20 Reviews

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1 muffin
Amount Per Serving
Calories 200
Calories from Fat 77
Total Fat 8.6g
Saturated Fat 5.1g
Cholesterol 48mg
Sodium 174mg
Total Carbohydrates 29.7g
Dietary Fiber 0.7g
Sugars 19.0g
Protein 2.5g

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renee Mom2MiCaSa March 11, 2013

I was put off by the number of calories per muffin listed. I ran the ingredients through a calorie calculator, and they come out to about 250 calories each - NOT 600!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jschafin2 March 29, 2009

This is BY FAR the very best muffin I've ever made, and I've made thousands, lol. I just served these to my husband and kids about 10 minutes ago and they love them. I doubled the recipe, and the only change I made was in the amount of butter - at the last minute I realized I only had one stick of butter, and had all the rest of the ingredients mixed already (so no going back, lol), so I substituted a half a cup of applesauce for the second 1/2 cup of butter. They are marvelous! If I could give six stars, I would!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitcharen January 11, 2009

I shorted the brown sugar to 3/4 c and shorted the baking soda to 1/2 teasp and shorted the butter a little - used fresh blueberries instead of raisins: still VERY YUMMY! Husband loves them. The cooked oatmeal gives them some heft and a little chewy-ness. Delicious and so easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SELP cooks May 25, 2014

Fantastic recipe. My family gobbled them up. The second time around I added chopped apple, cinnamon and dried currants. We now make enough oatmeal to have leftovers just for these muffins. Don't be afraid to use whole wheat flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neckblad September 28, 2013

I tried it and found the muffins too sweet for my taste. Grandchildren didn't care for them either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grayrocker July 18, 2013

I always hated throwing away left over oatmeal. I'm so glad I've found this recipe. This recipe is delish!! I added dried cranberries and cinnamon. I'm making a second batch now since I had more leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
huneybee327 December 10, 2012

Outstanding! Great recipe for leftover oatmeal. Quaduapled recipe to freeze extras for hubsands lunches and snacks for kids. The only change I made was to use 1 cup melted butter and 1 cup applesauce to replace the other cup of butter, used the suggestion from another reviewer. Also didn't add raisins, my leftover oatmeal had raisins and cinnamon in it. Family loved them. They are delicious and moist. Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 July 16, 2011

I followed the recipe as stated, omitting the raisins and adding a teaspoon of cinnamon. As everyone in the house likes different things in their oatmeal, I used plain oats. The taste and texture were quite good. Not sure why, but they did not raise, making it next to impossible to get them out of the muffin tins. If I make them again, maybe I will use a loaf pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PsychNurse December 18, 2010

I had leftover barley so I replaced the oatmeal with barley and added 2 T. milk. Cut the brown sugar in half and added one banana mashed (next time will try 1/2 c. applesauce). I also cut back on the butter. I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/2 c. flaxseed. Then I replaced the raisins with blueberries. Other muffins I've altered came out heavy but these were light, delicious and healthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJ Powers June 10, 2010
Leftover Cooked Oatmeal Muffins