34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This so good. We have made it 3 times now, I'm pretty sure it will be a staple dinner at our house. The only thing we change is adding more more tomatoes. We put in two cans of chopped tomatoes and a can of tomatoe sauce. The first time I didn't add the 2nd can of chopped tomatoes and we ended up adding V8 cause it was too dry. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haras00 October 23, 2009

I loved this recipe, although I did make a few small changes. I doubled it and baked in a 9 x 13 glass dish. For the tomatos on top I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes. That still was not enough liquid. Half way through I mixed up a can of tomato soup with 1 can water and added that over top. When it was finished it was still a little too dry for my taste and I poked and broke it up and added a quart of V-8. I may have not chopped my cabbage up enough, but we like larger slices more than chopped. The added liquid did the trick. Next time I may add V-8 or tomato soup to each layer of cabbage and maybe the brown sugar. Exellent dinner with mashed potatoes and buttered bread.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Linda Grunder September 22, 2007

Very delicious! Tastes just like stuffed peppers! The only adjustment I would make is adding the tomato sauce between layers. I used a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes and 1 6oz can tomato paste mixed with 1 cp water... it was delicious, but it in the future I will add more tomato sauce/tomatoes to the layer below! Thanks for the delicious recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K8A4T August 19, 2009

I haven't made stuffed cabbage in a long time because it's so much work, so this was perfect. I partially browned the meat and also added a bit of brown sugar and allspice to the mixture. I agree that it could use more sauce. I combined a pint jar of canned tomatoes and a 8 oz can of sauce and I think I would have liked even more, but it was still delicious. We also sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on our servings...yum. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afghanmom November 12, 2006

My wife enjoyed having cabbage served this way. I did make some changes to the basic recipe. I used Morning Star soy crumbles for the meat. I read a review about using quinoa which I did use instead of rice. Also, I used two twenty-eight ounce cans of Fire Roasted tomatoes and eliminated the egg as an ingredient. After sautéing the garlic and onion I added the soy crumbles to heat through; then added the tomatoes to the pan after pureeing them; then added the quinoa to the pan and blended it all. I layered without greasing the casserole pan. I spread a layer of the sauce mixture on the bottom of the pan. As I layered the ingredients I added shredded sharp cheese to each layer. Very easy to prepare.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bclooch August 16, 2013

Very good after a little tweeking. I read through the reviews as I always do and then added a little garlic and more diced tomatoes I found the juice from the diced added enough liquid to cook the cabbage perfectly Also to the meat mixture a little allspice as I do to the rolls, it really perks the flavor up! Authentic cabbage rolls are so time consuming this method will be a great replacement!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookstoRelax July 02, 2012

I saute the chopped onion in butter. My grandmother sauted hers in fatback. Anyone know what fatback is or is it just sold in Pittsburgh? Butter is better for your health. I don't use egg. Lots of canned crushed or chopped tomatoes, tomato juice and a can of tomato soup, undiluted. I just cut the cabbage up into 4 pieces and par boil it. Then put the filling ontop then the tomatoes, sauce, juice & soup ontop and bake. Sometimes I put peppper slices in it for flavor as I love stuffed peppers too. Yumm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAKK(( November 16, 2010

The recipe as-is was okay. It was very dry like mentioned in previous reviews so my cabbage was crunchy. I will make another attempt using the suggestions of the other reviewers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Notabay September 22, 2010

This was awesome. I loved making conventional stuffed cabbage but it is time consuming. This is my new method. So quick and great tasting. Omitted the egg and used low fat margarine instead. I make the sause using 1 can tomato sause and 1 tomatoe soup (sweetens the sause). Two lbs. of caggabe was a lot. Will cut back to 1- 1/2 lbs next try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn Collari February 02, 2009

A favorite meal for our family is tuffed cabbage. I didn't make it that often because it is such a time consuming meal. This recipe is so easy and tastes just like the real thing. I did use more sauce than required (24oz can for a doubled recipe). I also added a bit of brown sugar to the sauce and added about 1/2 can of water. Great meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loveourcottage October 30, 2008
Lazy Stuffed Cabbage Casserole