18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another delicious and quick one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 26, 2014

This was great! I did add green chilies to the onion/meat mixture but you could use bell pepper if you're worried about the heat. We loved it and I will definitely make again! Oh and I used a 10x10x2 corning ware pan after reading other reviews which worked for me. Next time, if I'm in a hurry, I'll use 2-10 oz. cans of Rotel in place of the onions, chilies and tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Felines September 08, 2010

Awesome! This is the best tamale pie recipe I have ever eaten! Most other tamale pie recipes are just a meat mixture on the bottom with cornbread baked on top. This recipe is more of a true 'pie' than any of the others. Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Man June 22, 2010

This was really tasty, cut nicely, and the whole family enjoyed it. I did make just a few changes - I left out the corn meal, and used a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes (tomatoes with peppers) instead of plain crushed tomatoes, which gave it a little more bite. I also sprinkled some chopped jalapenos on top. This will be part of our regular rotation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaynine June 08, 2010

The cornmeal in this recipe made it gritty. My Husband said it was okay but I couldn't eat it..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandi Goodman January 28, 2010

Delicious! I made this recipe based on Chef#226863's recommendation for the Top Favorites of 2008 Game. I made as posted except I did not have a round pyrex or cake pan so used a square 9X9 pan which was weird but my AZ kitchen is small. A friend called me when I was suppose to take this out of the oven, so my photo looks a bit dry b/c it was in the oven longer than 25 minutes. Thanks Juju Bee for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal February 24, 2009

I really liked this recipe! I made it exactly as written, except I discovered I didn't have enough crushed tomatoes so I added half a can of rotel with diced green chiles and cilantro. It made enough to fill a 2 1/2 quart casserole. I will make this again, possibly adding more green chiles or possible a jalapeno. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 21, 2008

We loved it. It was very difficult to fit in one dish. Maybe our tortillas were to big, we used the large size. We used Flour ones personal preference. Did NOT like it reheated! Tasted best the day it was made- when the tortillas are crispy out of the oven!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m October 12, 2007

This dish was incredible!!! DH made it last night and there wasn't a bite left. Very different tamale pie recipe and will certainly be made and served at my house again and again! Thanks JuJu Bee....my DH loves you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherrybeth August 24, 2006

Good comfort dish that's easy to get on the table. Your idea about the layers was a nice one---I think the layers are what make the dish. I tasted the meat mixture before I started assembling the layers and decided it needed more flavor to suit our tastes, so I added some chili powder and a can of chopped green chiles. We ate it with taquera salsa. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ June 21, 2005
Layered Tamale Pie