Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leftover Chicken or Turkey Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leftover Chicken or Turkey Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2013

      I used. Italian seasoning, as others did. Instead of thyme. Also used sharp cheddar cheese in the casserole and topping Very enjoyable meal. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Loved this recipe :D I used 1tsp of dried thyme (as some reviews suggested the 1 1/2tsp was too much) and 1tbsp of course grain mustard. I also mixed in a tsp of parmesan into the rice, and added some mushroom, courgette and chopped fine green beans. Love it and will keep it for future use. Thank you. x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Red capsicum is red bell pepper - a sweet pepper, not chile. I made it as listed, and seasoned it with seasoning salt, dijon mustard (not bright yellow American mustard) and used cheddar cheese (which is what is referred as tasty cheese). Just add some cracked black pepper and salt to taste and this is delicious. Thanks! It was kid friendly too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      100% FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! MY MOM AND I ARE CRAZY ABOUT THIS RECIPE!!!! We used turkey. We didn't have thyme, so we used Italian seasoning. This is FANTASTIC!!! We happened to have leftover rice and we used that. Left out the mustard, too, as our family doesn't like it much as a seasoning. Love that it only bakes for 20 minutes! We used the temp conversion on the internet and found out that 180 degrees Celsius is equal to about 350-355 degrees Farenheit. This is definately a make-again-several-times recipe!!! VERY VERY VERY DELICIOUS!!!! UPDATE: 2-1-09 Tried this again and was very dissappointed! It was very bland, but then again we didn't have any peppers so what the heck, it was probably because of that. :S

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      This had a very good flavor, and was quite easy to prepare. Only problem I had was that it had a little too much liquid, next time I will cut back on the chicken stock. Otherwise, will try again. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2014

      Very good, Getting ready to make this again I did mix some Italian bread crumb with butter for a topping, Great idea for left overs, Has a mild flavor but can be seasoned up or down. Thank you so much for this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      This was excellent! It was delicious and easy. I followed this as directed, except that I started the recipe in a cast iron frying pan, followed the directions and topped it with cheese right in the frying pan. Stuck the whole thing in the oven and only had one pan to wash. I loved that the turkey didn't get dried out cooking it this way. I used a Mexican blend cheese that I had left from a dinner a couple nights ago. This was devoured by my three kids, husband and I and they were asking for seconds...there weren't any. I know that I need to double this for leftovers after Thanksgiving next year! Thanks **Mandy**!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      The Reviews on this casserole were bang on...it is very tasty and delicious. It is especially versatile because you can chicken or turkey, spice it up more or make it thick or just creamier! I love the fact there is mustard in it, I used a hot German mustard I found in the fridge. Red peppers go very well with poultry so I would recommend leaving these in, and not substituting green peppers. Make it and love it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      We loved it! I used green beans instead of pepper and corn just because that's what I had on hand. And I'd like to echo the other comments that it was nice not to have any cream soup in this recipe. We'll definitely be making it again, but next time I'll try not to forget the mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Everyone loved it. Used more garlic & cheese in rice. Turned out like an easy, yummy risotto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      I used this recipe as a base and substituted with ingredients that were in my pantry. I used canned chicken, too much thyme, and a italian cheese blend. If it wouldn't have put too much thyme in I think I would have enjoyed it more, it sure is different and nice not to have to have a cream of something soup. With the right ingredients I will remake this, thank you for a different casserole that was easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Probably the best version of Chicken and Rice Casserole that I've had. We used some store bought grilled chicken I had in the freezer. Would also be great if you buy rotisserie chickens when they're on sale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Delicious! I made this with turkey. I made some very minor changes based on what I had on hand. Will be making this again. I did use 1 1/2 tsp. of dried Thyme and 2 tbsp of Dijon mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      This sounded good, but for me the thyme was way to overpowering. If I make it again, I think I'll substitute the thyme with Italian seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      Great tasting recipe! I used green pepper instead of red because that is what I had on hand. Also used champagne cheddar for the same reason...... This recipe is a keeper! very tasty!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Having to feed a fussy family is very challenging, so with this recipe I wasnt too sure how they would go with the mustard and thyme, so I just used cajun seasoning instead. I even took a gamble and doubled the recipe, ok so miss 14yr old picked out the caps and onion, everyone loved it and had seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This was okay. I ended up eating the whole thing by myself over the week bringing for lunch. Actually was probably a little better reheated. Overall, good, not great but worked well to use up some turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Mediocre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This went over very well, in fact I was asked to make a second back with the rest of the leftover turkey the next night. I did add more than double the cheddar cheese from what was called for, about double the mustard and garlic, and I used a vegetable medley instead of the corn and bell pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I used a lot of different stuff so I wont use a star rating. I used green bell pepper, and a whole mess of cheese I had lying around...cream cheese, Parmesan, smoked gouda, and some huntsman, which is a combination of cheddar and blue. I also left out the garlic and corn. It was a pretty bland even with the mustard, thyme, and chicken stock. Maybe it would have been more flavorful if I had used just cheddar. I got rid of all of my leftover turkey but I probably wont make this again. Thanks for the idea though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leftover Chicken or Turkey Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 450.4
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    38%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 82.4 mg
    27%
    Sodium 477.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 27.7 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes