140 Reviews

I doubled this recipe and used heaping tbsps of cocoa. I also substituted milk for the water. It took minutes, and while it's not the best chocolate sauce ever, for a recipe this simple with things that are always in the pantry, it's earned all 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zephyr's Breeze November 05, 2009

This is a wonderful recipe!! I substituted half & half for the water and used turbinado sugar. This made a perfect topping for vanilla ice cream and spanish peanuts. Everybody went crazy over the sauce. I caught one person licking my pan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TerriM67 October 05, 2009

I have a very picky 4 year old and I made him french toast for breakfast, he usually likes it without syrup so I decided to try the sauce on it to see what his reaction would be....well as it turned out he actually at 5 pieces of french toast in which he NEVER does and I know I will be using this from now on when I make french toast :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildchild3233 September 29, 2009

What a great 'panic' recipe! As long as you have ice cream in the freezer, you can conjure up a delicious treat for unexpected company in a heartbeat. I do agree with Moreplease! that it's only enough for 2 servings, even though I flatly deny that we're l'il piglets... :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton September 03, 2009

I love love love it. For us, it serves 2!! So great warm on ice cream!!! So quick and easy to throw together! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moreplease! August 30, 2009

Delicious and very easy! Its great to have it in the fridge, yu warm it up in the microwave, and ready for enhancing any vanilla ice cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danilu August 15, 2009

This actually lived up to its reputation. It was a delicious sauce with the butter giving it a rich flavour. I even tweaked it a little by adding 25g of couverture at the end to make it a bit thicker. Highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook July 16, 2009

OMG! So easy to make and it was like the chaos of my kids disappeared while I was eating it. Wow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sk8er mom July 02, 2009

Maybe this doesn't need another 5 star review, but its getting one. Simple and tasted wonderfull. Served over homemade vanilla ice cream, plus dipped a fresh strawberry in the leftover. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 May 26, 2009

No complaints here! I used probably 2/3 the amount of water suggested, if that, and I accidentally put way too much vanilla in. Regardless, this was absolutely delicious. What a great recipe! I love that it doesn't have cream in it, because I usually don't have that on hand - and heaven forbid I plan these things in advance! Thanks Bev.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgiapea May 24, 2009
Lee Lee's Famous Chocolate Sauce for Ice Cream