Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lebanese Spiced Potatoes (Batata Harra) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lebanese Spiced Potatoes (Batata Harra)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2011

      These are superb potatoes. Despite being fried, they are not greasy or heavy. And the enjoyment began for me in the prep. While the little cubes of potatoes were browning, I was chopping onion and cilantro and the smell was so bright and clean. Then I ground coriander seeds in the mortar pestle--more of that very bright scent which was making my mouth water. Finally, when everything was saute-ing together and I added the squeeze of lime, I couldn't wait to taste the dish. Nothing overwhelms--it's just right--delicious on its own and I know it will be terrific as an accompaniment to something grilled. I did leave out the cayenne and went with some freshly cracked black pepper. I'm still licking my chops. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      I loved these potatoes! I used minimal oil and splashed a little water in the pan to keep them moist while browning. I loved the fresh flavors; especially the fresh cilantro and the splash of fresh lime juice. These are excellent and I'll be making these again. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      A lovely potato dish it went well with a tossed salad and barbecued meat. I did add a bit more Cayenne pepper as we love that extra bit of heat, thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Absolutely delicious! I can't stand cilantro so I subbed fresh parsley. We all loved this...I doubled it for the 4 of us but need to make more next time because we didn't get enough. ;) The lime at the end is brilliant - adds great flavor without screaming LIME. Maybe I'll make it again tonight... Served it alongside Shakshouka (Israeli Eggs With Tomatoes). Thanks! Made for NA*ME Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I recently had this dish at a Lebanese restaurant and HAD to find a recipe, this one matched what I tasted so I gave it a try. DELICIOUS!!! I took a short cut and used Simply Potato diced potatoes, I baked them in the oven then tossed with the skillet ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      Excellent potato recipe! They are very similar to the ones I got at my favourite Lebanese restaurant 10 years ago (it closed down, so I've been missing these potatoes for a long time!). Only change I had to make was using parsley and great burnet because it's nearly impossible to get cilantro here. I'll make them again - specifically if I get cilantro one day LOL.
      Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!
      Made for Ramadan Tag 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      Yummy and again Yummy! These are potatoes!
      Really worth to try them!
      I used olive oil instead of canola oil.
      Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      Very good potatoes!!! I left out the onions, cuz I have an onion hater. I also cubed the potatoes and nuked them in the micro until almost done. Then pan fried.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      I was having problems incorporating this recipe into a menu plan.Then the
      idea hit that the potatoes could be the main dish and not only the main dish
      but tacos! So, that's what I made: Lebanese potato tacos! Made almost as written using
      safflower oil and unpeeled Yukons. The cooked potatoes were taken off heat, set aside to cool about five minutes then the fresh cilantro and lime juice were added. (I don't like cilantro cooked.) Mixture served inside locally made corn tortillas-no cheese, no sour cream this time. Served along a salad with this dressing: Afghan Salad Dressing. A perfect ending to Veg Tag February! Thanks, UmmBinat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Great potatoes! Flavorful and delicious. Thanks for sharing! Veg*n Swap 31

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      great recipe!! delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Fantastic! I agree, even though they are fried, they weren't overly greasy. I can imagine lots of oos & awes if you served these up for brunch. I'll definitely make again and might try roasting them instead of frying next time. I left out the cayenne this time, but a little heat would have been great. Found the amounts given were perfect - thanks UmmBinat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lebanese Spiced Potatoes (Batata Harra)

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.6
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    42%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cayenne pepper

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes