Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layered Zucchini Lasagna(No Noodles!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layered Zucchini Lasagna(No Noodles!)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2009

      So good ... I skined the zucchini to see if I could fool the family and it worked - no one had any idea there was no pasta. I made a few changes. I didn't pre cook the zucchini and think that might be why it was a bit extra wet. I used homemade sauce and an extra garlic clove. Made for a great dinner! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Light & delicious. I made it because my husband, after gastric bypass surgery, is now at a phase where he can eat ground meat, cooked veggies, tomato sauce, no pasta, and we grow zucchini! so all I changed was I used a little of the tomato sauce as it came out of the jar to smear on the bottom of the casserole, to keep the zucchini from possibly sticking. I added chopped onion to the meat mix & used a good canned red-wine/herb tomato sauce. I broiled the thinly sliced zucchini with a bit of olive oil, s&p, & dried basil, till tender-crisp on 2 pizza pans first. I used low-fat ricotta cheese. I tented the dish w. aluminum foil at first, then removed it once I added the top cheese layer. It came out perfect, delicious, light, and tasted even better the next day. Worlds removed from the heavy, greasy, lasagnas I've had in the past. a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2014

      The best lasagna I've ever had. A real winner. We all really liked it. I used jarred sauce and added some ground round, and used a light ricotta. I did leave the skin on the zucchini. Hmm good! My only Lasagna recipe from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Very good. Skinned and roasted zucchini strips in oven @ 375

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      So delicious... I grilled the zucchini with little salt and i used ground veal. I didn't have mozzarella and i used pepper jack instead, came out really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      You might try using yellow summer squash in this recipe. It doesn't look green, so I've been able to "get by" using it in recipes when the family can't look at any more zucchini.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      We loved this! I made one change because I was nervous about the zucchini making it watery, so I layered the bottom in noodles and used zucchini as the seconde layer. I broiled the zucchini and really made sure I got as much water squeezed out as possible. It wasn't watery at all. It was delish! Even great the next couple of days! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      Fantastic!! I did the ricotta option, but did everything else by the book. The whole family loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      This was made in honor of your husband, Sharon. I was so sorry to hear he had passed away! You can't go wrong with a Cooking Light recipe. This was a delicious and filling comfort meal and I plan to make it again soon.
      Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      Love this - I also don't precook the "noodles" but I do dry them between paper towels before adding them to the dish. I make my own sauce and use sausage for a little extra pep.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      The flavors of this casserole were really good! My zucchini (which I sauted) turned our really mushy/slimy so the texture of that made it not as enjoyable, we didn't save the leftovers for that reason. I am not exactly sure how to correct this. May try the broiling idea another poster gave. All in all, this was very good, and I will make it again. But I do want to add..my kids could not be tricked into thinking the zucchini was noodles. Even skinned, it had an obvious green tint, and they noticed it immediately!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Fantastic!! This dish is really something! I loved using the zucchini in place of noodles!! The flavors are wonderful. I did use the option of ricotta cheese but that was the only little change. I sliced my zucchini vertically so I'd get long thin strips to use just like noodles...worked out perfectly. This was just such a nice change and much lighter to eat than using pasta noodles. Made for your bonus win for the Summer Spectacular Event in the Cooking Games with Friends forum! 10 Star dish all the way! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Absolutely love this casserole! It can easily be made ahead and baked when you're ready to cook it. A delicious way to get in some veggies, along with beef and tomato sauce (always a hit at my house)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This was delicious! I am really surprised that a reduced calorie dish like this has all the flavor of a traditional lasagne. I followed this recipe to the letter. I hesitated about getting the fat free cottage cheese because I can't stand the texture of it right out of the carton. I thought I'd give it a try though given the other review and it tasted great. I sliced my zucchini lengthwise to more closely match the shape of lasagne noodles. I would recommend letting them dry for a few minutes after boiling to eliminate extra water in the casserole. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      This was excellent and the whole family loved it!! Very easy to make. I did fry some onion in with the meat, about 1/2 cup. But that was the only change I made. You really do not mess up that many dishes either. I measured the zucchini in a 8 cup Pyrex measuring container, then sauted that in my deep dish skillet and put it back into the measurer. Then in that skillet I browned the meat and ect. I had a 2 1/2 cup Pyrex measuring container that I mixed the cheese, egg and parsley into. So three dishes plus the baking dish, love it! I made this for the Zaar Tag 2007 game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layered Zucchini Lasagna(No Noodles!)

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.3
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    53%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 96.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 551.9 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat spaghetti sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes