Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layered Lettuce Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layered Lettuce Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2002

      What a great make-ahead salad for a group!!! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. Made it a couple of hours ahead of time and it kept very well in the refrigerator. VERY TASTY and I recommend everyone give this a try. Thanks again Beaner for sharing this dish. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      I have always loved this salad! Grew up on it as my mom's 'company' salad. I cut it in half, add a Tbsp of milk to the dressing, and make it in a square pan. Sometimes use spinach instead of iceberg lettuce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I made some modifications: 1 1/2 c mayo. 1/2 c buttermilk, and 2 tbs of cider vinegar for the dressing. I also used red and orange peppers and purple onion to add color instead of the all green as stated in the recipe. Finally, I sprinkled shredded parm over the finished salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      Have made a version of this recipe for many years. I used lowfat mayo, no sugar, and fat free cheese. Also chopped the eggs instead of slicing. A hit at our Memorial Day cook-out. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      This was a very tasty layered lettuce salad. My DH really enjoyed it. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This is the best recipe ever! My family and my husbands family have it every time we get together for a meal. I always add broccoli and fresh ground pepper. It is absolutely wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I really enjoyed this! I brought it to a party in a trifle bowl (3 layers), and only a tiny bit was left by the end of the party. I added a tbsp of vinegar to the dressing as suggested by the others. I used a red pepper instead of green to add color. I did not add celery. I made my salad 15 hrs. ahead of time, but I will go with the suggested 8-10 next time, because it seemed to have more moisture to it than I would have liked. Perhaps my lettuce was still too moist after washing? I used a 16-oz bag of cheese, just because I like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      A great make-ahead layered salad. I made this to take to a pot-luck type gathering and it was just what I needed. I put it together the night before, and it was still good the next night for dinner. As other reviewers suggested, I added a little vinegar to the mayo mix and it was a good touch. Thanks for the great recipe, Beaner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This is the traditional layered salad, and is perfect! You can adjust veggie amounts to taste (I always add extra bacon) & it's great for potlucks & church. Also very beautiful! Can be cut in 1/2 for home use, as once tossed does not keep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      we all just loved this recipe after a slight bit of tweaking. I made as instructed except using red pepper, but changed up the dressing a little... i added teh sugar to the mayo and i know my DH and he wouldn't eat it like that. he's got a thing against plain mayo... he loves poppy seed dressing so i added some poppy seeds, 1T each orange juice & vinegar, and some garlic and onion powders. i spread it on and stuck it in the fridge. we didn't end up eating until the next night and the salad kept beautifully and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. DH said the plain mayo sounded pretty gross to him, and was glad i added the extra stuff in. the changes i made were so good i'll be doing it like that for now on, but this is versatile enough you can add whatever you want to it and i think it'd work great. thanks for a great recipe, this will be made regularly in our house. and others are right - don't leave out the peas!! :) (i just put mine on frozen and they thawed nicely right in the salad. just too easy!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      As I made this salad I was very sceptical, both that it would go soggy in the fridge overnight, that the mayo would be too much and that it would end up an amalgamation of mush. How wrong was I? I followed to the letter apart from the sugar, which as we ate it, we discussed and thought we would try the next time. We had this salad as a picnic (xmas day 2007 Aus) accompaniment to cold meats and it was perfect in this role, however it would be just great as a standalone main picnic food with some bread and other deli bits and next time we are off for a picnic I will be making this and this only, great to prepare the night before and then grab and go, no worries, just the kind of recipe I like. I wouldn't hesitate on making this to bring-along to a gathering or it would be great for informal summer entertaining. my kids loved this and scoffed it, which although they eat most things is often hit or miss with kids when trying something new, but no holding back here! thanks so much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      *LOVE* this salad. What a bonus to be able to prepare it 10 hours ahead of time! In fact I prepared my even earlier and Dave decided to go out for lunch so it was actually sitting in the fridge for at least 24hours and it was perfect when taken out. It really is a meal on it's own and a definite crowd pleaser. Both my girls loved it. The sweetness of the mayonnaise compliments the peas so well so don't hesitate to use the sugar. I don't like celery so left it out and instead of green capsicum I used a red one. This one goes into my favourites cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      My husband and I really enjoyed this. I added some cold chopped chicken to make a meal out of it, and left out the celery because DH hates it. Served in my new glass trifle bowl, it looked very pretty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      The whole family loved this salad. DH was surprised by the peas in it and the sugar in the dressing but said that it just made the whole salad. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      We had this for T-giving yesterday and it was wonderful. Iceberg lettuce the only kind DH would eat, and he loved it. He loves meat, eggs and cheese in salads. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      I made this for a church potluck and everyone enjoyed it! I used bacon bits instead of real bacon. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      This salad turned out great! Even my two pre-school boys who don't really like salads said how good it was and asked me to make it again. Thanks, this is recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2004

      This is one of my very favorite salads - and is always a big big hit where ever i take it! i do add 1 tablespoon of vinegar to the dressing just because of another recipe i have and like the taste. The last time i made this i added crab to the recipe and served it with seafood as a crab salad - Wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layered Lettuce Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.1
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    66%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 94.1 mg
    31%
    Sodium 529.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites