Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lee Lee's Famous Chocolate Sauce for Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lee Lee's Famous Chocolate Sauce for Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    136 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 136

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2002

      Excellent and easy! I added a whole tsp of pure vanilla for a richer flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      I'm giving this review based on the feedback from my kids and grandkids. I don't eat ice cream but they all love it and eat it pretty much daily! We use a bottled fudge sauce from an ice cream and candy shop in florida (at about $12 per 16 oz jar!!) as a topping because everyone thinks its the bomb - well, it just got replaced by Lee Lee creation!! Kids and adults alike were ooohing and awwwwing over this - my pregnant daughter in law was lapping it up by the spoonful! Thank you for sharing this one Bev - I have a feeling I'll be making it alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      Very easy sundae sauce! I typically make my homemade sauce with chocolate and cocoa (or just chocolate), but as I was out of chocolate I thought I would give this a try. That was a good idea! The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp of vanilla, instead of 1/4 tsp (I also used the full 2 tbsp of butter). This was easy to whip up and tasted great, served warm, over vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Another winner from Lee Lee -- I would have been 300 lbs had I grown up in her house! The butter made all the difference. I made two batches, one as directed and one with dutch processed cocoa. As expected the dutch version was darker and richer tasting, but may be too intense for some -- more of an adult taste. Note, I used unsalted butter, but I don't think it would have made any difference either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2002

      I agree, this is a wonderful chocolate sauce. I made mine with Splenda instead of sugar and it still was great! Now I can have chocolate sundaes with the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      Another superb recipe from Auntie Bev'll's treasured collection - I'd recommend this to one and all! I made this beautiful deep dark chocolate coloured sauce tonight (I went "mmmmmmmmmmmm" over the stove and I almost landed half way into my saucepan, eyes closed and my nose drooling over the chocolate aroma that gently simmered under me!)when I had this terrible chocolate sauce craving. I am so glad I did! I used 2 tbsps full of margarine (as I didn't have butter on hand) and 1/2 tsp. vanilla essence, but 110%, I'll use only 1/4 tsp. of essence next time, as I found using 1/2 tsp. more, because the sauce was strong and hit in my throat. I'll go with 1/4 tsp. essence next time. I poured a bit(a generous bit, may I add!) of this over some chilled cold vanilla ice-cream and sat down for a treat under the beautiful sky on my terrace and enjoyed the soft winds and the warm sauce that took me way beyond chocolate heaven! Thank you and kisses to you for sharing this, Auntie Bev'll- you're so sweet(Much much more than this sauce)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      Great recipe! Very easy, and the ingredients are items that many would have on hand! I used 1/3 cup of water when I made this. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      Great recipe...and so simple to make. I used splenda instead of sugar and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks Bev

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      What an incredible treat! I cannot get over how something that goes together so easily has such awesome flavor. I served this drizzled over cheesecake and sprinkled with toasted chopped almonds. This brought plain cheesecake to a whole different level. Thanks Bev for sharing a treasured family recipe, I am sure we will treasure it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      We used coconut oil in the place of the butter, and it turned out wonderfully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Fast & tasty! I added some instant coffee granules to the water (heated up) for a chocolate mocha sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I have made this several times and my boys love it! Quick, easy and delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      This was a little different than what I was expecting, I kind of had hot fudge in mind I guess--But this was soooooo easy and absolutely delicious, very unique flavor --much better than that old store bought stuff. Thanks a bunch. P.S. If you make this do double or triple the recipe or you simply wont have enough of this wonderful sauce.!PeggyLynn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      What a great tasting sauce. I made it last night for a special Saturday. My husband said quit buying the stuff in the can and make this instead. Mine was alittle this so I will have to make it again. Thank you soooo much!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      Fabulous! I too used the full 2 tbsps. of butter and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. This is just too darn easy to make with ingredients that are always on hand.I used it over some candy cane ice cream and can't wait to try it on a banana split! YUM! I also like Michelle's idea to drizzle this on cheesecake...lots of possibilities!This could prove to be very dangerous for my waistline!! For the ease & taste of this you are right, i can't see bothering with storebought anymore. And I am nursing a head/sinus cold right now which is why I wanted ice cream in the first place,(so why not make it an extra special little treat!! :))If this tastes any better the next time( sure my taste buds are off a bit) I will be even that much more impressed! Thanks, Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      What a delightfully simple and yet so delicious recipe. I made this tonight and we fell in love with this dark and creamy sauce. I'd like to try this with angel food cake or pound cake and fruit. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      It's great with peanuts and bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      Delicious! No need to buy chocolate sauce when this is so easy to make, tastes better and no chemicals!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      Hi Bev,<br/>Not that you need another great review but here it is! Your recipe was the first I came to when I looked up chocolate sauce. I wanted some for my coconut cream pie ice cream. Luckily I had all the ingredients and tried it. I used unsweetened coca, since that is what I had. With the sugar, it was plenty sweet. It was so easy and yummy.....my kind of recipe. This is a keeper for sure!<br/><br/>Thanks,<br/>Cary

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      Very easy to make this wonderful chocolate sauce! It tasted like hot fudge, and it was ready very quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lee Lee's Famous Chocolate Sauce for Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.6
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    28%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 111.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 24.9 g
    99%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes