Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lebanese Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lebanese Chicken

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2002

      Yery Good ... I normally associate chicken with lemon, but the combination of orange juice and spices really worked well. I am still a Solo eater but the extra chicken kept it's flavor when refrigerated and became the basis of nice cold sandwiches for several days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      This was great! I also added a 1/2 tsp of rosewater, and used cardamom instead of allspice. Wonderfull!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      I cooked this for my mom and dad. They were a little skepticle at first because of the unusual ingrediants. I didn't use the couscous but it was still a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This was very tasty and a breeze to prepare. I chopped up my chicken breasts rather than leaving them whole and reduced the honey to 1 1/2 tablespoons. Good with the couscous although I prepared the couscous differently. Great recipe thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      A friend droped in as I was about to prepare this dish for the first time. It was easy to make and I had everything I needed for this recipe in the house already. It was great and I will make it again for sure. The only thing I might change is the amount of honey. I have a sweet tooth but I still found it a little on the sweet side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Thanks, Karen, for the nice change of pace. My picky son (recovering anorexic) told me he was tired of anything with lemon in it but he chowed down on this dish with the orange flavor. I substituted cardamon for the cinnamon and served this with a cucumber, parsley, tomato salad and pita bread. Everyone was happy and relieved that something I cooked turned out to be edible for once :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2002

      This was wonderfull chicken Karen!! DH always says he dosen't like couscous, so i snuck it in on him tonight and he loved it!! We really enjoyed this meal, especially the sauce, it was exceptional!!The spices and orange with the onions and garlic, the flavours all just came together to make an outstanding sauce, I just wish there had been more or it!! Made the whole recipe and will finish it up for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a keeper, will be making this again soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      Delcious chicken dish! The directions are very clear and the measurements are very precise. I loved the flavor combinations of the orange juice sauce and the spices. The chicken came out very moist and juicy. It didn't strike me as tasting particularly Lebanese, but the taste was still delicious. This was also a very attractive looking dish, which I wouldn't hesistate to serve to guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      Thank you Karen for such an easy and wonderful tasting recipe. I have never used orange juice and orange zest in a recipe before. The sauce was superb! We will certainly make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Very good chicken, however it doesn't really taste Lebanese .. I thought it was too sweet so I will reduce the honey next time ..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      I've never tried orange w/ chicken before but i loved this recipe - it's very quick and inexpensive i spent less than $10 for the whole thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Oh, man! I WOULD have taken a picture if I hadn't inhaled it! Perfect for a cold winter night in my opinion. I made couscous with Couscous Basics and I thought the amount of couscous was perfect. I did remove the chicken from the pan and stirred the cooked couscous around to coat with the juices...didn't want to miss a drop of it! This will be a recipe I'll be repeating often (even though my husband says he doesn't like couscous...he'll just have to suck it up!) Oh, I forgot the allspice and doubled the sauce amounts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This was amazingly delicious, I read some of the reviews, and in addition to 1/2 cup of orange juice, I added juice from 1/2 lemon, and the zest from that lemon to punch up the acid....it was so well balanced, very delicious....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      First recipe I have tried, and Osama from Saudi Arabia rated it very highly so did I, changed the amonuts as I cut the recipe down for two but did everything the sme otherwise

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I followed the recipe practically to a T. The only thing I did differently is that when it asked to simmer the chicken after adding the honey uncovered, I thought it would get too dry, so I decided to cover. I allowed an additional 3 minutes or so of uncovered simmering. The chicken was perfectly cooked, however as anticipated, the chicken was dry. It wasn't horribly dry, but if I were to make this recipe again (which I don't think I will) I would cook the chicken covered for a longer amount of time, as well as cutting holes in the chicken prior to chicken so that the flavor can penetrate better. In addition to the issues with the dryness of the chicken, I personally wasn't "in love" with these flavors. I just didn't think they complimented each other that well. Not for me, or my husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      This was very good. I marinated the chicken over night in orange juice and the zest and then pulled it out the next day to cook as per the directions. I used olive oil instead of butter. I didn't measure things that I put in the dish, but didn't make any other additions or subractions tot he ingredients. This tasted good hot and cold and I am glad I have leftovers. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      We thought this chicken was delicious. It was really easy to put together and the orange sauce was a really nice touch. I didn't use any oil when I cooked it (just a little salted water to stop it sticking) and I served it with a Lebanese-style bean salad for a nice, healthy, low-fat low-cal dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Sorry~~the reviews made me think we would love this, but we really didn't. The only changes I made were to double the sauce ingredients so we could spoon it over the rice, and add cornstarch to thicken it. I don't think that should have changed the flavor any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Kickin' Chicken! Perfect Poultry! I halved the recipe for the two of us and cut back slightly on the "tendency-to-be-sweet" ingredients. I decided to finish the chicken covered to allow for some "sauce" to put over the end product. Yum! Also served it on basmati rice (instead of couscous) along with Tabule (Arabic Salad) - Tabbouleh, Creamy Roasted Garlic Hummus and warmed pitas. We really loved the burst of flavor. Thanks, Karen, for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      I had a few reservations about the combination of ingredients and how the taste of them would be. I must say I was wonderfully surprised with the final flavor of this recipe. I didn't have any oranges to make zest from so I used orange juice from frozen concentrate in a higher amount than the can directions call for and diluted it with a bit of chicken broth instead of water to make the 1/2 cup OJ. Worked beautifully! Other than that and the fact I used brown rice instead of couscous, I followed this easy recipe exactly. Personal recommendation: use the couscous as it is more delicately flavored. I felt the brown rice nuttiness got in the way of the fantastic flavor of the sauce. Even so, I ate every bite and picked at the saucepan during cleanup! I'll be making this recipe again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lebanese Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (222 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.9
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    11%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 76.0 mg
    25%
    Sodium 248.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites