9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe for a crowd!! I love it and so does my whole family!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
escape January 11, 2012

This was an excellent recipe. I made it for Christmas eve appetizers. I used fresh shrimp, medium sized, cut up into bite size pieces and made fresh cocktail sauce. Quite the hit! Thanks for a great recipe, I will definitely use this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktgabel December 25, 2008

Wonderful! The hit of my Super Bowl party this year...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sk888888 February 05, 2008

I have made this so many times and I'm ashamed of myself to discover I haven't yet reviewed it. This is an complete hit everywhere I take it and it's so easy to put together, yet looks impressive. I always use 12 ounces of medium cooked frozen shrimp that I thaw in warm salted water, drain well, and then cut into thirds. I also sprinkle the well drained chopped fresh tomato on top of the cheese right before serving and garnish with some basil leaves. One thing I've discovered is that bottled cocktail sauces vary greatly in their flavor, so make sure to taste before using. One batch was ruined when I forgot this tip and used a generic brand that tasted like nothing more than ketchup... ack, lol! Thanks for posting such a delicious, easy, and useful recipe, abloom. I will be making it for years to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina September 02, 2007

This is a Christmas tradition in my family. We usually use a sharp cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella and on occasion will add a can of crab meat as well, but other than that the recipe is unchanged. There is never any leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayweed December 26, 2006

I took this to a family picnic...it was gone in no time. I used frozen thawed salad shrimp instead of the canned and put the cocktail sauce over the shrimp, then layered the last 4 ingredients over that...delish!! I had numerous requests for the recipe. I know this will show up at many more family gatherings. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookCol July 14, 2006

I could hardly wait to dig in. This is so yummy and easy to make. I only used 2 4 oz. cans of shrimp, it seemed to be plenty and I put the cheese on top of it all, did not use green peppers or my son would not eat it. Thanks for a great appetizer. Its a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio July 29, 2005

This recipe is very good, and a great idea for an appy. I took it to a BBQ lastnight, and the whole thing was gone in a couple of hours. I had everyone asking for the recipe. I served it with taco chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purdy Good Cook May 29, 2005

Made this for our euchre party, and served with triscuit crackers....was a winner....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc May 27, 2005
Layered Shrimp Dip