Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lazy Stuffed Cabbage Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lazy Stuffed Cabbage Casserole

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2009

      This so good. We have made it 3 times now, I'm pretty sure it will be a staple dinner at our house. The only thing we change is adding more more tomatoes. We put in two cans of chopped tomatoes and a can of tomatoe sauce. The first time I didn't add the 2nd can of chopped tomatoes and we ended up adding V8 cause it was too dry. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I loved this recipe, although I did make a few small changes. I doubled it and baked in a 9 x 13 glass dish. For the tomatos on top I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes. That still was not enough liquid. Half way through I mixed up a can of tomato soup with 1 can water and added that over top. When it was finished it was still a little too dry for my taste and I poked and broke it up and added a quart of V-8. I may have not chopped my cabbage up enough, but we like larger slices more than chopped. The added liquid did the trick. Next time I may add V-8 or tomato soup to each layer of cabbage and maybe the brown sugar. Exellent dinner with mashed potatoes and buttered bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2013

      My wife enjoyed having cabbage served this way. I did make some changes to the basic recipe. I used Morning Star soy crumbles for the meat. I read a review about using quinoa which I did use instead of rice. Also, I used two twenty-eight ounce cans of Fire Roasted tomatoes and eliminated the egg as an ingredient. After sautéing the garlic and onion I added the soy crumbles to heat through; then added the tomatoes to the pan after pureeing them; then added the quinoa to the pan and blended it all. I layered without greasing the casserole pan. I spread a layer of the sauce mixture on the bottom of the pan. As I layered the ingredients I added shredded sharp cheese to each layer. Very easy to prepare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      Very good after a little tweeking. I read through the reviews as I always do and then added a little garlic and more diced tomatoes I found the juice from the diced added enough liquid to cook the cabbage perfectly Also to the meat mixture a little allspice as I do to the rolls, it really perks the flavor up! Authentic cabbage rolls are so time consuming this method will be a great replacement!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      The recipe as-is was okay. It was very dry like mentioned in previous reviews so my cabbage was crunchy. I will make another attempt using the suggestions of the other reviewers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Very delicious! Tastes just like stuffed peppers! The only adjustment I would make is adding the tomato sauce between layers. I used a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes and 1 6oz can tomato paste mixed with 1 cp water... it was delicious, but it in the future I will add more tomato sauce/tomatoes to the layer below! Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This was awesome. I loved making conventional stuffed cabbage but it is time consuming. This is my new method. So quick and great tasting. Omitted the egg and used low fat margarine instead. I make the sause using 1 can tomato sause and 1 tomatoe soup (sweetens the sause). Two lbs. of caggabe was a lot. Will cut back to 1- 1/2 lbs next try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      My boyfriend and I both really liked this alot. I, too, made some changes though. I put some garlic powder and lots of salt and pepper in with the onion and ground beef as I browned the beef. And it was way too dry... so I added a quart of v8 juice. It was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      I haven't made stuffed cabbage in a long time because it's so much work, so this was perfect. I partially browned the meat and also added a bit of brown sugar and allspice to the mixture. I agree that it could use more sauce. I combined a pint jar of canned tomatoes and a 8 oz can of sauce and I think I would have liked even more, but it was still delicious. We also sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on our servings...yum. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Oh my! I used Quinoa instead of rice and added the 28 oz of tomatoe sauce as others suggested and also added some worstershire sauce and brown sugar as well as allspice! Thanks for a dish we'll be making alot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      All these recipes are great. Mother from Poland made the rolls but this is SOOOO EASY. But if you want a really tasty sauce, try a bottle of diluted catsup...Cheap and tasty. We all like catsup. I pour it in between each layer of meat mixture and cabbage leaves. I make mine in a huge turkey roasting pan and share with brother and sister. It also freezes well. After baking, i put the whole pan in the fridge for a few hours to tighten it up and make it less messy to slice it down. We were raised to have potato salad with stuffed cabbage..You have to try that and PLEASE, put some fresh dill in your potato salad. Ohhh, I am having it for Easter, 2014...Cannot wait to make this.You will all love this...My meat mixture is onion fried in fatback, yes it is not only in Pittsburg, but in Philly and Jersey. I am using beef AND pork sauteed with the onions and cooked rice, salt, pepper, an egg. I am from the old school. No definite measurements, just go with the flow and it is always great. Enjoy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      since i had leftover cabbage from st. patrick's day (always buy way too much) i looked for a receipe to use it in - when i came across your stuffed cabbage, i thought, why not? - so glad i tried it - it was excellent and will make it again and again - i was a little worried about the cabbage and if it would be tender enough, but it was perfect!! - i used to make stuffed cabbage the old fashioned way, but very infrequently as it was more work than i was up for - thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

    • on August 25, 2011

      I made this into real stuffed cabbage, no lining pan or covering. Using big-leaf Napa cabbage helps. I blanched about 10 cabbage leaves for 3 minutes, then plunged into ice water to stop them cooking (they are bright green). I added 1.5 Tbsp garlic salt, a shot of
      Worcestershire sauce, and some tomato sauce to beef mixture. I left out the butter (butter???). I put about 1/2 c beef mixture on each leaf, rolled it part way up, folded in the sides, rolled the rest of the way up, put in prepared baking dish seam side down and away we went. It really tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I saute the chopped onion in butter. My grandmother sauted hers in fatback. Anyone know what fatback is or is it just sold in Pittsburgh? Butter is better for your health. I don't use egg. Lots of canned crushed or chopped tomatoes, tomato juice and a can of tomato soup, undiluted. I just cut the cabbage up into 4 pieces and par boil it. Then put the filling ontop then the tomatoes, sauce, juice & soup ontop and bake. Sometimes I put peppper slices in it for flavor as I love stuffed peppers too. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I will add fresh herbs, and used my homemade sauce. Looking forward to adding this dish to my boxing day dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Followed the advice of some of the other posters and added more tomato sauce. Mixed some leftover tomato paste with some leftover V8 juice and that worked great but I think I'll add some chunks to it next time. Also used more of everything except meat. Sprinkled a little brown sugar on top of the meat layer also. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This was good, and so easy to make! I plunked everything into the crockpot for 3 hours. Yum! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I have made this twice this week. We love it. Its so easy and so yummy. I omit the onion as were not big on onions and add alot of onion flakes. And a dash of celery salt. We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      A favorite meal for our family is tuffed cabbage. I didn't make it that often because it is such a time consuming meal. This recipe is so easy and tastes just like the real thing. I did use more sauce than required (24oz can for a doubled recipe). I also added a bit of brown sugar to the sauce and added about 1/2 can of water. Great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lazy Stuffed Cabbage Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (537 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1032.7
     
    Calories from Fat 791
    76%
    Total Fat 87.9 g
    135%
    Saturated Fat 37.6 g
    188%
    Cholesterol 174.1 mg
    58%
    Sodium 142.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 16.8 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites