18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great make-ahead salad for a group!!! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. Made it a couple of hours ahead of time and it kept very well in the refrigerator. VERY TASTY and I recommend everyone give this a try. Thanks again Beaner for sharing this dish. :-)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot September 02, 2002

I have always loved this salad! Grew up on it as my mom's 'company' salad. I cut it in half, add a Tbsp of milk to the dressing, and make it in a square pan. Sometimes use spinach instead of iceberg lettuce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn August 14, 2013

I made some modifications: 1 1/2 c mayo. 1/2 c buttermilk, and 2 tbs of cider vinegar for the dressing. I also used red and orange peppers and purple onion to add color instead of the all green as stated in the recipe. Finally, I sprinkled shredded parm over the finished salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbak August 11, 2012

Have made a version of this recipe for many years. I used lowfat mayo, no sugar, and fat free cheese. Also chopped the eggs instead of slicing. A hit at our Memorial Day cook-out. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 30, 2012

This was a very tasty layered lettuce salad. My DH really enjoyed it. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 08, 2011

This is the best recipe ever! My family and my husbands family have it every time we get together for a meal. I always add broccoli and fresh ground pepper. It is absolutely wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jprouty November 26, 2009

I really enjoyed this! I brought it to a party in a trifle bowl (3 layers), and only a tiny bit was left by the end of the party. I added a tbsp of vinegar to the dressing as suggested by the others. I used a red pepper instead of green to add color. I did not add celery. I made my salad 15 hrs. ahead of time, but I will go with the suggested 8-10 next time, because it seemed to have more moisture to it than I would have liked. Perhaps my lettuce was still too moist after washing? I used a 16-oz bag of cheese, just because I like it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv Dessert September 26, 2009

A great make-ahead layered salad. I made this to take to a pot-luck type gathering and it was just what I needed. I put it together the night before, and it was still good the next night for dinner. As other reviewers suggested, I added a little vinegar to the mayo mix and it was a good touch. Thanks for the great recipe, Beaner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin mimi September 18, 2009

This is the traditional layered salad, and is perfect! You can adjust veggie amounts to taste (I always add extra bacon) & it's great for potlucks & church. Also very beautiful! Can be cut in 1/2 for home use, as once tossed does not keep.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sandra B February 08, 2009

we all just loved this recipe after a slight bit of tweaking. I made as instructed except using red pepper, but changed up the dressing a little... i added teh sugar to the mayo and i know my DH and he wouldn't eat it like that. he's got a thing against plain mayo... he loves poppy seed dressing so i added some poppy seeds, 1T each orange juice & vinegar, and some garlic and onion powders. i spread it on and stuck it in the fridge. we didn't end up eating until the next night and the salad kept beautifully and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. DH said the plain mayo sounded pretty gross to him, and was glad i added the extra stuff in. the changes i made were so good i'll be doing it like that for now on, but this is versatile enough you can add whatever you want to it and i think it'd work great. thanks for a great recipe, this will be made regularly in our house. and others are right - don't leave out the peas!! :) (i just put mine on frozen and they thawed nicely right in the salad. just too easy!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuddyMommaPottery March 22, 2008
Layered Lettuce Salad