10 Reviews

We had this for dinner tonight. It was ok, but seemed a little bland. If I were to make it again, I would probably saute the leeks and carrots prior to adding the broth to give it more depth. And would probably add some herbs for more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DbKnadler January 29, 2012

I used homemade turkey stock for this soup that I already had, added chopped garlic because I add garlic to most dishes and some whey (from my yoghurt making) for protein. After the veggies were sufficiently soft I pureed using my hand blender. To get my boys to eat it they ended up adding lots of saltines and quite a bit of raita and homemade yoghurt, their vote was "meh" and don't really want me to make it again. Having said that I will likely make it, with alterations, for myself for lunches. Without the raita it was rather bland, so that will definitely be a must to add to the bowl before eating. I was probably more a 3 1/2 with the soup, but the the ingredient amounts were unclear, fluid ounces are not really appropriate for solid food and weight requires a scale, a kitchen gadget not everyone owns so I rounded down rather than up. Like kiwidutch says, personal preference is the key though, the ingredients appealed to me and I'm glad I tried it. With a few changes it'll be a keeper for me, if not my boys. My rating system (newly developed) is on my profile if that helps at all. Thanks for posting. Made for TOTM's Soup-Fest 2011 tag game. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Ducky!! February 23, 2011

I don't know if it's because Hubby used half homemade vegetable stock and half water (he didn't find the rest of the stock in the back of the freezer) or if this is just a soup that didn't suit our tastes so well. We didn't use milk, preferring au natural, but both and I found this one "just ok". Personal preference is everything though as attested to the other reviews. Please see my rating system, an edible soup but not one that suits our taste, that said I'm please to have tried it. Thanks Anneleis!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 03, 2010

This took minutes to make using a food processor. I minced the leek and shredded the carrots so there was no need to puree. I decided not to put milk in it. We loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy January 27, 2010

So delicious, it smelled so good cooking I could hardly wait to try it!! Made it for tomorrow's lunch but had to try it when it was done. I used chicken cubes to made the stock and parsley to garnish. When I serve it for lunch I will had a touch of no fat sour cream to top it off. Gorgeous colour and wonderful flavour! Thanks for posting, I''ll be making this again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf January 23, 2009

Very yummy and so easy to make. I must have done something wrong because it only made 2 servings – or maybe my dad and I just ate to much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoé302 November 06, 2007

This is an excellent soup. As I'm vegan, I substituted 1/3 cup soy milk + a little water for the 1/4 cup skim milk. I also added a little orange juice (1/4 cup or less) and about an inch of fresh ginger. It was really fresh and wonderful hot; it's also excellent cold (I garnished it with a few sprigs of mint and a few orange peel curls).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegan Courtney May 27, 2005

This soup was delicious. Very easy to make and required no hard to find ingrediants. I really liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bruins Fan September 18, 2004

This was a great soup for using up a couple of leeks and carrots I had languishing in the fridge. I think next time I made it, I would splure on the fat count a bit and sweat the vegetables off in a tablespoon of oil before I added the stock. I topped this with a dollop of sour cream for the photo, but on the other serves, I topped it with a curry/yoghurt/mayo dressing of Evelyn Athens I had left in the fridge. That was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS June 22, 2004

a nice quick soup! i used vegetable stock, this has a fresh flavor and is a pretty color, perfect for autumn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia October 05, 2003
Leek and Carrot Soup