Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Chicken Santa Fe Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Chicken Santa Fe Salad

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2008

      Excellent! I added more salsa to mine, but my husband loved it as written. The chicken I used was leftover mojo rotisserie. Once in indiviual bowls, I tossed mine mixing all the flavors. The result was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      My husband and I look forward to leftover chicken now. And it presents nice enough that we even invite friends over. Thanks, this has become a regular in our house now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Great and easy. Awesome summer meal. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I was looking for something to make with leftover chicken. I found this recipe doing a google search. My husband and I both loved it. Tonight I'm taking the leftovers (I mixed it with the lettuce per serving) and using them along with cheddar cheese as topping for baked potatoes. I'll let you know how that turns out. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe Heather. 7/5/07: Last night I used the leftover bean, corn, chicken (No lettuce this time) mixture to top baked potatoes. After the potatoes were baked, I split them and sprinkled them with reduced fat cheddar. I then melted that and spooned the bean, corn, chicken mixture on top.. It was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I made this salad for my husband for dinner last night (I did not have a serving because I was already full). My husband loved it - he ate two big servings for dinner last night, THEN I found him packing up the leftovers for his lunch today! He especially enjoyed it with the dallop of sour cream on top, so I highly recommend not skipping this garnish. I had a few samll tastes, while making it, and also found it to be a treat to my palatte! I did marinade the leftover chicken in some chile powder, cayanne pepper, and a small amount of lime juice and olive oil, which gave the chicken a bit of a fajita flavor, which I think worked well with this salad. I also used a lot more cheese, just based on our preference. I was not sure if I would like the dressing, as I usually like Catalina dressing on Mexican salads, but I was plesantly surprised at how good this was, especially with the dallop of sour cream. Thnaks for sharing a great way to use up leftover chicken, and a wonderful salad to use under any circumstances - I will for sure be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      We really enjoyed this! I added extra salsa and some fresh tomatoes to my dressing (as my salsa wasn't chunky). I skipped the cheese and added avocado instead. I tossed the lettuce in my light buttermilk ranch dressing and then topped it with the rest of the stuff and crunched up chips on the top. I will certainly make this filling salad again! UPDATE: I made this again today and followed the directions to a "T" EXCEPT that I only mixed the dressing with the chicken, corn and beans (and then just put it atop shredded lettuce with no dressing). So then on night 2 I was looking at the leftovers (chicken, corn and beans with the dressing) and turned it into a Mexican soup - oh yes I did and it was wonderful. Just added about 6 cups of chicken stock, 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of green chilis, some extra corn and some cooked carrots. I then added Taco seasoning to taste - about 1 Tbsp of it. It was devine!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      I had leftover roasted chicken and googled "leftover chicken" like another reviewer did. This recipe popped up. I am not typically a fan of "baroque" salads (salads with lots of ingredients) but I said "what the heck, I have all the ingredients listed".

      Oh my God what an awesome salad! I am eating it now. It tastes so good!

      I followed the recipe exactly (which is what I wish other reviewers would do before rating something).

      I'm thinking this would be great in a wrap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This was a good salad but the dressing is what makes it unique. I think I will be making this often on those hot summer days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I needed something to do with the leftover chicken from my roaster and I didn't want to do the bazillion calorie pot pies or chicken salads. I literally googled "what do do with leftovers from roast chicken" and this awesome list came up on recipezaar (which is usually my first stop anyhow.) This was SUPER simple and super good. Light for the nice weather and filling. I will lightly salt next time as the black beans needed it a bit and I DOUBLED the salsa in the dressing since we're big salsa fans - the spicier the better! I used multigrain tortillas and opted to leave off the cheese and sour cream (non dairy household) This was the fastest meal I've ever made! It took me about 4 minutes to make and serve!! That is my kind of Monday night meal!!! THANKS!!! Hubby and I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Who thought you needed a recipe for a salad? I think the secret here is in the dressing, and it's yummy! I wouldn't use the creamy Italian, as it looks weird, even if it tastes the same. I have taken this to work several days already, and it's so good! I add a handful of "salad" veggies, whatever I have chopped up (to up the healthy factor), and I keep the greens separate until I'm ready to eat. I combine and get a crispy crunchy salad with lots of dressing and fiber to keep me full during the work day. This is a great way to use up leftovers in the fridge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

    • on November 10, 2007

      This is a super-quick, tasty weeknight meal. And - so versatile! I used some leftover dressing from Mexican Salad instead of the Italian-salsa mix, but layered in some spoonfuls of salsa as well. I had baked some chicken breasts with fajita seasoning the night before, so this came together quickly - just chopping the chicken, and layering the ingredients on plates for me & DH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Delicious! My whole family loved it - even my 8 year old son, who doesn't usually like salad. I used Paul Newman's mild chunky salsa and a mixture of both creamy and regular lowfat Italian dressing. I used 3 fresh key limes and it was a great flavor. We used two leftover grilled chicken breasts & blue corn chips. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      This was fantastic! I'm a big fan of the no cook entree in the summer...I used President's Choice sliced pre-cooked frozen chicken breasts. For the dressing I used the Italian dressing and doubled the salsa leaving the lime juice as is. The one thing I did that pleased me afterwards was to keep the salad greens separate from the chicken, beans and corn & dressing mixture (this way any leftovers wouldn't be full of soggy greens!). I laid down the greens, topped with the chicken mixture added the sour cream and topped the whole thing with some shredded cheddar. I added the tortilla chips on the side so they wouldn't get mushy. I've already added this to my regular rotation, Thanks HeatherFeather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      This was an awesome recipe. I used Fat Free Catalina dressing in place of Ranch and it was really awesome! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      This was great! I must admit to some changes: I did not use leftover chicken. I sliced the chicken thinly on the diagonal and dredged it through panko breadcrumbs that were seasoned with crushed red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, and cumin. I used Ranch dressing in place of the Italian, doubling the amounts of the dressing and salsa, but left the lime juice the same (it was still very tangy). I omitted the sour cream since I used Ranch dressing. I used frozen corn, and some of the Kraft Crumbles. I also used tortilla strips on top of the salad instead of using whole chips as a base. This salad was great! Even my son ate it (with the addition of sliced black olives). I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

    • on September 14, 2004

      This was so easy to put together. I just happened to have black beans and canned corn and was trying to find a good dinner salad to make with them. I ended up making two chicken breasts with southwest seasoning and chopped instead of shredded. I put the beans, corn, and doubled the salsa and Italian dressing together with the chicken chunks and waited for the DH to come home. When he did I just tossed it with the romaine I had chopped up with some chunked cheddar cheese. This was great. My DH will insist I make this again. Thanks Heather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      I must agree with Paula - this is a fabulous entree to serve on a hot day! I scaled the recipe for 2 diners & opted for whole wheat crusty rolls rather than tortilla chips; otherwise, I followed the instructions. Thanx Heather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2004

      Today was in the 90's and what a wonderful dish to fix for dinner. No cooking required. I changed the presentation by placing the salad greens on each serving plate, topping with chicken mixture, touch more salsa and low-fat sour cream then sprinkled cheddar cheese on top. The plate was then lined with the tortilla chips. It was very tasty. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Chicken Santa Fe Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (274 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 458.8
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    33%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 54.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 426.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.6 g
    38%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed salad greens

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites