14 Reviews

This is very pretty with the contrasting red onions and green beans. The parsley adds good visual interest too. I steamed this very lightly to retain crunch in the beans. I also reduced the lemon juice a bit as Mr B's not overly keen on it in salad dressings. The finished result was a very pleasant tasting side salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs B July 01, 2006

Sorry to say nobody enjoyed this much at my house. DH thought it was bland and I thought the lemon was too pronounced. Lil' sis didn't have a specific complaint. She liked it the most, but didn't think she liked it enough to eat the leftovers. Sorry, but I won't make this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle June 30, 2006

Great salad we had with Bamya ( Lamb or Beef and Okra Stew), pine nuts buttered white Basmati rice, and leban, a Middle Eastern yogurt drink with fresh mint. I used sweet onion in place of red since that is what I had on hand, flat leaf Italian parsley, cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, freshly ground black pepper ans sea salt to taste, plus the rest of this ingredients. I may make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 15, 2012

This vey simple recipe is really worth to try.
I used frozen beens and followed the recipe as described.
We loved the colors and the taste. Next time I will be glad to prepare it again....with fresh green beans if possible.
Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde February 14, 2012

Tasty and easy green bean salad! I used a yellow onion as it's what I had on hand, otherwise made as directed. Easy to make ahead with a light fresh taste - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT6, Zwizzle Chicks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof June 17, 2010

Very good and refreshing salad. I loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather_werner October 04, 2008

This is a very simple salad. I used dried parsley. I loved the lemon juice and olive oil dressing. This tastes fresh :) Thanks Parsley :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 14, 2008

Made this to go with our lunch today. Very easy to make. We liked the tartness of the lemon juice in the salad. Will make again. For ZWTIII

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 17, 2007

*Made for ZWT III* This salad goes together very quickly and easily with lots of fresh flavor. My family really enjoyed it on a very hot summer day. I did add just a touch of sugar to cut some of the tart from the lemon juice. I will be making this salad often this summer. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 16, 2007

Family thoroghly enjoyed this salad - I agree with the prvious reviewer that this is a really pretty salad with the red onions and the green beans. The lemon juice gives it a nice fresh taste with the garlic. Great side for any meal!! A Keeper!! Thanks, Parsley!! ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva June 15, 2007
Lebanese Green Bean Salad