Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Leek and Potato Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Leek and Potato Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2003

      Loved this dish and yes it does smell heavenly. I used skim milk and it worked well. Next time I will mince any of the green part of the leek that I use or omit it all together. I like the color contrast but when you slice the green it goes very limp during cooking and does not add to the presentation. I thought of adding some cheddar cheese on top but since I was cutting back on fat (skim milk) I didn't add any but I think it would be very good or some parmesan. thanks Angfela Sara

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      To those that found the recipe a little tasteless, try varying it as follows: Saute the leeks first in butter with a pinch of rosemary and sea salt. Instead of using just plain milk, add 2 cloves of finely chopped/minced garlic to about 150mL of milk and add about 150mL of double cream (this ensures the texture of the sauce is creamier instead of just milky). Season the top layer with cracked pepper prior to baking. Sprinkle some grated cheese over the bake once it is ready and put back into the oven for a further 10 minutes, or until the cheese has melted. I just made mine this way and it's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Just slices of leek and potato swimming in bland milk "sauce". Disappointing :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Worked a treat.Next time would try rolling bread slightly to flatten before using. Would be good with other veggies...mushrooms & leeks?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      Lovely

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      Great recipe, even my husband who isn't fond of leeks, ate a lot of it. Really simple! Thanks fo a great recipe I will certainly use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      good & simple potatoe dish to fix. i was able to cut down on the baking time by pre-boiling the sliced potatoes in some salted water for 5 or so minutes. baked for 45 min. and during the last few min. of baking i sprinkled a few breadcrumbs on top for a nice crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      This dish was good but we found it a little lacking in taste. I used more butter than was called for but it still didn't seem to be enough. On a good note I put the leftovers in the crockpot with some chicken broth and made a pretty good potato/leek soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Leek and Potato Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (444 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.8
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    21%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 111.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes