40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used. Italian seasoning, as others did. Instead of thyme. Also used sharp cheddar cheese in the casserole and topping Very enjoyable meal. Thank You.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plainbil May 10, 2013

Loved this recipe :D I used 1tsp of dried thyme (as some reviews suggested the 1 1/2tsp was too much) and 1tbsp of course grain mustard. I also mixed in a tsp of parmesan into the rice, and added some mushroom, courgette and chopped fine green beans. Love it and will keep it for future use. Thank you. x

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rasully February 09, 2012

Red capsicum is red bell pepper - a sweet pepper, not chile. I made it as listed, and seasoned it with seasoning salt, dijon mustard (not bright yellow American mustard) and used cheddar cheese (which is what is referred as tasty cheese). Just add some cracked black pepper and salt to taste and this is delicious. Thanks! It was kid friendly too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Freckles November 28, 2009

100% FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! MY MOM AND I ARE CRAZY ABOUT THIS RECIPE!!!! We used turkey. We didn't have thyme, so we used Italian seasoning. This is FANTASTIC!!! We happened to have leftover rice and we used that. Left out the mustard, too, as our family doesn't like it much as a seasoning. Love that it only bakes for 20 minutes! We used the temp conversion on the internet and found out that 180 degrees Celsius is equal to about 350-355 degrees Farenheit. This is definately a make-again-several-times recipe!!! VERY VERY VERY DELICIOUS!!!! UPDATE: 2-1-09 Tried this again and was very dissappointed! It was very bland, but then again we didn't have any peppers so what the heck, it was probably because of that. :S

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita February 01, 2009

This had a very good flavor, and was quite easy to prepare. Only problem I had was that it had a little too much liquid, next time I will cut back on the chicken stock. Otherwise, will try again. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser June 25, 2008

Very good, Getting ready to make this again I did mix some Italian bread crumb with butter for a topping, Great idea for left overs, Has a mild flavor but can be seasoned up or down. Thank you so much for this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelfan December 09, 2014

This was excellent! It was delicious and easy. I followed this as directed, except that I started the recipe in a cast iron frying pan, followed the directions and topped it with cheese right in the frying pan. Stuck the whole thing in the oven and only had one pan to wash. I loved that the turkey didn't get dried out cooking it this way. I used a Mexican blend cheese that I had left from a dinner a couple nights ago. This was devoured by my three kids, husband and I and they were asking for seconds...there weren't any. I know that I need to double this for leftovers after Thanksgiving next year! Thanks **Mandy**!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely November 29, 2014

The Reviews on this casserole were bang on...it is very tasty and delicious. It is especially versatile because you can chicken or turkey, spice it up more or make it thick or just creamier! I love the fact there is mustard in it, I used a hot German mustard I found in the fridge. Red peppers go very well with poultry so I would recommend leaving these in, and not substituting green peppers. Make it and love it !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HENRIETTA BURNS May 02, 2014

We loved it! I used green beans instead of pepper and corn just because that's what I had on hand. And I'd like to echo the other comments that it was nice not to have any cream soup in this recipe. We'll definitely be making it again, but next time I'll try not to forget the mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sCookin February 10, 2014

Everyone loved it. Used more garlic & cheese in rice. Turned out like an easy, yummy risotto!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ookalay November 18, 2012
Leftover Chicken or Turkey Rice Casserole