35 Reviews

This is a great comfort food recipe. Enough different from the normal augratin scalloped potatoes to make it a "different" meal. The only thing different I did from the recipe, when making the white sauce I added the cheese before the wine. It just infused the sauce with the cheese and it was fantastic! Thanks CountryLady we loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandikinhadley January 16, 2011

Thank you CountryLady - this is a great recipe. I made this recipe with leftover spiral cut ham from New Years Day. It really is like a torqued up scallop potatoes. Very good comfort food. I cut the recipe in half as there are only two of us and we already have so many leftovers, I did not want to add another leftover and risk it to be thrown away. I used a glass bread loaf pan which worked out perfectly. I'll post my pics. The onions were great in there. It could use something though - some spice to give it a little more pizzazz, I don't know if it would be the garlic powder that another reviewer mentioned or possibly some crushed red peppers on top. hmmm! I imagine experimenting with different cheeses would probably give me the 'over the top' taste for which I always strive. I willl be making this again and try gruyere cheese next time, yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita January 04, 2011

Looooove this dish!! I've made it 3 times. I think using white wine (not broth) will give you the most flavor from this dish. My kids (ages 9 & 10) enjoy it as much as my husband and I do. The recipe is very easy to make & the ingredients are simple and usually on-hand. I'll make this over & over again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kentraci1011 December 27, 2010

Made this tonight for dinner! Not even a spoonful left. It was a real hit! This one is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kwazeeK June 26, 2010

This hit the spot. I'll make this next time I have ham left over. I used really really good cheddar. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk May 07, 2010

My twins rated this 6 out of 5 stars they enjoyed it so much and they can't agree on anything! I loved that this was a great launching pad to use whatever is in the fridge. In fact, I used leftover fajita onions and peppers for the onions and I used pepper jack cheese and a few cheese curds left in my fridge. You can't botch this one! I loved that this did not use cream-of-anything soup. I baked in a 9x13 pan and used thinly sliced potatoes ended up with a great result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish the dish! December 31, 2009

This was a great way to use up leftovers. Good and easy comfort food. I did saute the onions first in a little bit of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treenickel December 06, 2009

This was very good. I really liked the wine in it. I added just a bit of garlic powder and sprinkled paprika on top after the foil came off. It fit my pan perfectly, looked great and tasted super. This one's a keeper for sure! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY August 04, 2009

Great way to use up leftovers. I used half white potatoes, and half sweet potatoes. A really tasty casserole and my house smells wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sk888888 February 15, 2009

We thought this was good, but I can see that garlic might help flavor it a little. I didn't have white wine open so I used red, but the flavor was nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle December 27, 2008
Leftover Ham Casserole