Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lebanese Lentil and Swiss Chard Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lebanese Lentil and Swiss Chard Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2011

      Yummy! Used this recipe to prepare chard and kale I received in our share from the local CSA. Used to think I did not like those greens, but this recipe sure makes them tasty and easy to prepare. Best summarized by my husband's comment "you sure prepare weird stuff well". Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      This is a really punchy soup; the lemon and the garlic really make this soup really fresh and interesting. I used home made vegetable stock, and a little fresh coriander. Quick, simple, and delicious, this has to be one of my favourite quick broths.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      While I was skeptical about the flavor of this, we tried this for dinner the other night and it turned out great! I thought that with using water instead of broth it would be too bland but that was not the case. That being said I will probably try this with broth the next time. I used red chard so the soup broth turned out a lovely purple color which the kids thought was great. The only one not impressed was my picky husband. He's a meat and potatoes kind of guy tho. =) Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

    • on April 29, 2010

    • on November 01, 2009

      I added a bunch of spices and more lemon to this and it was good. I really like the addition of the swiss chard in it. I think I would use broth next time to give it more flavor. I couldn't believe you could barely taste all that raw garlic! Fed 4 as an entree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I made this soup, and it was absolutely delicious!! I did add two potatoes to make it a little more hearty since I was serving it as an entree. Both my husband and my two year old loved it as well. Thank you so much for the recipe, Elmotoo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      It was very garlicy!! and I love garlic so it was delicious. I could have probably added potatoes etc. For people who do not like garlic, I would add half the amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Yum!!! The lemon gives it a fresh, bright twist, the garlic makes it pungent and fragrant, and olive oil makes it rich, all grounded in earthy lentil goodness. We had the soup with some toasted bread and were very satisfied with the healthy, simple, fast meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This is such a great soup! It went quite well with my DH's BBQ'd ribs! He - very picky indeed, especially concerning vegetables - loved this! I think it's because the amount of lemon juxtaposes nicely with the lentils, garlic, and chard. I also love and appreciate the simplicity of this recipe. Thanks, Elmotoo! Made for N*A*M*E Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This was a GREAT soup for a chilly day! It was simple and full of garlic flavor and vitamin C. I think this would be a good soup for if you're feeling under the weather. I made it according to the recipe but did use my garlic crusher and added lots of fresh ground black pepper. Made for NAME tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      This soup was good the first day. I did not serve it at room temp- but hot. The second day it was incredible. Very lemony! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      I love a recipe that calls for using a mortar and pestle! I used to have a Lebanese neighbor who made yummy savory lemony foods and this tasted just as authentic as her soups. The only changes I made to the recipe was to use a local green which is something like beet greens, as Swiss chard really isn't available in this country. I also added a bit of the zest from the lemons and used more than 1/4 teaspoon of salt, although I couldn't tell you how much, I never measure these things. We had this with fresh challah and a bowl of olive oil and zaatar for dipping. It was the perfect start to our Friday night dinner, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lebanese Lentil and Swiss Chard Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.6
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    41%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 81.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh swiss chard

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes