Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layered Zucchini & Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layered Zucchini & Yellow Squash Casserole

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2010

      I'm giving it 5 stars because I made slight changes to it and I hate it when people make changes and then give the recipe less than 5 stars. DUH! Anyway, I loved the idea to get rid of veggies in my fridge but here are my changes and we thought it was great: Someone said that it was plain so I added some chopped garlic, red bell pepper and garlic powder and sprinkled a lot of salt and pepper. Didn't have mushrooms but didn't miss them. I also used cherry tomatoes and chopped them up, put it all in order as the recipe says but put it in a 10x13 in. glass casserole dish (I think a metal baking pan would have been better, this adds more browning) and added almost a half a cup of pats of butter. 2 Tbsp. of butter is just not enough for that many veggies. So I'd say use more butter and parmesan cheese to taste. Ginny thank you for the idea! We liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Very good. I made the recipe as directed. This was quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      I altered according to some of the other reviewers.

      I used olive oil instead of butter (4 T instead of 2). I added 3 cloves of garlic to the oil. I used about 1/4 cup parmesan instead of 2 T.

      It needed more than 35 minutes at 375 degrees to be done. I think next time I'll saute the onions for 5 minutes before making it... the onions were a little crunchy even after 45 minutes.

      Anyway, a great recipe with great potential and just a few small modifications make it a better recipe. It needs too much tweaking to get 5 stars, but I'll definitely make this again. I look forward to using leftovers today for a veggie sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      This was great, I used just a pinch of salt, lots of pepper, omitted the cheese for hubby but sprinkled some on my plate, and instead of butter I used olive oil. Next day it worked great in the omelet that I made. Yum! This is going in our rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      What a great idea! I changed it a little, so I'm giving it 5 stars and telling what I did different. I left out the mushrooms; used a whole pepper instead of half. Also a red onion, instead of plain onion. I added 3 cloves garlic, sliced; fresh basil leaves, tucked between the layers; and fresh-ground pepper and oregano. I used a little mozzarella cheese, grated, to bind the layers together. No butter; greased the dish with oil. (Made in a glass casserole dish to show off the pretty color layers.) Turned out absolutely great and will make again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      MMM.....Delish!!! I only ever knew of one yellow squash/zucchini dish. It was the dish my father would make. Yep, anytime/every time I remember having squash and zucchini it was served just the same...no variation. Don't get me wrong, it was good. But, I like to try new and diff recipes. I get so tired and bored of the same old dishes. My husband would rather I not experiment. Anyway, hubby and I are very glad we tried this recipe. It was easy, and again, delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      I really liked this recipe as it was easy to throw together. I added 2 cloves of garlic because I love the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      Sorry, we just thought this was too plain. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      I give this 5 stars because it was delicious and easy to make. However, I had to use a larger dish. I also increased the grated parmesan. I would prefer cup measurements for the squash rather than size, i.e., medium. I will make this again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      This is a great recipe to use all the zucchinis and tomatoes growing right now. Mom put this together and baked but I helped eat ;). We all voted it as a five star recipe. I really liked the taste of the parmesan with all the veggies - kinda like a pizza without all the carbs! Thanks for the recipe GinnySue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      Loved how simple this was to make. I hesitated to use green peppers because we are not fans of it, but it just added to the great flavor. My DD who is not a veggie fan even loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2004

      This was delicious as well as incredibly simple. I had presliced yellow squash, zucchini and mushrooms already so this took all of 3 minutes to prepare. Flavors were marvelous - everything good enough to stand on its own but melding perfectly. I had this plus some chicken strips grilled with fresh basil and butter - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      This was awesome! We had it with chicken and a tossed salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layered Zucchini & Yellow Squash Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.4
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    53%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 11.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 72.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes