Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layered Vegetable Kugel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layered Vegetable Kugel

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2003

      I made this for the second night of Passover. Everyone really liked it. The broccoli portion of the recipe is absolutely delicious and I think I will make a kugel just of that next time! It is a time consuming dish but I was very pleased to bring something different and tasty to my FIL's for dinner. Thanks for another great recipe Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Finally got to try this. Very hard to rate. I'm with the group that didn't particularly care for the flavors together. Apart the layers were fabulous (I would double the broccoli layer though!) The smell of the carrot layer while assembling was mouth watering - the brown sugar, cinnamon and juices are a PERFECT combo. But I didn't care for it in conjunction with the garlic from the broccoli layer and the mushrooms from the cauliflower layer. Oddly enough - the cauliflower layer was the one I was unsure of, but it was my favorite! I used an 8oz package of mushrooms and slightly more onion then called for. I would make it again leaving out the carrot layer, and doubling the broccoli. Or make the carrot layer on it's own. I also want to say a BIG thank you to Mirj who got back to me ON Thanksgiving day to answer a question I had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This is one of our family's favorites, and I keep forgetting to put my review here. The work involved is not that bad and it is well worth it. The flavors are perfect together, as these are flavors joined together quite often in vegetable 'medleys'. It always is beautiful to look at on the table as well. I need to remember to take photos this next time! This is a keeper we use time and time again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

    • on April 13, 2009

      This was a great kugel and all of the flavors went together beautifully. I used fresh vegetables. Instead of 1 cup of eggs for the broccoli and cauliflower layers, I used 3 eggs in each layer. (I think 4 eggs make 1 cup.) I used black pepper instead of white since that is what I had on hand. I used the pre-shredded carrots from the store and just broke them up a little with my spoon when combining ingredients. My tester was clean at 45 minutes of baking. I also had to reheat the kugel so additional baking was done at that time. It took me a lot longer than 30 minutes of prep time, but it was worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      I made this for a seder at my fathers house. This is not good. The flavors may work alone but in combination, they are really strange.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This is a spectacular recipe. This is the second year in a row that I have made it for Passover. I use a 10" springform pan instead of the 9x13 and slice it like cake. Jackie in Wilmington, DE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      I don't know where I went wrong, but I made this for Passover and it was far from a hit. Only one person liked it. I threw most of it away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Very tasty kugel. It certainly does involve work, and the prep time is closer to 45min to an hour - can't imagine getting this done in the 30min stated. I lightened it up a bit by using egg whites instead of whole eggs, and it worked beautifully. Broccoli layer needed 7 egg whites, carrot layer needed 2 egg whites, cauliflower layer needed 6 egg whites and used light orange juice (Tropicana light n' healthy). I did use the whole cup of brown sugar, but I bet I could have used 1/3 less, atleast. Then, if using less sugar, you can cut the oil too. As I made it, for 20 servings, it gives 5 WW points per serving (all veggies are free), which is GREAT! I think you can easily get 32 servings from this as well (what I got), especially if there's a lot to eat, like on Passover, and that will give 3 WW points per serving. Would have gotten the extra star, but no raves at the table for this dish, sad :( considering the amount of work it took.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Delicious! I had some of your Crock Pot Carmelized Onions (http://www.recipezaar.com/24750) in the fridge, and I substituted them for the onions in the cauliflower layer. I also didn't have fresh mushrooms at hand, so I substituted some jarred mushrooms that I sauteed a bit with some chopped garlic and a bit of olive oil. As it's been said, this is a labor-intensive dish, but it is so delicious and worth the work. Next time I make it, I'll make it in 2 8X8 pans and freeze one. Thank you Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      I made this twice, the first time according to the recipe. Got rave reviews, and I loved it. The second time, I didn't have orange juice or lemon juice in the house, so I squeezed an orange and added lemon pepper. That was a mistake. The carrot layer in that second kugel came out too sweet. But otherwise, I think this is an amazing dish, both for its different layers of flavors and its aesthetic appeal... 2007 UPDATE-made it again this year for the seder and EVERYONE wants the recipe. An amazingly tasty dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      I have made this recipe for the last two years. I wasnt going to make it again this year. While it is delicious, it takes way more than the listed 30 minute preparation time. Lots and lots of work! After much whining from family, once again it will be at our seder meal. Do agree with trick. If you choose to make only one layer, the carrot would be my vote.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      This recipie is very time consuming as noted but worth every moment. I get raves with it every year. This year I think I will use the suggestion of making it in layers and stages. I plan on doubling it and making it in two seperate pans . . . This is one to use year round and not just on Passover . . . It is not only yummy but it is pretty :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I made this for Rosh Hashana. My family loved it. A really gread recipe!!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      I found this too much work for the end result. Each layer did have a distinct flavor but, to me, it just wasn't the greatest. My company didn't seem to enjoy it either. I was expecting vibrant colors, and was disappointed that it wasn't so. The carrot layer was very tasty and I think I would make it again with a little less cinnamon. Thanks for posting though because it gave me the opportunity to make a new veggie (the carrot layer).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      I made this for my in-laws for dinner. They all enjoyed it and it is very filling. My husband liked it, too. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      I made this for Passover. Rather than fresh veggies, I used frozen and that saved a lot of time. The only layer that was very time consuming was the cauliflower layer....what with all the sauteeing. Time consuming does not equal difficult, though. It was a very simple recipe to follow. I halved it, since we only had the 4 of us for the second night. It fit perfectly in a 8x8 pan. An excellent recipe that is different from the usual holiday offerings. Passover can be so boring with the same things....this was a great break from the same old. I definitely will use this recipe year round, not just for Passover. It would be perfect for Thanksgiving, RoshHashana or Yom Kippur. Or any night when I have a bit of extra time to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layered Vegetable Kugel

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.4
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    41%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 113.3 mg
    37%
    Sodium 436.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites