Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Cooked Oatmeal Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Cooked Oatmeal Muffins

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2013

      Nutrition Facts
      Serving Size 1 muffin
      Amount Per Serving
      Calories 200
      Calories from Fat 77
      Total Fat 8.6g
      Saturated Fat 5.1g
      Cholesterol 48mg
      Sodium 174mg
      Total Carbohydrates 29.7g
      Dietary Fiber 0.7g
      Sugars 19.0g
      Protein 2.5g

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I was put off by the number of calories per muffin listed. I ran the ingredients through a calorie calculator, and they come out to about 250 calories each - NOT 600!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is BY FAR the very best muffin I've ever made, and I've made thousands, lol. I just served these to my husband and kids about 10 minutes ago and they love them. I doubled the recipe, and the only change I made was in the amount of butter - at the last minute I realized I only had one stick of butter, and had all the rest of the ingredients mixed already (so no going back, lol), so I substituted a half a cup of applesauce for the second 1/2 cup of butter. They are marvelous! If I could give six stars, I would!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      I shorted the brown sugar to 3/4 c and shorted the baking soda to 1/2 teasp and shorted the butter a little - used fresh blueberries instead of raisins: still VERY YUMMY! Husband loves them. The cooked oatmeal gives them some heft and a little chewy-ness. Delicious and so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Fantastic recipe. My family gobbled them up. The second time around I added chopped apple, cinnamon and dried currants. We now make enough oatmeal to have leftovers just for these muffins. Don't be afraid to use whole wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      I tried it and found the muffins too sweet for my taste. Grandchildren didn't care for them either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      I always hated throwing away left over oatmeal. I'm so glad I've found this recipe. This recipe is delish!! I added dried cranberries and cinnamon. I'm making a second batch now since I had more leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Outstanding! Great recipe for leftover oatmeal. Quaduapled recipe to freeze extras for hubsands lunches and snacks for kids. The only change I made was to use 1 cup melted butter and 1 cup applesauce to replace the other cup of butter, used the suggestion from another reviewer. Also didn't add raisins, my leftover oatmeal had raisins and cinnamon in it. Family loved them. They are delicious and moist. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I followed the recipe as stated, omitting the raisins and adding a teaspoon of cinnamon. As everyone in the house likes different things in their oatmeal, I used plain oats. The taste and texture were quite good. Not sure why, but they did not raise, making it next to impossible to get them out of the muffin tins. If I make them again, maybe I will use a loaf pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I had leftover barley so I replaced the oatmeal with barley and added 2 T. milk. Cut the brown sugar in half and added one banana mashed (next time will try 1/2 c. applesauce). I also cut back on the butter. I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/2 c. flaxseed. Then I replaced the raisins with blueberries. Other muffins I've altered came out heavy but these were light, delicious and healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      These were great! I doubled the recipe and used 2c. of leftover steel cut oatmeal. I replaced the brown sugar with 1c. Rapadura & 1/2c. raw honey. I used 1c. unbleached flour & 1c. Sprouted Spelt flour. Baked them for 15 minutes and it made 24 muffins we ALL enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Great recipe! I did cut the brown sugar in half and replace half the butter with mashed banana while omitting the raisins and adding a tablespoon of ground flax seed. In place of the white flour I used whole wheat pastry flour. We ended up with a delicate moist textured muffin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      These are just fabulous. Used leftover slowcooked steel-cut oats. Heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      These are pretty close to the muffins I've been buying from the Publix bakery. Now I can make them from home. Delicious! I'm definitely making these again and again. I used 1/2 c. whole wheat & 1/2 c. white flour. I used 1/4 c. butter & 1/4 c. olive oil. I only used 1/2 c. brown sugar. I added 1 heaping Tbsp. flax seed. Instead of raisins I added 1/3 c. toasted walnuts and 1/2 c. crasins. I added nutmeg, cloves, cinnamin, and ginger. I will also try these with diced apples and golden raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Really delicious! Much better use of leftover oatmeal than some of the cookie recipes I've seen. I reduce the butter a bit and I add in choc. chips, coconut, and flax meal. I reduced the sugar a bit too, and they're still delish. I did find I had to cook them quite a lot longer than 18 minutes but maybe mine are a bit larger b/c I also only yeilded 9 muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      These are GREAT! I made them with white whole wheat flour and added raisins and walnuts. I also cut the sugar in half and they were still plenty sweet. I'll probably reduce the sugar even further next time. I'll be making these often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      My family loves these. I freeze 1 cup portions of leftover oatmeal and thaw the night before. We also use only 1/2 the sugar and butter and the muffins are still wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This is worth making and not eating oatmeal for (ignore that dangling preposition). I did as a previous reviewer suggested and added craisins and coconut. The taste and texture were really great. And the food economy angle ROCKS! In terms of decadent muffins, I do epicurious' mix-in muffins (gobs of butter and sour cream, plus fruit/spices of choice), but these are really, really nice. Really! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I used half wheat/half white and left out raisins (forgot vanilla but didn't miss it). These were VERY moist muffins, so that I had to bake for another 5 minutes and they were still soft on top. Very nice, sweet muffins. Not heavy. I don't put in extras, as my family wouldn't eat them then, so they made 12 muffins. Might try it with honey instead of brown sugar and less butter (to reduce the liquid).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      We really love these muffins! We make overnight oatmeal once a week and then use the rest of the oatmeal making these muffins. We put in lots of sunflower seeds and nuts as well as craisins and shredded unsweetened coconut and the kids just gobble them up. We also save a few to give to neighbors and friends and they are rapidly becoming very popular. Being as frugal as we are, this is a great way to stretch the food budget and have a really delicious breakfast at the same time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Cooked Oatmeal Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.3
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    39%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 233.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites