Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lazy Irish Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lazy Irish Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2011

      We really liked this. I was originally starting out to make Beer Bread Beer Bread, but there were a lot of complaints with that one being too heavy and too sweet; so after comparing other recipes to it, I decided to go with this one, which essentially adjusts those concerns - uses less flour, less sugar.

      I didn't have self-rising flour, so I had to add 1 tsp of salt and 2.5 tsp baking powder. I sifted the flour directly into the measuring cup, so as to avoid it being packed at all; and the bread was light and fluffy, actually closer in texture to a yeast bread than a quick bread.

      When adding the beer to the dry ingredients, the rising action began immediately; so I quickly stirred it just enough to get everything moistened. It was fun to watch, as the bread actually rose while the oven was preheating - would've risen further had I given it a few more minutes, which I will next time.

      Bread was light textured inside, slightly crusty outside, about the same sweetness as any white bread (i.e. not noticeably sweet), smelled/tasted slightly of beer but so slightly that no one knew there was beer in it until I told them.
      It was a bit crumbly when cutting, difficult to get a a perfect slice; but that's the case with most of my breads :^) so that really wasn't an issue for us. I think we liked this bread at least as well as many homemade yeast breads - and given the level of effort involved, no contest.

      Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/lazy-irish-beer-bread-14988#ixzz1HD0ITxVi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      This was an easy-to-make and super delicious bread. I made this alongside Better Beer Bread tonight, and we couldn't decide which one we liked better. I made my own self-rising flour by adding 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt per one cup all-purpose flour. I used an 11.2 oz. bottle of Guinness Draught, and the flavor of the beer really shined through-it was SO yummy. This is a great recipe. Thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Soooo easy you have to try it even if you don't bake breads! I have shared this with both my young daughters, family and friends....tasty and a great aroma when you cut the loaf that must be experienced in your kitchen :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      I've been making beer-bread for years, but never added sugar to it. The sugar made a very good difference! Next time you make it, try adding herbs like thyme or a pinch of rosemary. Seeds like celery seeds or caraway are great, too! Thanks for the sugar-tip! Terry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Yummy and oh so easy!!! I'm not good at making bread, but this one is fail proof! I will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      This was excellent! I used Rolling Rock because that's what we had in the house. I didn't have any self-rising flour, so I added baking powder and salt to my all purpose flour, as one reviewer suggested. I drizzled a little bit of melted butter over top the baking bread about half way through baking time. So good! I won't be buying any more beer bread mixes ... No need! This is just as good (if not better) and much cheaper to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Great recipe! My mom had a beer bread mix from Taste of Home and I loved it, however she would not buy anymore because it was so expensive. I decided to look for a recipe as I was sure it could be made at home for much less. I was right. We prefer our bread a little sweeter to offset the slight bitter taste from the beer and baking powder, so I double the sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      What an easy loaf to make. I thought I'd added too much beer as it was quite a 'wet' mixture, but it was perfect. We had it with real butter-- sooooooo good! I brushed the top with a little butter about 10 minutes before taking out of the oven. That gave it a nice crust. Thank you Len, I'll be making this a lot and will try different beers too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2014

      I've made this recipe many times and it never disappoints! Since I don't usually have any self-rising flour, I add 1 tsp. of salt and 2.5 tsp. baking powder as suggested by another reviewer, and it comes out perfect every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      This is fast, fresh and so simple! I finally got around to making this and I'm happy I tried it. It was super quick and easy to produce such a tasty loaf of bread (who doesn't have 5 or 10 minutes for prep?). The crust was really good, and the inside was soft and flavourful. I made this exactly as directed with 2 1/2 cups of self-rising flour and 2 Tbsp. sugar blended together , then I added 1-1/2 cups of Guinness stout. With a silicone spatula, the batter came together in seconds and pulled cleanly away from the bowl. Even though it's a somewhat gooey batter, it was a nice clean job. It was transferred into a buttered, non-stick loaf pan and exactly 45 minutes later at 375F, I immediately spread some butter on top after taking out of the oven. It was perfection.I'm glad your Irish Grandmother was so lazy! Thanks so much for posting this keeper, Len.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      This turned out wonderful. It was a very rainy day so I weighed my (self-rising) flour, 12.5 ounces = 2 1/2 Cups. I used an extra pale pilsner (Rolling Rock). I realized I had left my trusted loaf pan at our beach house, so I had to use a very "tinny" loaf pan. I was afraid the bottom of the bread may burn with the pan I had, so I decided to bake it on an insulated sheet pan. After 30 minutes, I brushed about 3 Tablespoons of melted butter over the top. I baked and additional 15 - 18 minutes and it was a beautiful loaf of bread. Very light, not overly dense at all. I served it along side of http://kittencalskitchen.com/2009/10/09/ground-beef-and-barley-soup/ and Holy Cow, it was a comfort meal from heaven. Even though I do not like a stout or dark beer, DH does. Next time I make this I will used a beer such as Guinness and serve with a proper Irish stew. I will also fore-go the butter (or use a lesser amount of unsalted butter)for a more sweet bread(maybe a little more sugar as well?). I can't wait to make this again using a darker beer! I'm looking forward to morning to toast it, slather it with butter and jam, with a nice cup of English Breakfast tea to go with. Humm, maybe a midnight snack... Thanks Len, for sharing this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      I made this for our family St. Patrick's Day dinner. It was soooooooo easy to make. Everyone loved it! I am not a huge beer fan (shhhh, don't tell St. Paddy) & used Guiness Stout which was way too 'stout' for my taste. Will definately make this bread over & over but will probably use a much milder beer. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      I figured a bread so easy would be too good to be true, but this is the real deal! Start to finish in less than an hour and very tasty! We served this alongside Emerald Green Punch, Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness, and Dublin Coddle. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      This came out fantastic. Great crust, fluffy inside. Made it with 1/5 whole wheat four and 11.2 oz of Guinness. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      You can't get much easier than this! I didn't have self-rising flour, so followed Self-Rising Flour, but I found the bread to be quite salty. I will cut that back to 3/4 tsp next time but the ratio of baking powder at 1 1/2 tsp. per cup of flour seemed perfect. Other than that, the bread was a huge hit. I will make this again, and look forward to trying different beers for different flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      We made this for St. Patty's Day dinner and we liked it. It is a very dense bread but when we slathered it in butter it didn't matter. I agree with other reviewers, that when you slice the bread the smell is divine. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      This was great!! I made this to go with some beef stew and it was a big hit! Hubby and son went back for seconds. I used Blue Moon and increased the sugar to 3 tablespoons. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for posting it, Len!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Delicious and really easy to make! I used a Budweiser and it was just perfect. I will definitely do it again and I will try with a different beer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This bread was awesome!! We used Harps beer not on purpose, but more on accident (it was on sale at the store)!! When I first took this bread out of the oven I thought I had over cooked it, as it was hard, but after it cooled and sat a little bit it softened up and tasted amazing!! I will never buy a beer bread mix again...this is so simple and much cheaper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      This was delicious. We used Bud Light because it is our favorite. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lazy Irish Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    16%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 497.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes