40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this recipe as a base and substituted with ingredients that were in my pantry. I used canned chicken, too much thyme, and a italian cheese blend. If it wouldn't have put too much thyme in I think I would have enjoyed it more, it sure is different and nice not to have to have a cream of something soup. With the right ingredients I will remake this, thank you for a different casserole that was easy to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore October 03, 2012

Probably the best version of Chicken and Rice Casserole that I've had. We used some store bought grilled chicken I had in the freezer. Would also be great if you buy rotisserie chickens when they're on sale.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 September 04, 2012

Delicious! I made this with turkey. I made some very minor changes based on what I had on hand. Will be making this again. I did use 1 1/2 tsp. of dried Thyme and 2 tbsp of Dijon mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evening April 17, 2012

This sounded good, but for me the thyme was way to overpowering. If I make it again, I think I'll substitute the thyme with Italian seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WildLightning January 30, 2012

Great tasting recipe! I used green pepper instead of red because that is what I had on hand. Also used champagne cheddar for the same reason...... This recipe is a keeper! very tasty!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boopsmom June 19, 2011

Having to feed a fussy family is very challenging, so with this recipe I wasnt too sure how they would go with the mustard and thyme, so I just used cajun seasoning instead. I even took a gamble and doubled the recipe, ok so miss 14yr old picked out the caps and onion, everyone loved it and had seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassowary May 16, 2011

This was okay. I ended up eating the whole thing by myself over the week bringing for lunch. Actually was probably a little better reheated. Overall, good, not great but worked well to use up some turkey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 January 08, 2010

Mediocre

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkgander January 02, 2010

This went over very well, in fact I was asked to make a second back with the rest of the leftover turkey the next night. I did add more than double the cheddar cheese from what was called for, about double the mustard and garlic, and I used a vegetable medley instead of the corn and bell pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth K - Psuedo Chef December 07, 2009

I used a lot of different stuff so I wont use a star rating. I used green bell pepper, and a whole mess of cheese I had lying around...cream cheese, Parmesan, smoked gouda, and some huntsman, which is a combination of cheddar and blue. I also left out the garlic and corn. It was a pretty bland even with the mustard, thyme, and chicken stock. Maybe it would have been more flavorful if I had used just cheddar. I got rid of all of my leftover turkey but I probably wont make this again. Thanks for the idea though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoniBush December 01, 2009
Leftover Chicken or Turkey Rice Casserole