8 Reviews

This makes a perfect pot roast. Instead of aluminum foil I used a dutch oven. Nice, slightly crusty outside. Truly tender inside. Great juices. Easy, no fuss great on a cold day to keep kitchen warm.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLGal November 18, 2008

This is also a great summer recipe. I throw on my gas grill set at about 250. We have a delicious roast with plenty of gravy and the kitchen doesn't get heated up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tweenpeaks August 27, 2011

Perfectly cooked roast - tender and moist. I made gravy with the delicious juice. Used the leftovers to make hot roast beef sandwiches. Made for Fall 2012 Pick A Chef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug October 27, 2012

I am very happy that you did decide to post this "recipe". This roast was moist and tender! I would never have thought to wrap the roast in foil. I think the foil and the 250 degree cook temp are the secrets here. I included some red potatoes and put the wrapped roast on top of them. I worried that they might not cook through at 250 deg., but they were perfect! Would have included carrots but didn't have any. Will try again and include the carrots, too. I have used the Zaar for years and this recipe is the first one to inspire me to actually write a review. Well done!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zen Cook March 12, 2011

I bought a 3.5 pound chuck roast on sale for 7 bucks. I needed a pot roast recipe that didn't call for creamy soups or sodium-laden seasoning mixes. One that had no extra carbs no added salt and no added sugar. Not an easy task but lo and behold I found yours!!!! I really didn't think it would be done even after 6 hours baking at 250 degrees. But it was done in 5. The juices leftover were great all by themselves as an 'au jus'. But you could easily make a creamy gravy out of it if you weren't doing the '6-day Body Makeover'! Yep, I saved it to favorites immediately because this is how I will make pot roast forever. I can't thank you enough for posting this !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo April 28, 2010

I have been looking for a way to prepare a roast that makes me look like a rock star - and have failed - until now. My DH wasn't sure he wanted to go to the butcher for a good piece of beef for me to ruin (again), but I insisted I wanted to try your Lazy Day Pot Roast. He is very glad he did, and I'm very glad I insisted. Followed your instructions to the letter and was very happy with the results. Goes to show simple is almost always best. Thanks Salesgirl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraBlueEyes December 27, 2008

Followed recipe exactly. Cooked 6 hours. Was pretty tender, but not as much as I would have liked. Very little juices so couldn't make gravy. Meat was a little dry. Might try again, see if I get different results as the other reviews are so good. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs September 21, 2013

Excellent! I made this as directed and wrapped the roast in foil. I added some potatoes, baby carrots and celery to the bottom of the pan and put the roast on top of them. I used a roasting pan with a lid and everything came out perfectly. I didn't need a knife at all because this roast came out moist and fork tender. The juices made a great gravy too. Thanks Salesgirl for a great winner. Made for Fall PAC 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme October 28, 2012
Lazy Day Pot Roast