Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lazy Cottage Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lazy Cottage Pie

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2003

      This dish was GREAT!!! I just HAVE to give it five stars; it is EASY, INEXPENSIVE, and TASTY! I used homemade mashed potatoes; and I put a handfull of shredded cheddar into the potatoes, then a little more on top. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      The cupboards were a bit bare today but fortunately I did have almost everything on hand to make this cottage pie. I added a few dashes of seasoned salt to the hamburger mixture as it cooked, switched the veggies to frozen mixed corn, beans, carrots and I used leftover mashed potatoes. I had to omit the cheese since I didn't have any but definitely would add it next time just to add more depth to the flavours (plus I am cheese crazy!) I brushed the potatoes with a wee bit of butter and sprinkled with celery salt and paprika. All in all, a pretty good little recipe that is budget friendly and the ingredients are usually on hand. Thx Heather.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      Yumm! I put this together about a month ago and it's been residing in my freezer. Pulled it out this afternoon and let it thaw a bit and baked tonight for about 40 minutes. Very easy and tasty. My mom's looking forward to the leftovers I'll take to her.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I forgot to rate on my previous post.... excellent and easy dinner idea! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      i think this is good. i added garlic powder and added the tomato soup to the beef like someone suggested, and i used peas. i think what this needs is like wayyy more veggies but that's just me. otherwise, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Oh my goodness....what memories this brings up. My aunt used to make this for us all the time when we would stay at their house for the weekend. Its easy, its economical and tastes great. I was so excited to make this simple casserole for my family and they loved it. Thank you so much for posting this classic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Very good, super easy and ecconomical! My mom used to make this when we were young, so when she had surgery recently, I took it over to her! My parents both complimented it, and my dad said it was great reheated the next day. I used the recipe as posted. Very happy to find this!! Thanks, I will use again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

    • on March 06, 2009

      This looked like a great recipe to me, simple, easy to make, usually have everything on hand, etc. I had high hopes to add this to my cadre of comfort foods, but it didn't live up the expectations. I didn't expect it to blow my mind for taste, just that it would be a good use for left over mashed potatoes and a warm filling meal. It was not my cup of tea at all. I made it as written and did not find it suitable. I did give it three stars, obviously a lot of other people really enjoyed it, but even with changes in spices, incorporated the soup early in the process, etc, I don't think it would make the cut for me. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This is a good dish, I substituted turkey for the beef. I think next time I would leave the cheese off, we didn't really like it on this. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      we found this casserole to be very plain.Perhaps if the soup were to be incorporated into the beef it might improve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      This recipe was easy, quick and had great flavor. I forgot the onion, but it didn't seem to make much of a difference. I also added in about a tablespoon of Creole seasoning to the ground beef after draining it, just to give it a little kick. I used frozen mixed veggies, and laid them on the bottom of the pan. then topped with the ground beef and it came out perfectly with 30 minutes of baking. The texture of the crunchy vegetables with the creamy mashed potatoes is a delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I've been trying to find ways to get creative with our leftovers and odds-and-ends in the pantry. This dish was just what I was looking for! I had everything on-hand and it was a great meal for my meat-and-potatoes-loving-husband :) I used 1/2 lb. ground beef cooked with 1 onion and 1 clove garlic. Also, I used Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream in place of the tomato soup and it turned out wonderfully! I didn't have any canned veggies, so I just mixed in a cup or so of frozen mixed veggies. Easy, filling, and a great way to stretch our budget! Thanks, Heather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      the best ever everyone went back for seconds even i did, cant wait to make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This was surprisingly good considering there aren't many ingredients! I added some garlic and oregeno to the ground beef but other than that i kept the recipe the same. Everyone went back for seconds! Thanks for the easy dinner idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      This is good. It was a very quick and easy. Filling and you get protein, vegetables and carbs all in one dish. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      This is such a great tasting dish. I had made so much mashed potatoes that I didn't know what to do with the leftover. Well I will definitely be making this often. I did use vegetable soup instead of tomato (for that's all I had). Also instead of ground beef I used shredded chicken (also from left over). It was very good. My 3 year old loved it! What I love about this recipe is that you can substitute most ingredients. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I will be keeping this recipe around to make often. This cottage pie gave me my fix of comfort food but was so quick, inexpensive, and easy. I used instant mashed potatoes (roasted garlic and cheddar), topped with cheddar cheese, and then slices of tomatoes. I didn't have paprika but will pick up for the next time I make this, and try it without the cheese topping also. I also love that this is made with ingredients I usually keep on hand. How simple! Thanks for sharing HeatherFeather!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Great, fast weekday recipe....I used the refrigerated mashed potatoes, and added a little corn and oregano....was a fast tasty dinner on a cool summer night...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lazy Cottage Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.0
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    17%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 73.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 967.6 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes