Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Ham & Cabbage Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Ham & Cabbage Casserole

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2003

      This tasted great! It was very easy to prepare and everyone liked it alot. I am sure I will be asked to fix it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Looking for a way to use up leftover Easter Ham from the freezer and came across this recipe, sure glad I did, very flavourful!!! Made half a recipe for the two of us. Just happened to have half a cabbage waiting to be used and some lovely little new potatoes. I used becel margarine and fresh parsley, the white wine gave it a lovely tang; turned out just great. DH loved it; me too and i will remember it next time I have left over ham. Thanks Bergy for another super keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This was definitely a great and tasty way to use leftover ham! I added a dash of red pepper flakes, just to fit our tastes but it really didn't need it. Thanks Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Oh my what a wonderful tasting dish. I had a head of cabbage that needed to be used and and left over spiral ham from Christmas. I picked this recipe. So glad I did
      I used white cooking wine and only 1/4 cup of it. I cut my potatoes into bite size pieces. Will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Was a little skeptical at first, but this recipe really surprised me. Followed the recipe with one exception, no potatoes. Definitely agree with "highplainsdrifter" in that it should be called a hash and took their advice and served it with a poached egg. My 9 yr old son was curious and asked for a taste, then another and finally got his own serving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is a great, simple recipe that requires little cooking skill and little prep time. I would definitely describe it more as a stir fry or a hash than a casserole. In fact, it is a great breakfast dish if you fry or poach a few eggs to go with it. My family traditionally eats cabbage with beef, and I found this recipe while searching for something to use up various leftovers in the fridge. It seems that most anything with garlic, onion, and wine is tasty, and this recipe is no exception. I made some variations, but like the original recipe enough to give it 3 solid stars. As my goal was to use up leftovers, I substituted red wine for white, and used rosemary instead of parsley. Also, I found that if you have some leftover cold baked potatos instead of raw ones, you can significantly reduce the cooking time and keep the cabbage from getting mushy. Anyway, good stuff, thanks for the idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Thanks for something new to do with ham leftovers and cabbage. I made the recipe mostly as is, substituting leftover sauce from the ham for the wine, as I didn't have any white on hand. This was very good, I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Exellent recipe for leftover ham, change of pace from scalloped potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I added another 1/2-1 cup white wine plus a can of cream of asparagus soup. Plus, I seasoned with HERBAMARE. Does anyone else use this? It's my very favorite spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      How very easy; simply delicious for a quick weeknight supper. I did cube the ham and brown with the onions to release the flavor. Made for The Christmas Spelling Bee in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      Was great in a pinch ,fast ,easy. Must try it as a next day meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Ham & Cabbage Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (555 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.0
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    15%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 70.8 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1849.5 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.1 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 37.2 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites