to replace the apple and celery I did not have on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Very easy and tasty. I was worried since lamb is so expensive and I hated the idea of wasting it on a bad recipe, but there as no worry at all - this was great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Hubby and I both loved this dish. Spice was perfect! I made with beef broth instead of chicken and used fresh instead of canned tomatoes, and pureed all ingredients with the stick blender prior to adding the lamb. Thanks for the great recipe Irmgard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Lamb Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.5
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    50%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 190.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked lamb

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites