13 Reviews

I'm giving it 5 stars because I made slight changes to it and I hate it when people make changes and then give the recipe less than 5 stars. DUH! Anyway, I loved the idea to get rid of veggies in my fridge but here are my changes and we thought it was great: Someone said that it was plain so I added some chopped garlic, red bell pepper and garlic powder and sprinkled a lot of salt and pepper. Didn't have mushrooms but didn't miss them. I also used cherry tomatoes and chopped them up, put it all in order as the recipe says but put it in a 10x13 in. glass casserole dish (I think a metal baking pan would have been better, this adds more browning) and added almost a half a cup of pats of butter. 2 Tbsp. of butter is just not enough for that many veggies. So I'd say use more butter and parmesan cheese to taste. Ginny thank you for the idea! We liked it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern_gal12000 March 03, 2010

Very good. I made the recipe as directed. This was quite tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac October 21, 2012

I altered according to some of the other reviewers.

I used olive oil instead of butter (4 T instead of 2). I added 3 cloves of garlic to the oil. I used about 1/4 cup parmesan instead of 2 T.

It needed more than 35 minutes at 375 degrees to be done. I think next time I'll saute the onions for 5 minutes before making it... the onions were a little crunchy even after 45 minutes.

Anyway, a great recipe with great potential and just a few small modifications make it a better recipe. It needs too much tweaking to get 5 stars, but I'll definitely make this again. I look forward to using leftovers today for a veggie sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW October 01, 2012

This was great, I used just a pinch of salt, lots of pepper, omitted the cheese for hubby but sprinkled some on my plate, and instead of butter I used olive oil. Next day it worked great in the omelet that I made. Yum! This is going in our rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 July 16, 2012

What a great idea! I changed it a little, so I'm giving it 5 stars and telling what I did different. I left out the mushrooms; used a whole pepper instead of half. Also a red onion, instead of plain onion. I added 3 cloves garlic, sliced; fresh basil leaves, tucked between the layers; and fresh-ground pepper and oregano. I used a little mozzarella cheese, grated, to bind the layers together. No butter; greased the dish with oil. (Made in a glass casserole dish to show off the pretty color layers.) Turned out absolutely great and will make again very soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omniveg July 06, 2012

MMM.....Delish!!! I only ever knew of one yellow squash/zucchini dish. It was the dish my father would make. Yep, anytime/every time I remember having squash and zucchini it was served just the same...no variation. Don't get me wrong, it was good. But, I like to try new and diff recipes. I get so tired and bored of the same old dishes. My husband would rather I not experiment. Anyway, hubby and I are very glad we tried this recipe. It was easy, and again, delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative October 11, 2011

I really liked this recipe as it was easy to throw together. I added 2 cloves of garlic because I love the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmelv2cook September 27, 2010

Sorry, we just thought this was too plain. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn December 06, 2005

I give this 5 stars because it was delicious and easy to make. However, I had to use a larger dish. I also increased the grated parmesan. I would prefer cup measurements for the squash rather than size, i.e., medium. I will make this again and again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna J July 13, 2005

This is a great recipe to use all the zucchinis and tomatoes growing right now. Mom put this together and baked but I helped eat ;). We all voted it as a five star recipe. I really liked the taste of the parmesan with all the veggies - kinda like a pizza without all the carbs! Thanks for the recipe GinnySue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs7 July 08, 2005
Layered Zucchini & Yellow Squash Casserole