41 Reviews

I used. Italian seasoning, as others did. Instead of thyme. Also used sharp cheddar cheese in the casserole and topping Very enjoyable meal. Thank You.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plainbil May 10, 2013

Loved this recipe :D I used 1tsp of dried thyme (as some reviews suggested the 1 1/2tsp was too much) and 1tbsp of course grain mustard. I also mixed in a tsp of parmesan into the rice, and added some mushroom, courgette and chopped fine green beans. Love it and will keep it for future use. Thank you. x

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully February 09, 2012

Red capsicum is red bell pepper - a sweet pepper, not chile. I made it as listed, and seasoned it with seasoning salt, dijon mustard (not bright yellow American mustard) and used cheddar cheese (which is what is referred as tasty cheese). Just add some cracked black pepper and salt to taste and this is delicious. Thanks! It was kid friendly too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Freckles November 28, 2009

We loved it! I used green beans instead of pepper and corn just because that's what I had on hand. And I'd like to echo the other comments that it was nice not to have any cream soup in this recipe. We'll definitely be making it again, but next time I'll try not to forget the mustard.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sCookin February 10, 2014

Having to feed a fussy family is very challenging, so with this recipe I wasnt too sure how they would go with the mustard and thyme, so I just used cajun seasoning instead. I even took a gamble and doubled the recipe, ok so miss 14yr old picked out the caps and onion, everyone loved it and had seconds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassowary May 16, 2011

I used a lot of different stuff so I wont use a star rating. I used green bell pepper, and a whole mess of cheese I had lying around...cream cheese, Parmesan, smoked gouda, and some huntsman, which is a combination of cheddar and blue. I also left out the garlic and corn. It was a pretty bland even with the mustard, thyme, and chicken stock. Maybe it would have been more flavorful if I had used just cheddar. I got rid of all of my leftover turkey but I probably wont make this again. Thanks for the idea though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoniBush December 01, 2009

100% FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! MY MOM AND I ARE CRAZY ABOUT THIS RECIPE!!!! We used turkey. We didn't have thyme, so we used Italian seasoning. This is FANTASTIC!!! We happened to have leftover rice and we used that. Left out the mustard, too, as our family doesn't like it much as a seasoning. Love that it only bakes for 20 minutes! We used the temp conversion on the internet and found out that 180 degrees Celsius is equal to about 350-355 degrees Farenheit. This is definately a make-again-several-times recipe!!! VERY VERY VERY DELICIOUS!!!! UPDATE: 2-1-09 Tried this again and was very dissappointed! It was very bland, but then again we didn't have any peppers so what the heck, it was probably because of that. :S

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita February 01, 2009

This had a very good flavor, and was quite easy to prepare. Only problem I had was that it had a little too much liquid, next time I will cut back on the chicken stock. Otherwise, will try again. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser June 25, 2008

Thank you! I used steamed broccoli (undercooked) and feta cheese. This was YUMMY! We will make it again, but likely with chicken and oregano, since that is more our everyday fare. Happy Holidays!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse December 09, 2007

This is just terrific, we really enjoyed it! I had two turkey breasts that I used up and also used brown rice and green capsicum as that was all I had on hand. My DH and my 6 year old gobbled it right up. We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe, thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ March 15, 2007
Leftover Chicken or Turkey Rice Casserole