19 Reviews

This was fantastic and ridiculously easy. I used a 3lb beef chuck roast, I skipped the garlic, seasoned the roast with salt, pepper, and some garlic powder, added a jar of pepperoncini and some carrots, and let her rip. I have one of the crock pots that has a probe so when the probe said it was done (after about 3 hours) the roast, while technically cooked to temperature, was a little tough. I cranked the pot to high and let it go another 2 hours. By the end it was amazing flavored and fall apart tender. We took some crusty baguettes and melted some white american cheese under the broiler and made beef sandwiches using the rendered juice as an "au jus". Heavenly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KylerEsq December 06, 2010

This was great! I replaced the cloves of garlic with garlic salt (sad, I know), and cooked everything for 8 hours. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman November 04, 2014

This was great and I love the simplicity! Was packed full of flavor and the crusty roll and provolone took it over the top for us. Will be making this often,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 June 04, 2011

This was very good, but I am giving it 5 stars for versitility! It was great for sandwiches...and then I used the left overs for shredded beef burritos! I've been looking for a recipe that would stand on it's own for sandwiches, but also blend well as shredded beef for mexican dishes. I've found it! You can control the heat with the type of pepperoncini's you use. So easy to make, great staple!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kamocean August 09, 2010

VERY easy. Everyone loved it. We used toasted hamburger buns, and I separated the pepperoncinis from the meat before shredding it (some people ate them on top of the sandwich, others left them off). We then used the excess juice from the Crockpot to dip the sandwiches. SO GOOD.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alynic May 28, 2010

You wanna talk about good, this is it! Great in a crusty sub roll!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChewieJacuBeau August 27, 2009

What a great recipe and so darn easy too! I didn't like it as much on a bread roll, much better on a flour tortilla, a little shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream. I'll be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 June 05, 2009

Wow. That's all I have to say. The small amount of heat from the peppers was perfect. I had to bake it in my oven, as I don't have a slow cooker. Maybe it's time to break down and buy one. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlrinaldo June 01, 2009

This is so easy and good. My husband loves this!! Thanks so much for an easy yummy meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adena mangis April 27, 2009

I should have reviewed this fantastic recipe the first time I made it. Love it, love it! One of DH's favourites. I add a few things, not to make better, just my obsession to tweak. After inserting the garlic, I salt and pepper liberally. Saute some onion first, remove onion, then brown beef. I dump the onions and the browned beef into my slow cooker, along with the peppers, a splash of beef broth and a splash of red wine and finish off with a sprinkle of oregano. Serve on Kaiser rolls, top with a slice of Provolone and run under the broiler until cheese melts. Wonderful, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana Chickens February 04, 2009
Lazy Butt Pepperoncini Crock Pot Beef