61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really liked this. I was originally starting out to make Beer Bread Beer Bread, but there were a lot of complaints with that one being too heavy and too sweet; so after comparing other recipes to it, I decided to go with this one, which essentially adjusts those concerns - uses less flour, less sugar.

I didn't have self-rising flour, so I had to add 1 tsp of salt and 2.5 tsp baking powder. I sifted the flour directly into the measuring cup, so as to avoid it being packed at all; and the bread was light and fluffy, actually closer in texture to a yeast bread than a quick bread.

When adding the beer to the dry ingredients, the rising action began immediately; so I quickly stirred it just enough to get everything moistened. It was fun to watch, as the bread actually rose while the oven was preheating - would've risen further had I given it a few more minutes, which I will next time.

Bread was light textured inside, slightly crusty outside, about the same sweetness as any white bread (i.e. not noticeably sweet), smelled/tasted slightly of beer but so slightly that no one knew there was beer in it until I told them.
It was a bit crumbly when cutting, difficult to get a a perfect slice; but that's the case with most of my breads :^) so that really wasn't an issue for us. I think we liked this bread at least as well as many homemade yeast breads - and given the level of effort involved, no contest.

Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/lazy-irish-beer-bread-14988#ixzz1HD0ITxVi

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmkurth March 21, 2011

This was an easy-to-make and super delicious bread. I made this alongside Better Beer Bread tonight, and we couldn't decide which one we liked better. I made my own self-rising flour by adding 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt per one cup all-purpose flour. I used an 11.2 oz. bottle of Guinness Draught, and the flavor of the beer really shined through-it was SO yummy. This is a great recipe. Thanks so much for posting it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 April 12, 2010

Soooo easy you have to try it even if you don't bake breads! I have shared this with both my young daughters, family and friends....tasty and a great aroma when you cut the loaf that must be experienced in your kitchen :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Celtic cook June 18, 2010

I've been making beer-bread for years, but never added sugar to it. The sugar made a very good difference! Next time you make it, try adding herbs like thyme or a pinch of rosemary. Seeds like celery seeds or caraway are great, too! Thanks for the sugar-tip! Terry

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrybiz March 12, 2006

Yummy and oh so easy!!! I'm not good at making bread, but this one is fail proof! I will definitely be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelicvampyre March 30, 2011

This was excellent! I used Rolling Rock because that's what we had in the house. I didn't have any self-rising flour, so I added baking powder and salt to my all purpose flour, as one reviewer suggested. I drizzled a little bit of melted butter over top the baking bread about half way through baking time. So good! I won't be buying any more beer bread mixes ... No need! This is just as good (if not better) and much cheaper to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniOros March 12, 2011

Great recipe! My mom had a beer bread mix from Taste of Home and I loved it, however she would not buy anymore because it was so expensive. I decided to look for a recipe as I was sure it could be made at home for much less. I was right. We prefer our bread a little sweeter to offset the slight bitter taste from the beer and baking powder, so I double the sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milking Mom October 23, 2009

What an easy loaf to make. I thought I'd added too much beer as it was quite a 'wet' mixture, but it was perfect. We had it with real butter-- sooooooo good! I brushed the top with a little butter about 10 minutes before taking out of the oven. That gave it a nice crust. Thank you Len, I'll be making this a lot and will try different beers too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halfmoon June 07, 2008

I've made this recipe many times and it never disappoints! Since I don't usually have any self-rising flour, I add 1 tsp. of salt and 2.5 tsp. baking powder as suggested by another reviewer, and it comes out perfect every time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch March 27, 2014

This is fast, fresh and so simple! I finally got around to making this and I'm happy I tried it. It was super quick and easy to produce such a tasty loaf of bread (who doesn't have 5 or 10 minutes for prep?). The crust was really good, and the inside was soft and flavourful. I made this exactly as directed with 2 1/2 cups of self-rising flour and 2 Tbsp. sugar blended together , then I added 1-1/2 cups of Guinness stout. With a silicone spatula, the batter came together in seconds and pulled cleanly away from the bowl. Even though it's a somewhat gooey batter, it was a nice clean job. It was transferred into a buttered, non-stick loaf pan and exactly 45 minutes later at 375F, I immediately spread some butter on top after taking out of the oven. It was perfection.I'm glad your Irish Grandmother was so lazy! Thanks so much for posting this keeper, Len.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~~Di~Lo~~ December 17, 2013
Lazy Irish Beer Bread