17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for the second night of Passover. Everyone really liked it. The broccoli portion of the recipe is absolutely delicious and I think I will make a kugel just of that next time! It is a time consuming dish but I was very pleased to bring something different and tasty to my FIL's for dinner. Thanks for another great recipe Mirjam.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl April 19, 2003

Finally got to try this. Very hard to rate. I'm with the group that didn't particularly care for the flavors together. Apart the layers were fabulous (I would double the broccoli layer though!) The smell of the carrot layer while assembling was mouth watering - the brown sugar, cinnamon and juices are a PERFECT combo. But I didn't care for it in conjunction with the garlic from the broccoli layer and the mushrooms from the cauliflower layer. Oddly enough - the cauliflower layer was the one I was unsure of, but it was my favorite! I used an 8oz package of mushrooms and slightly more onion then called for. I would make it again leaving out the carrot layer, and doubling the broccoli. Or make the carrot layer on it's own. I also want to say a BIG thank you to Mirj who got back to me ON Thanksgiving day to answer a question I had!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma December 02, 2010

This is one of our family's favorites, and I keep forgetting to put my review here. The work involved is not that bad and it is well worth it. The flavors are perfect together, as these are flavors joined together quite often in vegetable 'medleys'. It always is beautiful to look at on the table as well. I need to remember to take photos this next time! This is a keeper we use time and time again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanieK March 19, 2010

This was a great kugel and all of the flavors went together beautifully. I used fresh vegetables. Instead of 1 cup of eggs for the broccoli and cauliflower layers, I used 3 eggs in each layer. (I think 4 eggs make 1 cup.) I used black pepper instead of white since that is what I had on hand. I used the pre-shredded carrots from the store and just broke them up a little with my spoon when combining ingredients. My tester was clean at 45 minutes of baking. I also had to reheat the kugel so additional baking was done at that time. It took me a lot longer than 30 minutes of prep time, but it was worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aviva April 13, 2009

I made this for a seder at my fathers house. This is not good. The flavors may work alone but in combination, they are really strange.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegwife April 10, 2009

This is a spectacular recipe. This is the second year in a row that I have made it for Passover. I use a 10" springform pan instead of the 9x13 and slice it like cake. Jackie in Wilmington, DE

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitwit17 April 21, 2008

I don't know where I went wrong, but I made this for Passover and it was far from a hit. Only one person liked it. I threw most of it away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorenegutman1 April 21, 2008

Very tasty kugel. It certainly does involve work, and the prep time is closer to 45min to an hour - can't imagine getting this done in the 30min stated. I lightened it up a bit by using egg whites instead of whole eggs, and it worked beautifully. Broccoli layer needed 7 egg whites, carrot layer needed 2 egg whites, cauliflower layer needed 6 egg whites and used light orange juice (Tropicana light n' healthy). I did use the whole cup of brown sugar, but I bet I could have used 1/3 less, atleast. Then, if using less sugar, you can cut the oil too. As I made it, for 20 servings, it gives 5 WW points per serving (all veggies are free), which is GREAT! I think you can easily get 32 servings from this as well (what I got), especially if there's a lot to eat, like on Passover, and that will give 3 WW points per serving. Would have gotten the extra star, but no raves at the table for this dish, sad :( considering the amount of work it took.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AniSarit April 20, 2008

Delicious! I had some of your Crock Pot Carmelized Onions (http://www.recipezaar.com/24750) in the fridge, and I substituted them for the onions in the cauliflower layer. I also didn't have fresh mushrooms at hand, so I substituted some jarred mushrooms that I sauteed a bit with some chopped garlic and a bit of olive oil. As it's been said, this is a labor-intensive dish, but it is so delicious and worth the work. Next time I make it, I'll make it in 2 8X8 pans and freeze one. Thank you Mirj!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Nora September 14, 2007
Layered Vegetable Kugel