Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leeks in Cheese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leeks in Cheese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2011

      I loved the cheese sauce, it was perfect. This was my first time eating leeks au gratin and I quite liked it, but found the leeks a bit stronger tasting than I thought they would be. I will certainly make this again and I thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      I used leeks from my garden and they were on the small side so I had much more sauce than leeks. The sauce was very good and I agree it would be good with any vegetable. I also think I would saute the leeks next time for just a little extra flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This was to die for! I actually used 3 leaks and added a red pepper and a package of mushrooms (which I sauteed and lightly drained first). I can see using this cream and cheese base with almost any vegetable combination. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      This was delicious! The sauce was nice and light and flavorful, with just the right amount of cheese. I sauteed rather than boiled my leeks, and they came out wonderful... tender and flavorful. Hubby loved it. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      so tasty! we also used one very big leek and kept the rest the same and it was fantastic. there was enough sauce to throw in some green beans too! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      This is soooo delicious! I've made this a couple times before (I forgot to review it - oops!) and I think I may make it again tonight. It's a big hit. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      A very nice recipe for leeks - we enjoyed this one a lot. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      I used 1 very large leek and half the amount of sauce to get 3 generous servings. I halved the milk in the sauce, but left everything else as written-I think 25g of butter and flour with 450ml of milk would end up too thin a sauce for our liking but it was perfect with half the milk. The flavourings of the suace were subtle, but different, you did know they were there. We really loved this thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      Although we've grown leeks in our garden and I've added them to soups & stews, I've never had them as a side-dish before. I scaled the recipe in half, used 1% milk, mild cheddar & garlic cloves; we thoroughly enjoyed this with grilled steak & baked taters. Thanx Minx for another repeater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      The Netherlands is another country where leeks are eaten alot, often with a cheese sauce. This was an excellent recipe. Subtle flavours and cooking times spot-on.Thanks Minx!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      This recipe was very good. My husband and I had never had leeks before and he is somewhat picky but he loved this dish. I plan on making it again...tonight

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      Very good. I scaled this down for one person. Nice subtle flavor, I got two servings from this, using one large leek. Thanks for posting! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leeks in Cheese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.1
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    55%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 57.6 mg
    19%
    Sodium 315.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites