Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lazy Irish Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lazy Irish Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2010

      This was great--so fast and easy! I used DH's homebrew wheat ale and it tasted great--I might try a more malty beer next time, and there will be a next time! This would be fab with chili!!! Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Wonderful Bread. So fast and easy. DH and I have all ready eaten half of the loaf. I just used Miller Lite and made as directed. Thanks Len. Made for the Best of 2009 Cookbook Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      worked great. so fast. i ran out of my normal bread ingredients and needed it for breakfast in the morning. i used a belgiun christmas beer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Great recipe, took me about 10 minutes from start to finish - including making my own self-rising flour using Self-Rising Flour. brushed it with butter and sprinkled it with kosher salt the last 10 minutes of baking time. whipped up some honey butter - and the loaf didn't last til dinner. i used labats lite and like the flavor, but i have some polish beer received as agift - gonna' try that next time. this is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      We LOVE this recipe! We use it regularly, have tried lots of different beer and it gives a slightly different flavor, so use what smells good. Tonight...we're trying it with corn bread self rising flour-should be interesting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This was very good. I made my own flour mix with half whole wheat flour, baking powder and salt (I don't have self-rising). I used Guiness, which was great, but to strong for my girls- so now I will try it with LaBatt's -because I can't get anyone to drink it anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      delicious and soooo easy. thank you. I used black butte porter. very nice rich flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      A brilliant bread - tastes fabulous (San Miguel gave it a very mediterranean flavour). The mixture is very sticky and like some others did I brushed it with butter while it was cooking. Well received by the family too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      this is by far the easiest bread ive ever made. could use more flavor, i used bud lite, maybe next time ill use something with more taste! thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      The person who said "nothing worthwhile comes easily" obviously hadn't made THIS BREAD!! So EASY. SO TASTY! I would recommend doubling the beer though - for Step 5 not listed - "'kick back and relax on the couch as your delicious bread cooks".. it IS lazy irish beer bread after all and the recipe is so simple that you have time! Thanks so much for sharing! MMmmmm it is great toasted with hot butter too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I baked this tonight for dinner and it came out perfect! The taste was fantastic. Thanks so much for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Made this for St. Paddy's day to go with dinner...certainly wasn't enough. Incredibly easy, fluffy, and moist. A perfect bread. Who needs packaged yeast? I don't...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      There really isn't anything I can add that has not already been said. This is so super easy and delicious. I'll be making this often. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I made this with Guinness Draught and it was awesome. Super easy! The first taste was a slight sweet flavor, then came a slight bitterness caused by the Guinness which made the bread really rich. The crumb is dense and moist. The crust is just perfect, not too thick, not too thin and not too hard with an appealing brown color. This bread will be made many times throughout the year at our house. Thanks for a wonderful, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Loved this! Excellent. Super easy. Nice crusty and dense and soft in the middle. When eating, the first taste I got was of salt on the crust, then just a hint of bitterness from the guiness. The 'dough' was more of a thick thick batter. The loaf was a nice dark, rough surface. Made it the next day with an irish cream ale and that was good too. I think I'm hooked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I didn't want to rate this yet as it may have been my fault. I had to make my own self-rising flour (fresh ingredients), and used a very lively bottle of Wells Bombardier lager (UK) - so I doubt that it was a matter of ingredients. The batter was the consistency of a cream soup, and after 1 hour, the inside was just a congealed mess. Don't know where I went wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I am pretty sure this is the easiest thing I have ever made to put in the oven. And it was absolutely fabulous. Next time maybe I will play around with different beer, but it was great with Bud Light. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Fantastic. We don't even like beer but we loved these (including the kids!) Very sweet and with the sweetness of beer. A sweet sweet bread that is light, moist and substantial all that the same time. I made them into muffins, because I didn't have a loaf pan. They came out perfectly (just remember to grease the tin first). They are terrific with chedder or mozerella (or a mix) and probably would be with other cheeses as well. Perhaps that could be baked into the bread. The kids enjoyed making it and husband was shocked that bread could be so simple. This would be great (as muffins) as a party appitizer, for a sports game or even for the beer conasours in your life. Thank you, delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Yummy and crusty! Easy! Love the versatility of it!! Based on Chef#228458's recommendation for Top Favorites of 2008 Game I made this recipe. I sifted AP flour through a mesh strainer, used Dos Equix Amber beer, and added 1/2 teaspoon of dried basil to batter which was inadequate amount of basil. We spread honey butter on ours, and served with ham soup. Adding this to my 375 degree collection plus my other oven collections. Thanks Len for sharing. Made for Top Favorites of 2008 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This is awesome! I used Yuengling Black and Tan, and the flavor absolutely came through--yum! I couldn't bring myself to "waste" a Guinness LOL. I love that I could throw it together while my pot of soup simmered. I used 1 c AP flour, 1 c ww flour, and 1 c oat flour to add tooth and fiber. This is absolutely a keeper! Thanks 4 posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lazy Irish Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    16%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 497.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes