Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lee Lee's Famous Barbecue Sauce for Ribs W/ Preserves Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lee Lee's Famous Barbecue Sauce for Ribs W/ Preserves

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2002

      Thanks a bunch! Your moms bbq sauce is awsome stuff -- I made 2 batches, one with apricot and one with grape jelly. Both were fantastic with the grape being a bit sweeter -- (but not as much as I would have thought). I really liked the way the lemon gave it fresh taste without taking away from the sweetness. As you warned tho, all the sugar does make it char very fast so brush it on at the very end and keep your eye on it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      this is sooo good. i didnt add preserves but it was still good. i used soy sauce instead of worcesterchire, and it was still good. i think the butter did it! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      This is terrific. I put it on a pork shoulder that I grilled outside and it was just awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      Bev, this sauce was outstanding, thank-you Bev's Mom!! and while I'm here Bev, thanks for putting me onto the dry heat pulled pork, what a difference!! I made three sauces to go with it, this one was a hit with everyone! We didn't use preserves, will try them next time. I particularly like the fact that there was not a lot of sugar, some others are a bit sweet for me. We loved the combination of flavours,the lemon was nice rather than a lot of vinegar and the butter really smoothed it out!! I will use this as a regular sauce to do all kinds of meats, thanks for sharing an outstanding recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

    • on May 30, 2008

      The key to using this sauce and not having it burn is put on a thin coat about half way through cooking, then again about 10 minutes before you take it off the grill, and cook it low and slow! Delicious sauce! We used it on some ribs we had last week. We are dying to have it again on some chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      WOWEE! This is a superb recipe - the sauce is not too sweet and it is soooo delicious! I have a sauce recipe I have used for many many years, but this is the one I will use from now on. Used orange marmalade instead of the peach or apricot preserves (had none) and it was great! Used it on barbecued ribs. Will definitely go into my favorite recipe file! Thanks so much for sharing, Bev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      Wow! I still can't figure out what makes this taste so good! I added a drop or two of liquid smoke and cannot believe how fast and easy this amazing sauce is. The perfect amount of spice and tang. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      AWESOME!! my kitchen smelled so yummy while cooking. I doubled the recipe and put it in a crock pot with beef boneless ribs. I didn't have Worcestershire sauce or tabasco. I have bufflo wing sauce so I used that. Tasted great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Was looking for an easy Barbeque sauce recipe. I believe I found it. Added a little more brown sugar, and some honey was very good with a Roast Pork Loin. Thank you. Maryann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      Wow, I haven't it gotten this on the ribs yet and I keep eating it. Excellent sauce. The only change I had was to use pineapple preserves as I didn't have peach or apricot in the pantry. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      This is a great easy recipe. I like things hot though so added a lot more Tabasco and some red pepper flakes. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      This was good sauce. I didn't use preserves. Instead, I added maple syrup (I thought about trying honey next time). I will cut the vinegar in half next time too. Other than the vinegar being a bit too much for me, the sauce was great!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I think I'm addicted! I made it to the letter, and glad I doubled it. Thank you for the recipe. It's a KEEPER. It is sooo easy to make, and all the ingredients are easily found right in your kitchen, nothing to shop for. I had apricot preserves from a christmas present but from now on it will be on hand also. My Dh bought barbecue sauce in a jar, which is unopened and will stay that way. This is Delicious! I made it for oven ribs also. YUM YUM YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Great BBQ sauce. I used this on my oven baked spareribs last night and it was a success! I did use Saucy Susan in place of the perserves (didn't have anything else on hand) which worked great. The sauce had a perfect balance of sweet and tang! I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks for the winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Deliciously sweet with a leeeetle kick. Used on some boneless pork chops for a wonderful dinner. Good luck on the BBQ Sauce Contest, Bev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I make ribs every Sunday during the warm weather months and experiment with sauces. I keep coming back to this one as really good when I am short on time. I have made it at least five times and used a different jelly or preserve each time. I love it with pepper jelly because we like spicy. I used up some habenjaro peach jam that I was given once as a gift. Wonderful! Thanks so much for this recipe, this is quicker than a trip to the store and so much better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I've often used pepper jellies as a glaze on ribs, but now this is my rib glaze. Wow! Delicious. I followed the recipe fairly well and used peach preserves (I'm from Georgia, you know).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      I used this on ribs. First used a "Famous Daves" rub and put it in the fridge for 2 hours then smoked and grilled the ribs. I put the sauce on last as a baste and then brushed it on liberally before serving. Everyone loved it. Next I try chicken as it was suggested the sweet sauce would be perfect on chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      Made this w/ peach preserves & served with ribs & brisket. It was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lee Lee's Famous Barbecue Sauce for Ribs W/ Preserves

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 47.7
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    19%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 344.2 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites