20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! I added more salsa to mine, but my husband loved it as written. The chicken I used was leftover mojo rotisserie. Once in indiviual bowls, I tossed mine mixing all the flavors. The result was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjrcoralsands June 26, 2008

My husband and I look forward to leftover chicken now. And it presents nice enough that we even invite friends over. Thanks, this has become a regular in our house now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VIVNS March 03, 2008

Great and easy. Awesome summer meal. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ham.iam July 18, 2007

I was looking for something to make with leftover chicken. I found this recipe doing a google search. My husband and I both loved it. Tonight I'm taking the leftovers (I mixed it with the lettuce per serving) and using them along with cheddar cheese as topping for baked potatoes. I'll let you know how that turns out. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe Heather. 7/5/07: Last night I used the leftover bean, corn, chicken (No lettuce this time) mixture to top baked potatoes. After the potatoes were baked, I split them and sprinkled them with reduced fat cheddar. I then melted that and spooned the bean, corn, chicken mixture on top.. It was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef WebPro July 05, 2007

I made this salad for my husband for dinner last night (I did not have a serving because I was already full). My husband loved it - he ate two big servings for dinner last night, THEN I found him packing up the leftovers for his lunch today! He especially enjoyed it with the dallop of sour cream on top, so I highly recommend not skipping this garnish. I had a few samll tastes, while making it, and also found it to be a treat to my palatte! I did marinade the leftover chicken in some chile powder, cayanne pepper, and a small amount of lime juice and olive oil, which gave the chicken a bit of a fajita flavor, which I think worked well with this salad. I also used a lot more cheese, just based on our preference. I was not sure if I would like the dressing, as I usually like Catalina dressing on Mexican salads, but I was plesantly surprised at how good this was, especially with the dallop of sour cream. Thnaks for sharing a great way to use up leftover chicken, and a wonderful salad to use under any circumstances - I will for sure be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helping Hands March 16, 2007

We really enjoyed this! I added extra salsa and some fresh tomatoes to my dressing (as my salsa wasn't chunky). I skipped the cheese and added avocado instead. I tossed the lettuce in my light buttermilk ranch dressing and then topped it with the rest of the stuff and crunched up chips on the top. I will certainly make this filling salad again! UPDATE: I made this again today and followed the directions to a "T" EXCEPT that I only mixed the dressing with the chicken, corn and beans (and then just put it atop shredded lettuce with no dressing). So then on night 2 I was looking at the leftovers (chicken, corn and beans with the dressing) and turned it into a Mexican soup - oh yes I did and it was wonderful. Just added about 6 cups of chicken stock, 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of green chilis, some extra corn and some cooked carrots. I then added Taco seasoning to taste - about 1 Tbsp of it. It was devine!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 13, 2011

I had leftover roasted chicken and googled "leftover chicken" like another reviewer did. This recipe popped up. I am not typically a fan of "baroque" salads (salads with lots of ingredients) but I said "what the heck, I have all the ingredients listed".

Oh my God what an awesome salad! I am eating it now. It tastes so good!

I followed the recipe exactly (which is what I wish other reviewers would do before rating something).

I'm thinking this would be great in a wrap!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dudefood July 10, 2011

This was a good salad but the dressing is what makes it unique. I think I will be making this often on those hot summer days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids March 14, 2011

I needed something to do with the leftover chicken from my roaster and I didn't want to do the bazillion calorie pot pies or chicken salads. I literally googled "what do do with leftovers from roast chicken" and this awesome list came up on recipezaar (which is usually my first stop anyhow.) This was SUPER simple and super good. Light for the nice weather and filling. I will lightly salt next time as the black beans needed it a bit and I DOUBLED the salsa in the dressing since we're big salsa fans - the spicier the better! I used multigrain tortillas and opted to leave off the cheese and sour cream (non dairy household) This was the fastest meal I've ever made! It took me about 4 minutes to make and serve!! That is my kind of Monday night meal!!! THANKS!!! Hubby and I loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shandobando April 12, 2010

Who thought you needed a recipe for a salad? I think the secret here is in the dressing, and it's yummy! I wouldn't use the creamy Italian, as it looks weird, even if it tastes the same. I have taken this to work several days already, and it's so good! I add a handful of "salad" veggies, whatever I have chopped up (to up the healthy factor), and I keep the greens separate until I'm ready to eat. I combine and get a crispy crunchy salad with lots of dressing and fiber to keep me full during the work day. This is a great way to use up leftovers in the fridge!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyJenn June 15, 2009
Leftover Chicken Santa Fe Salad