29 Reviews

Yumm! I put this together about a month ago and it's been residing in my freezer. Pulled it out this afternoon and let it thaw a bit and baked tonight for about 40 minutes. Very easy and tasty. My mom's looking forward to the leftovers I'll take to her.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani September 10, 2004

This dish was GREAT!!! I just HAVE to give it five stars; it is EASY, INEXPENSIVE, and TASTY! I used homemade mashed potatoes; and I put a handfull of shredded cheddar into the potatoes, then a little more on top. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugsAndKisses May 31, 2003

The cupboards were a bit bare today but fortunately I did have almost everything on hand to make this cottage pie. I added a few dashes of seasoned salt to the hamburger mixture as it cooked, switched the veggies to frozen mixed corn, beans, carrots and I used leftover mashed potatoes. I had to omit the cheese since I didn't have any but definitely would add it next time just to add more depth to the flavours (plus I am cheese crazy!) I brushed the potatoes with a wee bit of butter and sprinkled with celery salt and paprika. All in all, a pretty good little recipe that is budget friendly and the ingredients are usually on hand. Thx Heather.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 18, 2010

IF......it were cream of mushroom soup and tator tots,....this would be "Tator Tot" Hotdish. great recipe...comfort food to the max

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Captnk December 27, 2014

I forgot to rate on my previous post.... excellent and easy dinner idea! We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knjblazer August 05, 2010

i think this is good. i added garlic powder and added the tomato soup to the beef like someone suggested, and i used peas. i think what this needs is like wayyy more veggies but that's just me. otherwise, very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abbs <3 July 27, 2010

Oh my goodness....what memories this brings up. My aunt used to make this for us all the time when we would stay at their house for the weekend. Its easy, its economical and tastes great. I was so excited to make this simple casserole for my family and they loved it. Thank you so much for posting this classic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 22, 2010

Very good, super easy and ecconomical! My mom used to make this when we were young, so when she had surgery recently, I took it over to her! My parents both complimented it, and my dad said it was great reheated the next day. I used the recipe as posted. Very happy to find this!! Thanks, I will use again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy Sowers April 17, 2010

This looked like a great recipe to me, simple, easy to make, usually have everything on hand, etc. I had high hopes to add this to my cadre of comfort foods, but it didn't live up the expectations. I didn't expect it to blow my mind for taste, just that it would be a good use for left over mashed potatoes and a warm filling meal. It was not my cup of tea at all. I made it as written and did not find it suitable. I did give it three stars, obviously a lot of other people really enjoyed it, but even with changes in spices, incorporated the soup early in the process, etc, I don't think it would make the cut for me. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk March 06, 2009
Lazy Cottage Pie