Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layered Summer Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layered Summer Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2008

      Oh, this is so good! I lightened the calories and fat content by using 2% cheese, FF mayo and FF sour cream. I subbed the red onion (ran out) with green onions and also added a tsp. of Splenda to the dressing mix. It seemed like it needed a bit of sweetness. Beautiful presentation in a glass bowl and so easy to throw together! Thanks Lainey! Be sure to let this sit to allow the flavors to mingle! MERP'd for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      Perfect! Loved that I could assemble ahead and is so pretty in glass bowl. We liked the 1 tablespoon basil amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      This salad is wonderful. I saw the comment from Shelvin about the bazil & only added just a sprinkle. Also added a layer of cooked macaroni. I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Well, I don't know what happened, but I found that amount of fresh basil waaaaay to overwhelming. Could I have the wrong variety of basil? Not sure what kind you used, but it was way too much and everyone didn't like it. We ended up throwing the whole dish out. I love the other ingredients, and wished we didn't put the dressing on top! Next time no basil for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Loved this one! I did make a couple of changes: Used a spring mix, omitted the mushrooms and used colby jack cheese. Also added a splash of red wine vinegar to the dresssing. Thanks for posting this fantabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      DH madethis for our 4th of July picnic and it was great. Specially the dressing which made it really special. Afraid he didn't quite understand the concept of layering so the veggies where all mixed but I did catch him in time to layer the topping and it was still so pretty - maybe even easier to dish out with the veggies mixed. He did everything (except for the layering) exactly as directed and couldn't have been happier. For ease in prep we used pre-mixed salad greens in a wild mix and another of baby spinach greens and fresh basil from the garden. It was also nice that it could be made early and put in the fridge to wait for serving. Thanks Lainey for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      I had two BBQ's one weekend, and I made a 9x13 dish of this salad for each one. It was a HUGE hit at both! I was even told it was "bangin." This will be my new go-to dish to bring to events. Thanks Lainey!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      I was a bit skeptical,,,,,Thought the ingredients(peas) didn't go...But they did! I did add a splash of red wine vinegar to the dressing just to make it a lil more spreadable. Actually held up for the next day! Does spinach just do well like that or is it the dressing...???

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      this saild is great im not a mushroom eater so i would leave out them
      and used fresh strawberrys i served this at a family get togther last year
      with leaving in fred over night it stay crisp and fresh

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Loved it - took it to a Luncheon of 12 today, and it was raved about! The only change I made was I used Tex-Mex shredded cheese which had a bit of Jalepenale in it, and I used a spice mixture of basil, parsley, margoram and oregano, which I use in everything. Will make this one often. It definitely needs the five hour refrigeration for all the flavors to blend.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This is a wonderful salad. Very easy to make and tastes even better the next day!!!! Will be making this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      Tried this with the grandkids under 12 to 3yos and the Sunday school kids and the moms said that this was the only salad that they asked for more of Yeah ! I do it once a month.PS leave out the onions for kids,use onion powder and garlic potato chips on top under the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      Very good. I used a black pepper bacon which added a good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layered Summer Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.6
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    59%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 24.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 244.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites