136 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent and easy! I added a whole tsp of pure vanilla for a richer flavor.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook April 12, 2002

I'm giving this review based on the feedback from my kids and grandkids. I don't eat ice cream but they all love it and eat it pretty much daily! We use a bottled fudge sauce from an ice cream and candy shop in florida (at about $12 per 16 oz jar!!) as a topping because everyone thinks its the bomb - well, it just got replaced by Lee Lee creation!! Kids and adults alike were ooohing and awwwwing over this - my pregnant daughter in law was lapping it up by the spoonful! Thank you for sharing this one Bev - I have a feeling I'll be making it alot!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue June 04, 2002

Very easy sundae sauce! I typically make my homemade sauce with chocolate and cocoa (or just chocolate), but as I was out of chocolate I thought I would give this a try. That was a good idea! The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp of vanilla, instead of 1/4 tsp (I also used the full 2 tbsp of butter). This was easy to whip up and tasted great, served warm, over vanilla ice cream.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie November 19, 2002

Another winner from Lee Lee -- I would have been 300 lbs had I grown up in her house! The butter made all the difference. I made two batches, one as directed and one with dutch processed cocoa. As expected the dutch version was darker and richer tasting, but may be too intense for some -- more of an adult taste. Note, I used unsalted butter, but I don't think it would have made any difference either way.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G May 13, 2002

I agree, this is a wonderful chocolate sauce. I made mine with Splenda instead of sugar and it still was great! Now I can have chocolate sundaes with the kids.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl April 18, 2002

Another superb recipe from Auntie Bev'll's treasured collection - I'd recommend this to one and all! I made this beautiful deep dark chocolate coloured sauce tonight (I went "mmmmmmmmmmmm" over the stove and I almost landed half way into my saucepan, eyes closed and my nose drooling over the chocolate aroma that gently simmered under me!)when I had this terrible chocolate sauce craving. I am so glad I did! I used 2 tbsps full of margarine (as I didn't have butter on hand) and 1/2 tsp. vanilla essence, but 110%, I'll use only 1/4 tsp. of essence next time, as I found using 1/2 tsp. more, because the sauce was strong and hit in my throat. I'll go with 1/4 tsp. essence next time. I poured a bit(a generous bit, may I add!) of this over some chilled cold vanilla ice-cream and sat down for a treat under the beautiful sky on my terrace and enjoyed the soft winds and the warm sauce that took me way beyond chocolate heaven! Thank you and kisses to you for sharing this, Auntie Bev'll- you're so sweet(Much much more than this sauce)!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani November 29, 2002

Great recipe! Very easy, and the ingredients are items that many would have on hand! I used 1/3 cup of water when I made this. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert March 17, 2003

Great recipe...and so simple to make. I used splenda instead of sugar and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks Bev

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat February 19, 2004

What an incredible treat! I cannot get over how something that goes together so easily has such awesome flavor. I served this drizzled over cheesecake and sprinkled with toasted chopped almonds. This brought plain cheesecake to a whole different level. Thanks Bev for sharing a treasured family recipe, I am sure we will treasure it as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 12, 2004

We used coconut oil in the place of the butter, and it turned out wonderfully.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamelia N February 09, 2014
Lee Lee's Famous Chocolate Sauce for Ice Cream