14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hubby says a solid 4 of 5; why not 5? Well, its quiche, and he's 63 and from the generation that real men don't eat quiche, hAha. We didn't add tomatoes (served them sliced as a side) but we added diced ham and a couple of shakes of hot sauce and black pepper to give it more kick. Quick, easy Friday pm dinner with those side tomatoes I mentioned plus biscuits, It was quite good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dallas Chef W/Out Time August 09, 2013

YUM! Came out perfect! Put in some sautéed spinach and mushrooms with a little garlic, topped with Roma tomatoes...will make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runsindirt April 24, 2011

I made this on 9/09/08 for the "Breakfast Anytime Challenge" in the Cooking Photo Forum, and as part of mine and SO's dinner. Since it was just my SO and myself, I cut the broccoli down to 1 1/2 cups, and only used 3/4ths of a large tomato.The rest of the ingredients remained the same.The directions were so easy to follow, that even a new bride could make this and impress her mother-in-law.The taste was pretty good, we both thought that it could have used something like garlic powder, and ground black pepper to give it a bit more flavor. But other than that it was a very good dish. Thank you for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � September 10, 2008

No flavor

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPHT January 29, 2005

Great recipe to work with! I wanted to make something similar with a bunch of spinach and onion I needed to use up. I wasn't sure if my substitutions would work out, but it came out perfectly! I'd guess you could substitute the broccoli and tomato with a similar amount of just about any veggie. Besides using spinach instead of broccoli, I only used 1 cup of cheddar cheese. Seriously, delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
it's not easy being green April 06, 2011

This is a delicious recipe. I made this as written, and I loved the beautiful colors. I really liked the no crust aspecto cut down on the calories. It made a lovely brunch dish. I did serve green chile salsa on the side, and picante sauce for guests. Really, and easy to make easy to eat recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie March 28, 2010

After seeing Bergy's beautiful photos and reading her review - just had to try this Casserole!! :) It was delicious! Did cut out on the cheese - used about 1/2 cup of low fat mozzarella cheese and used low-fat milk. Also added a dash of Tabasco! Thanks! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie August 04, 2009

Had this for a light Summer dinner and it hit the spot. I cut way back on the cheese (much as I love cheese). I used one triangle of light laughting cow and 1 oz of lite Havarti and it was still delicious. I added 1 tsp of Mama Africa's zulu sauce - I do love spice. Thanks for a delish dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 22, 2009

Lovely, thank you! I was juggling a few other things in the oven so this ended up being re-heated a bit, but was still great! We don't have Monterey Jack cheese here so I just used cheddar and a combination of a few others and it seemed to work equally well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cirque June 21, 2009

Made this for Easter brunch and am so happy I did. I was looking for a casserole that was lower in calories, and I will def. be making this again. It was easy to throw together and was very pleased with the results. Everything tasted so fresh! I also added breakfast turkey sausage - which made the meal for my boyfriend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrieQuiteContrary April 17, 2009
Lazy Day Brunch Casserole (Crustless Quiche)