Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layered Tamale Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layered Tamale Pie

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2010

      This was great! I did add green chilies to the onion/meat mixture but you could use bell pepper if you're worried about the heat. We loved it and I will definitely make again! Oh and I used a 10x10x2 corning ware pan after reading other reviews which worked for me. Next time, if I'm in a hurry, I'll use 2-10 oz. cans of Rotel in place of the onions, chilies and tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Awesome! This is the best tamale pie recipe I have ever eaten! Most other tamale pie recipes are just a meat mixture on the bottom with cornbread baked on top. This recipe is more of a true 'pie' than any of the others. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This was really tasty, cut nicely, and the whole family enjoyed it. I did make just a few changes - I left out the corn meal, and used a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes (tomatoes with peppers) instead of plain crushed tomatoes, which gave it a little more bite. I also sprinkled some chopped jalapenos on top. This will be part of our regular rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      The cornmeal in this recipe made it gritty. My Husband said it was okay but I couldn't eat it..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Delicious! I made this recipe based on Chef#226863's recommendation for the Top Favorites of 2008 Game. I made as posted except I did not have a round pyrex or cake pan so used a square 9X9 pan which was weird but my AZ kitchen is small. A friend called me when I was suppose to take this out of the oven, so my photo looks a bit dry b/c it was in the oven longer than 25 minutes. Thanks Juju Bee for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I really liked this recipe! I made it exactly as written, except I discovered I didn't have enough crushed tomatoes so I added half a can of rotel with diced green chiles and cilantro. It made enough to fill a 2 1/2 quart casserole. I will make this again, possibly adding more green chiles or possible a jalapeno. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      We loved it. It was very difficult to fit in one dish. Maybe our tortillas were to big, we used the large size. We used Flour ones personal preference. Did NOT like it reheated! Tasted best the day it was made- when the tortillas are crispy out of the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      This dish was incredible!!! DH made it last night and there wasn't a bite left. Very different tamale pie recipe and will certainly be made and served at my house again and again! Thanks JuJu Bee....my DH loves you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      Good comfort dish that's easy to get on the table. Your idea about the layers was a nice one---I think the layers are what make the dish. I tasted the meat mixture before I started assembling the layers and decided it needed more flavor to suit our tastes, so I added some chili powder and a can of chopped green chiles. We ate it with taquera salsa. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Very good recipe. Even my picky DH ate it and asked for more! I only used 2 cups of cheese & it was enough. I tore the tortillas to make them fit my pan. I used a 9" round cake pan, and it was completely full. It cuts beautifully, and warms up nice, too. DH had to eat his as leftovers & didn't complain. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      Very quick and easy recipe, perfect for weeknight dinners! I served with sour cream and hot salsa on the side, I thought it did need something to spice it up a bit. Very nice though, would be perfect for families with kids. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      great recipe. i did add 1 can black beans and i added some sliced jalapeno peppers for a little heat. it was really good. i did bake for 45 minutes. will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      Very tasty tamale pie!! We enjoyed the change, a new way to use hamburger. We will be making it again. With just the two of us we couldn't eat the whole thing so I will be freezing what's left in lunch size pieces. It certainly cut very easily into nice wedges. Was very easy to put together too, I only had 6 tortillas but it worked just fine, 3 on the bottom and 3 in the middle. Next time I think I will add some fresh jalepeno in with the onion for a little heat. Thanks for sharing a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2005

      This was quite good and extremely easy. I made exactly as written, and loved all the corn flavors going on. Next time I will add some jalapenos and make it with a third layer of the corn tortillas, as I think that is my favorite part. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      I really enjoyed this recipe. It was delicious. I used flour tortillas (smallest) and had a hard time with covering the square pyrex. Next time I will use corn tortillas and a round baking dish. Also the baking took longer than anticipated. No biggie. I love the flavor, the corn meal makes all the diffrence in the world. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      This review is based on taste only because my husband cooked it. Wonderful! The taste of the corn meal really jumps out at you. My son rated it a 5 star, which makes it a winner in my book. I can see assembling this in the morning, and popping it in the oven at the end of a busy day. We did have to use flour tortillas instead of corn, because that is all we had and we topped it with sour cream before eating. I was a bit surprised that it was baked in a 8*8 square pan (as stated) but it says to cut as a pie. Also, this took about 25 minutes to fully warm. Thank you, and we will definitally be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2004

      Ummmm! This recipe sounds absolutely Delish!!! Thank you for adding to my "Hamburger" recipes! My hubby will LOVE this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layered Tamale Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 447.1
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    51%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 83.0 mg
    27%
    Sodium 493.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 24.9 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites