Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lebanese Lentil Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lebanese Lentil Salad

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2010

      i have made this salad several times now and love it! i use the french puy lentils but don't cook them as long as the recipe states. i use dried mint, and also reduce the garlic since in this recipe it is not cooked. i founf that this makes great leftovers, the flavors blend and intensify. i plan to make this a lot over the summer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This was really good. I didn't know what to expect since it is my first experience with lentil salad, but it certainly won't be the last. The only change I made to the recipe was to lower the amount of oil. I do agree with one review that it is best served in smaller quantities since it is quite bold. I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      I liked this. It was easy to prepare as I had all of the ingredients on hand. I used mint AND fresh basil. I cut out 1 tablespoon each of the oil and lemon juice and it was just right. I brought the lentils to a boil and then turned them down to a very low simmer for 25 minutes. They were almost a little too soft but most of them held their shape really well. I poured ice water over them to stop the cooking process. Good recipe and good for you, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2014

      Simply delicious and so easy! I'd definitely recommend using fresh mint if you can get it; fortunately we have some spearmint growing in our garden. Perfect dish for a steamy summer day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      Delicious! I used a package of pre-cooked lentils that I bought at Trader Joe's, so the prep was a snap. I made exactly as written and it was a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      Delicious with our without the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      This is amazing. I nixed the mint and added english cucumber. My only regret is that I didn't have enough feta cheese.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I made this recipe to take to a softball club BBQ. It was an outstanding success and voted best salad at the BBQ. So would recommend it as an economical, easy to make and delicious dish with a colourful presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      oh, I loved this salad. I prepared the dressing separately and only added what I needed which was probably about half. It needs lots of freshly ground black pepper. I used green lentils and it was so nice even though I only had about 4oz of feta. I made mine at the start of the week and it kept well in the fridge for a couple of days. One lot of left-overs I added some cherry tomatoes and on another portion I added some diced fresh beetroot (OMG that made it even better). Dont omit the mint as it makes this salad. It was lovely to eat something that tasted so sinful yet it really good for you!!!!!!! Thanks Mindy xxx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      The girlfriend was so-so on this, but I enjoyed it. I think it would make a healthy and economical addition to a BBQ or picnic. The meat-eaters in out family LOVE grilled lamb and I bet that this would be a hit as a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Great recipe! We really enjoyed this, but it was strong enough (in a good and bold kind of way) that I think next time I'd plan on getting more servings out of this as smaller side dishes. Still, so delicious, and the mint was really a great touch. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      The feta really made this special adding just the right amount of saltiness and punch. I agree that a bit of tomato would also have been a good addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      This is delicious! I have fresh mint in my garden and used it in this recipe. You're right, it gives it a wonderful flavor. I also used fresh lemons for the juice and can lentils for convenience/speed. The thing I love most about this salad is that it's perfect for brown bag lunches, and it's super healthy. I'm making more tonight. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      Taking note of Stardustannie's review, I used tinned lentils, which made it so quick to make for lunch today. A nice blend of salty, sour sweet from the capsicum and an interesting mix of textures. I would have enjoyed maybe half the capsicum and a tomato in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      I agree. This is a very refreshing salad. Instructions were easy to follow and so easy to put together. I was a real hit with the family. It was such a light meal to have; get filling. I served this with spinach salad and Greek Potatoes - Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!). Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      A very refreshing salad that's easy to throw together....would be made quicker with the use of canned lentils. I had it for lunch with some nice home made bread...YUMMO! Can’t wait till the BBQ season now, it'll be a great addition to the salad table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      Cooking lentils on low heat will help them keep their structure. It takes a little longer, but it will keep them from turning into dal. Also, french lentils are smaller and fatter than other lentils (ie: most lentils you find in the supermarket). French lentils are used when you want to keep them whole for salads and such. I have done the low heat on regular lentils, and it works for me. Also, salting your water before you bring the lentils to a boil can help them keep their shape.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      Okay, this is awesome! The flavors are fantastic. BUT, HELP - my lentils went all mushy. Did I overcook, or are they supposed to be mushy (like dahl)??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      This is delicious; I've had the recipe for a while and made it several times (most recently for a 4th of July barbecue) and everyone who tries it is impressed. I really like the flavor of the mint. This time, I found there was too much dressing (I think this may be in part because I didn't use the full amount of cheese), so if your measurements are a bit loose, it might be a good idea to whisk those ingredients together and then add as needed. I've successfully used balsamic vinegar instead of lemon juice; it's a different flavor, but still very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      This is a superb salad, one that I am sure to make often. The ingredients while simplistic prefectly blend with each other. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you Mindy for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lebanese Lentil Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.1
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    71%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 40.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 515.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes